1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Air Intake Systems...

Discussion in 'Technical Chat' started by AU DIGG3R, Oct 29, 2006.

  1. Oct 29, 2006 at 7:34 PM
    #1
    AU DIGG3R

    AU DIGG3R [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Member:
    #152
    Messages:
    32
    Sacramento, CA
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD Sport DC LB 4x4
    I just bought a 07 Toy Tacoma, and have a few questions.

    A few days ago I bought the AIRAID. I went with it over the the K&N system becuase the AIRAID is 50 states legal. (I live in California)

    Heres what I purchased; (but havent installed it because I want to run a few tanks of gas before, and compare)

    http://www.airaid.com/510-179_toyota.asp

    After browsing the net for Toyota accessories, i found this;
    (now im not sure if its 50 state legal?)

    http://www.trdpartstore.com/product_info.php?products_id=290&osCsid=ae90eec4a5b20f6fbd7661ba7f3d2aeb


    Any opinions/input would be appreciated!

    Oh, do you know if my warranty would be voided by adding the Airaid intake????


    Thanks in advance,

    James
     
  2. Oct 29, 2006 at 7:53 PM
    #2
    ForeRunner

    ForeRunner BBC. Bring Back Clarkson Thor

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Member:
    #7
    Messages:
    6,694
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Drunken Sailor
    East Bay, CA
    Vehicle:
    4Runner Trail Edition
    Well for intake systems there are quite a few K&N, Volant, Airaid and shortly URD (Underdog Racing Development). Unless Toyota can prove that the intake caused a mechanical failure it doesn't void the warranty.

    I have learned that you will have to do some tuning after adding an intake and/or exhaust.
     
  3. Oct 29, 2006 at 7:57 PM
    #3
    AU DIGG3R

    AU DIGG3R [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Member:
    #152
    Messages:
    32
    Sacramento, CA
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD Sport DC LB 4x4
    Oh really, what needs to be tuned? I called Airaid a couple of days ago, and they said the main thing is disconnecting your batt for a hour, that way it will reset the air intake sensor to the new cfm.
     
  4. Oct 29, 2006 at 8:23 PM
    #4
    ForeRunner

    ForeRunner BBC. Bring Back Clarkson Thor

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Member:
    #7
    Messages:
    6,694
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Drunken Sailor
    East Bay, CA
    Vehicle:
    4Runner Trail Edition
    Meh,

    From what I've read and heard from others. You would need a PSC-001 or PSC-003 (available at URD) and a wideband at a dyno shop to program your AFR for max efficiency and hp. I don't know if I would buy disconnecting your battery for an hour to reset the ECU.

    Honestly I would e-mail the guys at URD and ask them. Hands down I would trust them over K&N, Volant, Airaid any day. Gadget does all his own R&D and won't put out a product without thouroghly testing it. They will be able to help you out considerably more than I would.

    Hope it helps.
     
  5. Oct 30, 2006 at 6:03 PM
    #5
    AU DIGG3R

    AU DIGG3R [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Member:
    #152
    Messages:
    32
    Sacramento, CA
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD Sport DC LB 4x4
    Thx Banshee I need to do some research!

    I called about the TRD cool air intake system, and it isnt smog legal in Cal. :(


    (it looks sweet though)
     
  6. May 19, 2007 at 9:30 AM
    #6
    robert

    robert Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Member:
    #1595
    Messages:
    28
    save your old intake and change it back for smog and such
     
  7. May 28, 2007 at 5:34 PM
    #7
    tacomaman06

    tacomaman06 Carolina Alliance: Lead, follow, or get the hell o Thor

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Member:
    #1475
    Messages:
    26,352
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Will
    York,South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    '13 Silverado ext cab
    i have the airaid intake(pics are dirty:rolleyes:,havent cleaned it yet). i got maybe a mile to the gallon, maybe one more with my exhaust. got an awesome sound to it though when you rev it! check out the pics(link is in my sig)!!
     
  8. Jun 3, 2007 at 9:57 AM
    #8
    Rico

    Rico Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Member:
    #1737
    Messages:
    14
    I just installed the K&N intake and I got a new engine light that came up on my dash after doing a test drive. I'm very disappointed in K&N because the instructions said this would not disrupt any sensors. The disconnect battery thing is BS...it didn't solve the problem. What do I do...
     
