1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Amp Ground Points

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by mrobey442, Nov 29, 2010.

  1. Nov 29, 2010 at 6:51 PM
    #1
    mrobey442

    mrobey442 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Member:
    #31630
    Messages:
    68
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Little Rock, AR
    Vehicle:
    09 Access Cab TRD 4x4
    smoked out tails, a few avs parts, and BHLM, Alpine Head unit, 2 12 Directed Comp subs, 1200 directed class D amp, Blackhand Cap, besttop
    Hey i was wondering where most people ground their amps in the 05+ access cabs. I think where i grounded mine is bad but cant really think of a better one without just drilling a new hole. If anyone knows of any please let me know.
     
  2. Nov 29, 2010 at 6:53 PM
    #2
    brutalguyracing

    brutalguyracing BIG DADDY

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Member:
    #19000
    Messages:
    24,038
    Gender:
    Male
    F.U> GUYZ
    broken mods
    i used a bolt under a seat
     
  3. Nov 29, 2010 at 6:56 PM
    #3
    Drewboto

    Drewboto Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Member:
    #33341
    Messages:
    420
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Drew
    Missouri
    Vehicle:
    Base model ಠ_ಠ
    17" Mustang wheels, Eclipse AVN 5435, Deck plate mod, vertical Maglite mount, K&N high-flow air filter, Delta gullwing box, amp, sub, 30 percent tint, floor lighting, tilt activated glove box lighting, lighting behind seat, engine bay lighting, SR5 grill surround, power windows, outside temp display
    Subscribed
     
  4. Nov 29, 2010 at 7:01 PM
    #4
    mrobey442

    mrobey442 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Member:
    #31630
    Messages:
    68
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Little Rock, AR
    Vehicle:
    09 Access Cab TRD 4x4
    smoked out tails, a few avs parts, and BHLM, Alpine Head unit, 2 12 Directed Comp subs, 1200 directed class D amp, Blackhand Cap, besttop
    i was told that the seat bolts were not a efficient enough ground, have you had any problems? Cuz the person who told me that might just be talking out their ass. Mind i am running a 1200w rms amp.
     
  5. Nov 29, 2010 at 7:07 PM
    #5
    NelsonTacoma

    NelsonTacoma This is my derpawayinator!!!!!

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Member:
    #33969
    Messages:
    2,080
    Gender:
    Male
    Tucson, AZ
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner TRD Sport 03 4Runner Limited 4wd
    Bilstein 5100's , 6000k HID Hi/Low Kit, Magnaflow Muffler, 1.5 inch AP Wheel Spacers, Mudflap Delete
    I've used this method on many vehicles I've owned, I had an 1000w amp in one of them. Just make sure you do it right & put a ring style connector end on it and run the bolt through it, don't do it half assed and just squash the bare wire under the bolt/washer.
     
  6. Nov 29, 2010 at 7:09 PM
    #6
    brutalguyracing

    brutalguyracing BIG DADDY

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Member:
    #19000
    Messages:
    24,038
    Gender:
    Male
    F.U> GUYZ
    broken mods
    i did not use a seat belt bolt just a bolt for a seat......
    ring conn and make sure there is no paint or anything rough up the surface first
     
  7. Nov 29, 2010 at 8:05 PM
    #7
    rscecil007

    rscecil007 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Member:
    #14605
    Messages:
    188
    Gender:
    Male
    Seattle
    Vehicle:
    06 4x4 TRD Sport Access Cab
    Goodyear Duratracs 265/70R17's, Bed mat & extra d-rings, Weathertech floor liners, Husky Liner for rear seat area, Biceman Illuminated 4x4 Switch, Pioneer 800 PRS, Hybrid Audio L6 and L1V2, JL 13TW5 in a Mr. Marv box, JL HD900/5
    Under the center console there are several good spots where some factory wiring is grounded, and a few (or on mine there was) threaded holes for a bolt to go. I used one of these empty holes. Found a bolt that fit the threads, sanded down the surface, and voila. Ground point.
     
  8. Nov 30, 2010 at 7:10 AM
    #8
    81shark

    81shark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Member:
    #10567
    Messages:
    1,680
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2006 Base Access CP1
    person is talking out of their ass. lots of people on here have used the seat bolt. i've had my grounded to the seat for two years without issue. currently running an alpine pdx 5
     
  9. May 23, 2014 at 11:19 PM
    #9
    Performula

    Performula Six lugs of fury!

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Member:
    #32276
    Messages:
    310
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justinian the Gr3iht
    CO
    Vehicle:
    A no option 4WD vehicle.
    Alpine HU - Wow :)
    Where exactly and does any carpet need to be pulled? I really want to avoid scraping any more paint that isn't necessary.
     
To Top