1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Aftermarket Headunit and Amp Install Help

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by _anthony_, Feb 5, 2021.

  1. Feb 5, 2021 at 12:50 AM
    #1
    _anthony_

    _anthony_ [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2019
    Member:
    #314574
    Messages:
    147
    Gender:
    Male
    Grand Rapids
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tacoma SR5
    I’m installing my headunit and amp and there’s some wires left over that I don’t know where it would go. On the output side theres and yellow, blue/white, and black wire. Do I solder the black ground to the main harness? or ground it to the chassis. Where does the yellow and blue/white one go? And on the input side it has a blue/white one again, so do I solder it to the other two wires that I haven’t soldered yet coming out of the head unit? Here’s a picture but not sure if you’ll be able to see what I’m talking about.

    D44966A1-A05D-44F0-B6DE-2510728B1065.jpg
     
  2. Feb 5, 2021 at 2:25 AM
    #2
    Jimmyh

    Jimmyh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Member:
    #78991
    Messages:
    12,053
    Gender:
    Male
    SC
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prerunner SR5

    No instructions or wiring schematic???

    Colors don't mean squat without the schematic. In other words don't just connect similar colored wires to each other unless you know what they are for.
     
  3. Feb 5, 2021 at 2:34 AM
    #3
    _anthony_

    _anthony_ [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2019
    Member:
    #314574
    Messages:
    147
    Gender:
    Male
    Grand Rapids
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tacoma SR5
    I’m pretty sure blue/white is remote. Yellow is 12v and black is the ground. But I’m not sure if I’m supposed to tap into the main harness. I tried emailing crutchfield but they didn’t really help.
     
  4. Feb 5, 2021 at 2:36 AM
    #4
    Jimmyh

    Jimmyh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Member:
    #78991
    Messages:
    12,053
    Gender:
    Male
    SC
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prerunner SR5
    The instructions should have schematics that tell you exactly what is what....

    Call Crutchfield if you need help. Email sucks for tech assist.
     
  5. Feb 5, 2021 at 2:39 AM
    #5
    _anthony_

    _anthony_ [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2019
    Member:
    #314574
    Messages:
    147
    Gender:
    Male
    Grand Rapids
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tacoma SR5
    I’ll probably call them today. I’m just confused because a youtube video said to ground the amp to the chassis and the blue/white output side of the amp doesn’t need to be connected to anything.
     
  6. Feb 5, 2021 at 4:41 AM
    #6
    Jimmyh

    Jimmyh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Member:
    #78991
    Messages:
    12,053
    Gender:
    Male
    SC
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prerunner SR5

    You shouldn't have to ground anything to the chassis. The head unit should be grounded through the trucks harness. Your amp may need a ground.
     
  7. Feb 5, 2021 at 4:50 AM
    #7
    GRNT4R

    GRNT4R Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2020
    Member:
    #320266
    Messages:
    607
    Gender:
    Male
    NC - Triad
    Vehicle:
    2010 TRD Sport DCLB 4WD Silver
    TBD
    _anthony_ [OP] likes this.
  8. Feb 5, 2021 at 6:44 PM
    #8
    travatron

    travatron Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2020
    Member:
    #342590
    Messages:
    14
    I just did a similar install, different amp though. The blue/white wire is in case you have an external amp remote. You'll have lots of extra wires when you're all said and done.

    Also, make SURE you don't have ANYTHING plugged into the red or blue ports on the maestro. I messed this up and FRIED one. One of the plugs looks like it goes there. IT DOES NOT!

    I'd also recommend an e-brake bypass while you're back there. Makes Carplay/Android auto so much more usable.
    https://www.amazon.com/APPS2Car-Parking-Interface-Pioneer-Receivers/dp/B01L6Z1WYA
     
    GerTaco92 likes this.
  9. Feb 5, 2021 at 11:30 PM
    #9
    Bluebaron7

    Bluebaron7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Member:
    #194088
    Messages:
    45
    Gender:
    Male
    Sierra Vista, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2009 Tacoma Double Cab TRD Off-Road
    3 Inch Lift, Leaf spring pack, SPC UCA's, Bilsteins 5100's, AFE CAI, ECGS Needle Bearing, CVJ Axles, Under seat Infinity Sub & 4 channel amp, Kenwood deck & Infinity speakers all around with door matting, taco sauce only sticker, steering wheel leather wrap.
    The e-brake bypass is a must! I put in a Kenwood in my truck and added a 4 channel amp and powered sub and just wired the ground under the center console ground spot. I followed what taco tunes did with their setup. They have a ton of videos on how they ground their under the seat amps.
     
