1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Alternative Head Unit Locations

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by BLOCKADE, Jan 29, 2008.

  1. Jan 29, 2008 at 6:29 PM
    #1
    BLOCKADE

    BLOCKADE [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Member:
    #4469
    Messages:
    198
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    TRD Off Road
    Weather Tech Floor Liners, Front Bed D-Rings...
    I just bought an '08 TRD Prerunner DC and I want to put a Computer in the current head unit location. I found all I need for the computer setup, but the way I want it all put together is such that I will still need a separate head unit. I have looked through the forum for alternate head unit locations and haven't found many that are easily accessible. One spot I have in mind is right next to the shifter in the current rectangle shaped change tray facing up (obviously by cutting out the bottom and performing a little bit of cosmetic surgery). Does anyone know if a standard size head unit will even fit there? Have any other suggestions?

    Thanks
     
  2. Jan 29, 2008 at 6:34 PM
    #2
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    28,096
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?
    i dont think it would....a lil too narrow. u might try to put it in the center console and put some mounts in there to keep it standing straight up and from falling over.
     
  3. Jan 29, 2008 at 9:31 PM
    #3
    PatheticJoe

    PatheticJoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Member:
    #2943
    Messages:
    299
    Sacramento, CA
    Vehicle:
    07 Prerunner SR5 TRD Sport - Access Cab
    I've taken that whole part of the console apart and it definately won't fit. Can't you use the computer to play music or is this a different kind.
     
  4. Jan 29, 2008 at 9:59 PM
    #4
    lsocoee

    lsocoee My hair is all natural Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Member:
    #872
    Messages:
    10,165
    First Name:
    Hotdog
    Vehicle:
    2007 PreRunner SR5 Double Cab
    Wet Okole Underwear
    Woohoo! Another one. I've been trying to convince the wife to free up some funding for a while. I still have a few more months left before I start ordering parts.

    I was thinking of installing my head unit right where you are talking about, but I have not yet taken it apart. My alternate plan would be to hide the headunit away and wire the face plate to an easily accessible location. I am not planning on using the cd function of the headunit. I am only planning on keeping it as a backup and a radio.
     
  5. Jan 29, 2008 at 10:05 PM
    #5
    lsocoee

    lsocoee My hair is all natural Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Member:
    #872
    Messages:
    10,165
    First Name:
    Hotdog
    Vehicle:
    2007 PreRunner SR5 Double Cab
    Wet Okole Underwear
    I'm sure you are already familiar with www.mp3car.com You will also want to check out the picks at http://themeniscus.net/Vehicles.html There was also a member (davewilliamstx) at the mp3car forum that has a tacoma. I haven't seen any pictures yet because they all expired.
     
  6. Jan 30, 2008 at 11:29 AM
    #6
    BLOCKADE

    BLOCKADE [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Member:
    #4469
    Messages:
    198
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    TRD Off Road
    Weather Tech Floor Liners, Front Bed D-Rings...
    I can use the computer to play music, I just wanted the option to just listen to the radio without having to wait for boot up. There's no point in booting up a PC when your just running to the store. I've also seen mp3car.com, but I think I can get a decent setup that I can put together myself for under $600. That's including a very nice head unit.
    Now, since PJoe says there's no room by the shifter, wiring the head unit away from the face plate like lsocoee suggests might be a better, more flexible alternative. Sure would screw with any would be thieves.

    Thanks Guys, Keep the good Ideas coming!
     
  7. Jan 30, 2008 at 11:45 AM
    #7
    lsocoee

    lsocoee My hair is all natural Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Member:
    #872
    Messages:
    10,165
    First Name:
    Hotdog
    Vehicle:
    2007 PreRunner SR5 Double Cab
    Wet Okole Underwear
    I think you must have only looked at the front page of mp3car. The real value there is in the forums. They have tons of posts there that will answer just about any question you can think of.

    $600 is a bit optimistic for my plans.

    I'm planning on a a 7" lcd touch screen modified to be mounted in the double din slot. Installing a mini itx motherboard, hard drive, and power supply behind the screen and a slim load drive under the lcd.

    I'll probably use a DC-DC power supply that starts automatically when the truck starts and shuts down when I shut the truck down.
     
  8. Jan 30, 2008 at 1:00 PM
    #8
    BLOCKADE

    BLOCKADE [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Member:
    #4469
    Messages:
    198
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    TRD Off Road
    Weather Tech Floor Liners, Front Bed D-Rings...
    Ok so I just spent a couple of hours in the mp3car.com forums. There was some amazing stuff on there. I'd love to do some of the crazier stuff I found on there, but I want to keep it a little more simple. I was thinking of just running WMCE on a new Intel board that comes with everything but memory and a power supply you can find here for $66. I would also get a power supply off of mp3car, memory is cheap, and I have a couple of extra 250 gig hard drives laying around. In my setup, I don't see any need for any kind of external input devices, like CD roms or DVD roms because with a 4 gig memory stick you can do about the same. So hopefully the cost will be fairly low and the Computer will be used for mp3's, video files, and gps via MS Streets and Trips. I can even watch HDTV through the WMCE software. The mounting and setup of the screen and relocation of the Head unit are the only two things I haven't ironed out yet. I know I want a 7" touch screen. Looks like I might have a lot of soldering in my future if I want to relocate the faceplate and use a touch screen that doesn't cost more than $200.