  9. Jun 5, 2007 at 11:55 PM
    #9
    numchild

    numchild Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Member:
    #1706
    Messages:
    9
    the 06-07 tacomas ecu does not reset by disconnecting the battery. these newly designed ecu's must be reset from the diagnosis computer. btw- got my headers on with an 18" magna flow.... sounds awesome (gurggle gurggle)
     
  10. Jun 7, 2007 at 6:03 AM
    #10
    brant_trd

    brant_trd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Member:
    #1464
    Messages:
    62
    Gender:
    Male
    Jasper, Indiana
    Vehicle:
    05 TRD Tacoma
    Black Headlight Mod, Nightshaded Taillights, Grillcraft Speed Grille, Revtec 3 inch leveling lift kit, 2-tone Coverking seatcovers, TRD intake and exhaust, back cats removed, secondary air filter removed, custom TRD stripes down the sides of tacoma, debadged, and H.I.D. 10,000 degrees headlights and foglights
    I would reccomend the TRD intake I gained some hp and might have gained some mpg. But more important I have better throttle response and sounds sweet with the TRD exhaust. Kinda like a deep, aggressive sound and you hear the intake sucking in the air at low rpms.
     
  11. Jul 1, 2007 at 8:37 AM
    #11
    Viet2100

    Viet2100 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1930
    Messages:
    2,520
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Viet
    Delray Beach, FL
    Vehicle:
    2007 Infiniti G35S
    Give it a whole tank of gas. It doesn't recognize it right away.
     
  12. Jul 1, 2007 at 8:48 AM
    #12
    TacoChef

    TacoChef Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Member:
    #1239
    Messages:
    52
    I installed a K&N Air Intake, JBA Headers and magnaflow exhaust. I have had no issue w/ the check light!
     
  13. Jul 2, 2007 at 9:00 AM
    #13
    Rico

    Rico Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Member:
    #1737
    Messages:
    14
    You were correct. The light did go away after about a tank of gas. really strange but it's gone.
     
  14. Jul 8, 2007 at 9:13 PM
    #14
    numchild

    numchild Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Member:
    #1706
    Messages:
    9
    I have a check engine light, Toyota says my o2 sensor is bad... probably from the guys that installed it. but Toyota did not even touch it once they saw after market headers (no warrantee on it)
     
  15. Jul 8, 2007 at 10:00 PM
    #15
    humanoid

    humanoid bite me

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1932
    Messages:
    2,747
    Gender:
    Male
    Sunny SoCal
    Vehicle:
    I had a '99 Xtra Cab PreRunner SR5 V6
    numchild, what intake system do you have? K&N? If so, your MAF sensor may be dirty from that and just needs a cleaning with a MAF cleaner.
     
  16. Jul 9, 2007 at 12:29 PM
    #16
    TacoChef

    TacoChef Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Member:
    #1239
    Messages:
    52
    Numchild, what kind of headers do you have? I purchased JBA headers w/ 0/2 sensor connections. I have not had any problems w/ check engine light. I upgraded about 6 months ago.
     
  17. Jul 9, 2007 at 9:35 PM
    #17
    numchild

    numchild Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Member:
    #1706
    Messages:
    9
    Yeah, I have the JBA headers with an airaid intake. it is a damaged o2 sensor, i have to check the connection first. Man Toyota was so disappointing, they refused to do anything once they saw somebody else installed the headers. the code p0015 reads- faulty o2 sensor.
     
  18. Jul 10, 2007 at 6:02 AM
    #18
    pb2themax

    pb2themax Mod Master

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Member:
    #500
    Messages:
    386
    Vehicle:
    TRD Sport 4x4
    Change the o2 sensor. They're about $70 online.
     
  19. Nov 3, 2007 at 5:51 PM
    #19
    m3dragon

    m3dragon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Member:
    #2799
    Messages:
    252
    URD has the filter right in front of the radiator. I would be worried about Hydro lock if it starts to rain. Also if it is raining you will lose performance as the filter would get wet. Last I checked water flows air through it very poorly.

    AFE or Volant seem 2 share the same design and seem to offer the best gains in theroy and numbers.
     
  20. Nov 3, 2007 at 8:36 PM
    #20
    ZonKs

    ZonKs Can speak french in Russian.

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Member:
    #1711
    Messages:
    1,056
    Gender:
    Male
    Glendale, CA
    =p
    Just dont submerge them, other than that they are supposed to be fine in pouring rain, etc.
     
To Top