    _anthony_ [OP] likes this.
  10. Feb 6, 2021 at 9:45 PM
    #10
    _anthony_

    _anthony_ [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2019
    Member:
    #314574
    Messages:
    147
    Gender:
    Male
    Grand Rapids
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tacoma SR5
    GRNT4R likes this.
  11. Feb 6, 2021 at 9:47 PM
    #11
    _anthony_

    _anthony_ [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2019
    Member:
    #314574
    Messages:
    147
    Gender:
    Male
    Grand Rapids
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tacoma SR5
    Where do I solder this wires too? I have almost everything hooked up I just need to plug it in and test it
     
  12. Feb 7, 2021 at 5:04 PM
    #12
    GerTaco92

    GerTaco92 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2014
    Member:
    #137894
    Messages:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gerry
    GA
    Nice! I'll work on uncle's Tacoma sound system after we finish installing the brake kit and nitto at tires on the current Wrangler JK project. He's looking to get Kenwood system. We're gonna check that e-brake bypass.
     
  13. Feb 8, 2021 at 3:53 AM
    #13
    GRNT4R

    GRNT4R Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2020
    Member:
    #320266
    Messages:
    607
    Gender:
    Male
    NC - Triad
    Vehicle:
    2010 TRD Sport DCLB 4WD Silver
    TBD
    Im really curious to hear your thoughts on this one you get it setup. Do you plan on replacing the OEM speakers in the future?
     
  14. Feb 8, 2021 at 4:28 AM
    #14
    _anthony_

    _anthony_ [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2019
    Member:
    #314574
    Messages:
    147
    Gender:
    Male
    Grand Rapids
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tacoma SR5
    The reason I got the headunit and amp is because I got new speakers and they are really underpowered right now. Also, I wanted apple carplay.
     
    GRNT4R likes this.
  15. Feb 8, 2021 at 4:35 AM
    #15
    GRNT4R

    GRNT4R Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2020
    Member:
    #320266
    Messages:
    607
    Gender:
    Male
    NC - Triad
    Vehicle:
    2010 TRD Sport DCLB 4WD Silver
    TBD
    What speakers did you go with? That setup is very close to the direction I am leaning towards. That amp with some new Hertz Components or some MB Quarts (if I can find them in my storage unit). I'm torn on the head-unit between the Alpine ILX 650 or a Pioneer. That 4600 model you have is really nice and i have looked at that as well. Have you determined where you will be mounting the amp at since you have a full chassis radio?
     
    _anthony_ [OP] likes this.
  16. Feb 8, 2021 at 5:15 AM
    #16
    _anthony_

    _anthony_ [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2019
    Member:
    #314574
    Messages:
    147
    Gender:
    Male
    Grand Rapids
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tacoma SR5
    I got the Rockford Fosgate prime speakers. If you want an easier install Alpine makes the same amp but for their head-units so it should just plug in. I chose the pioneer because I like the screen more. I haven’t really figured out a spot to install the amp yet but I might be able to make it fit behind the head unit if not I’ll probably put it in the glove box.
     
  17. Feb 8, 2021 at 5:17 AM
    #17
    GRNT4R

    GRNT4R Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2020
    Member:
    #320266
    Messages:
    607
    Gender:
    Male
    NC - Triad
    Vehicle:
    2010 TRD Sport DCLB 4WD Silver
    TBD
    Yeah, I saw the one that connects directly to the Alpine radio. I kinda like the Pioneer better with the added features as well which is why I'm torn since i have always ran Alpine in the past. I have read there is plenty of room behind the glovebox for that amp as well so that may be an option
     
  18. Feb 8, 2021 at 11:19 AM
    #18
    Ryan2103a

    Ryan2103a Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2017
    Member:
    #233358
    Messages:
    413
    First Name:
    Ryan
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    13 TRD OR Dcsb 2WD
    I got the same speakers and amp setup in my truck too but on 2019 Tacoma radio that I installed on my 13OR. Loving the setup so far. I have the amp installed behind the radio. As for the blue/white(remote) wire I left it alone and just taped off the sides. Yellow(power) and Black(ground) is both connected to the harness.
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2021
    _anthony_ [OP] likes this.
  19. Feb 8, 2021 at 7:59 PM
    #19
    tbraumb11

    tbraumb11 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2019
    Member:
    #310580
    Messages:
    147
    Gender:
    Male
    nanaimo
    Vehicle:
    2015 tacoma double cab magnetic grey
    what are those?
  20. Feb 9, 2021 at 4:28 AM
    #20
    GRNT4R

    GRNT4R Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2020
    Member:
    #320266
    Messages:
    607
    Gender:
    Male
    NC - Triad
    Vehicle:
    2010 TRD Sport DCLB 4WD Silver
    TBD
    Do you have the amp running in 4 channel more to front and rear speakers or bridged just to the front?
     
To Top