    Thanks for the comment about the forum though, I didn't even realize mp3car had forums.
     
  9. Jan 30, 2008 at 7:45 PM
    #9
    lsocoee

    lsocoee My hair is all natural Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Member:
    #872
    Messages:
    10,165
    First Name:
    Hotdog
    Vehicle:
    2007 PreRunner SR5 Double Cab
    Wet Okole Underwear
    Yeah, you can go with the simple route or the complicated one.

    I don't know if you can make media center touch screen friendly. There are a bunch of programs out there that are designed for this.

    There are a few people that have done their tacomas. Make sure to search in the mp3car forum to see them.

    There are cheap touch screens on ebay, but I don't know about resolution, brightness, contrast, or aux inputs. I'm looking into the Xenarc partially because there is a function to auto switch the input when a new input is detected. I'm planning on installing a backup camera.
     
  10. Jan 31, 2008 at 3:58 PM
    #10
    BLOCKADE

    BLOCKADE [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Member:
    #4469
    Messages:
    198
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    TRD Off Road
    Weather Tech Floor Liners, Front Bed D-Rings...
    A back up camera would come in handy, can't wait to see that post!
     
  11. Jan 31, 2008 at 6:08 PM
    #11
    PatheticJoe

    PatheticJoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Member:
    #2943
    Messages:
    299
    Sacramento, CA
    Vehicle:
    07 Prerunner SR5 TRD Sport - Access Cab
    I just saw an install over on a custom audio shop page where they filled in the cubby hole in front of the cup holders under the AC controls with a computer monitor and then left the stock location for the double DIN DVD player. Its something to consider.
     
  12. Jan 31, 2008 at 6:53 PM
    #12
    lsocoee

    lsocoee My hair is all natural Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Member:
    #872
    Messages:
    10,165
    First Name:
    Hotdog
    Vehicle:
    2007 PreRunner SR5 Double Cab
    Wet Okole Underwear
    linky?
     
  13. Jan 31, 2008 at 6:53 PM
    #13
    lsocoee

    lsocoee My hair is all natural Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Member:
    #872
    Messages:
    10,165
    First Name:
    Hotdog
    Vehicle:
    2007 PreRunner SR5 Double Cab
    Wet Okole Underwear
    me too!

    I'm months away from getting anywhere near starting.
     
  14. Jan 31, 2008 at 9:58 PM
    #14
    PatheticJoe

    PatheticJoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Member:
    #2943
    Messages:
    299
    Sacramento, CA
    Vehicle:
    07 Prerunner SR5 TRD Sport - Access Cab
  15. Jan 31, 2008 at 9:59 PM
    #15
    lsocoee

    lsocoee My hair is all natural Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Member:
    #872
    Messages:
    10,165
    First Name:
    Hotdog
    Vehicle:
    2007 PreRunner SR5 Double Cab
    Wet Okole Underwear
    of course! Thanks for the link.
     
  16. Feb 1, 2008 at 5:47 PM
    #16
    BLOCKADE

    BLOCKADE [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Member:
    #4469
    Messages:
    198
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    TRD Off Road
    Weather Tech Floor Liners, Front Bed D-Rings...
    That actually looked like a fairly simple install, the location would also keep Jonny Law off of your back if they ever noticed something on the screen. Thanks for the link.
     
  17. Feb 1, 2008 at 6:00 PM
    #17
    PatheticJoe

    PatheticJoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Member:
    #2943
    Messages:
    299
    Sacramento, CA
    Vehicle:
    07 Prerunner SR5 TRD Sport - Access Cab
    Are computers not legal in trucks?
     
  18. Feb 1, 2008 at 6:22 PM
    #18
    lsocoee

    lsocoee My hair is all natural Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Member:
    #872
    Messages:
    10,165
    First Name:
    Hotdog
    Vehicle:
    2007 PreRunner SR5 Double Cab
    Wet Okole Underwear
    they're legal, but video in view of the driver is not. I'm not going to be watching video, so I'm not going to worry about it.

    I don't like that I have to look that far from the road to see the gps or mp3 selection screen.
     
  19. Feb 1, 2008 at 7:44 PM
    #19
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    28,096
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?
    a good thing would be hitting all the free wifi spots w/ it. my buddy flushed a 12" touch screen into the dash of his 96 s-10 and hooked it up to a mini case that he made w/ wifi on it and would burn/DL music to his home PC and drag it over to the PC in the truck and would have tuck funs of mp3's/movies on his truck PC....effing sweetness
     
  20. Feb 1, 2008 at 9:59 PM
    #20
    PatheticJoe

    PatheticJoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Member:
    #2943
    Messages:
    299
    Sacramento, CA
    Vehicle:
    07 Prerunner SR5 TRD Sport - Access Cab
    Thanks, I actually didn't know that. Seems odd with all the GPS and other stuff going in vehicles.
     
To Top