1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Amp Recommendation for 2017 SR5 Access Cab-I'm clueless??

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by dw9298, May 9, 2017.

  1. May 9, 2017 at 7:07 AM
    #1
    dw9298

    dw9298 [OP] David007

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2017
    Member:
    #211407
    Messages:
    49
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    David
    Virginia
    Vehicle:
    2017 Tacoma SR5 V6 4x4
    I was wondering if anyone had put an amp in an Access Cab and kept the eTune stock head unit in?? I have the 6" screen, non-JBL. I replaced all the speakers with Kicker tweeters and Infinity Reference speakers, but I think an amp would push the speakers a bit more than without one?
    Local shop said to come in and discuss and quoted $500-$550 installed-it's a good shop, but don't know if that sounds right or not? It's a bit over my head with all the wiring going on?
    Thanks for anyone's suggestions!!
     
    ChadsPride likes this.
  2. May 9, 2017 at 8:29 AM
    #2
    bvbull200

    bvbull200 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2016
    Member:
    #187193
    Messages:
    4,034
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bryan
    DFW, Texas
    Vehicle:
    2013 DCSB SR5 Prerunner Texas Edition
    Fresh wiper fluid
    I suppose that depends on the amp and line-out converter being used. Do you know what equipment specifically they were quoting?
     
  3. May 9, 2017 at 8:34 AM
    #3
    dw9298

    dw9298 [OP] David007

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2017
    Member:
    #211407
    Messages:
    49
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    David
    Virginia
    Vehicle:
    2017 Tacoma SR5 V6 4x4
    No they didn't throw any names around-I'll stop by one day this week and see what the deal is. I read on here where someone said if the amp had stereo output connections on it that you would not need a LOC or digital processor (if I have that right?)-is that not the case?? Again, this is all new to me so any suggestions are appreciated!
     
  4. May 9, 2017 at 9:45 AM
    #4
    bvbull200

    bvbull200 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2016
    Member:
    #187193
    Messages:
    4,034
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bryan
    DFW, Texas
    Vehicle:
    2013 DCSB SR5 Prerunner Texas Edition
    Fresh wiper fluid
    That is true. Does the stock Entune have pre-amp outputs on it? I had no idea.

    Either way, it's worth finding out what amp they plan on using.
     
  5. May 10, 2017 at 12:28 PM
    #5
    MikeHaskins

    MikeHaskins Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Member:
    #151121
    Messages:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    Hagerstown MD
    Vehicle:
    2012 Pyrite Mica 4x4 DC
    I replaced all my factory speakers with Infinity Ref too. Not enough power from the head unit alone and had to turn up the volume A LOT to get decent sound. I put in a 5 channel amp (Soundstream Picasso Nano PN5.640D) It has speaker level inputs, built in crossover, and a 5th channel to add a sub. Huge improvement!!!
     
  6. May 10, 2017 at 12:32 PM
    #6
    MikeHaskins

    MikeHaskins Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Member:
    #151121
    Messages:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    Hagerstown MD
    Vehicle:
    2012 Pyrite Mica 4x4 DC
  7. May 11, 2017 at 10:14 AM
    #7
    dw9298

    dw9298 [OP] David007

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2017
    Member:
    #211407
    Messages:
    49
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    David
    Virginia
    Vehicle:
    2017 Tacoma SR5 V6 4x4
    Thanks Mike as that's the first suggestion I've received on this thread! Did you do the install yourself?? I may be a little weak in this area with all the wiring involved?? Where did you put the amp?? I'm looking these things up now on the internet. Thanks for your comments! Send some pics if you get the time!
     
  8. May 11, 2017 at 11:03 AM
    #8
    dw9298

    dw9298 [OP] David007

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2017
    Member:
    #211407
    Messages:
    49
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    David
    Virginia
    Vehicle:
    2017 Tacoma SR5 V6 4x4
    I looked the amp up and not bad reviews and good price too. Not sure I can do the subwoofer though as I have an Access Cab-not sure it'll fit and you have a double cab-just wondering where you put your sub? Thanks!!
     
  9. May 11, 2017 at 11:41 AM
    #9
    dw9298

    dw9298 [OP] David007

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2017
    Member:
    #211407
    Messages:
    49
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    David
    Virginia
    Vehicle:
    2017 Tacoma SR5 V6 4x4
    Last question then I'll leave you alone :facepalm:I am guessing you kept the stock hard unit and was wondering if you had to use any sort of Digital Signal Processor or Line Out Controller with the Amp??? This stuff is all new to me and read on here?? Thanks for your time!!!
     
  10. May 13, 2017 at 8:35 AM
    #10
    MikeHaskins

    MikeHaskins Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Member:
    #151121
    Messages:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    Hagerstown MD
    Vehicle:
    2012 Pyrite Mica 4x4 DC
    I didn't add anything to alter the signal out of the radio. However I didn't want to cut/splice into any speaker wires so I found this: http://www.ebay.com/itm/361326435262?_trksid=p2060353.m2749.l2649&ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT I used it as a "jumper" that I could cut into without having to worry about messing up the wires in my truck. I got rid of the RCA thing on the jumper and then just cut the wires on the jumper that were for the speakers. Then I was able to run speaker wire to the amp and then from the amp back to the jumper...I hope that makes sense... It makes sense in my head, but it may not translate in the words. :eek:
     
  11. May 13, 2017 at 8:38 AM
    #11
    MikeHaskins

    MikeHaskins Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Member:
    #151121
    Messages:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    Hagerstown MD
    Vehicle:
    2012 Pyrite Mica 4x4 DC
    My Tacoma is a 2012 without JBL, I'm not sure if there are wiring differences with the newer models. I put the amp under the passenger seat, and the sub behind the passenger side rear seat after I removed the plastic storage bin. Let me see if I can get some pics for you.

    I love the amp. It was WELL worth the money. I am not using anywhere near the full power of it, I don't need to shake my windows and mirrors off, but I'm sure I could if I turned everything up... I have the gain turned way down on the front, rear, and sub channels, and it sounds great!!!
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2017
  12. May 13, 2017 at 10:52 AM
    #12
    MikeHaskins

    MikeHaskins Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Member:
    #151121
    Messages:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    Hagerstown MD
    Vehicle:
    2012 Pyrite Mica 4x4 DC
    Install wasn't too bad, especially since I was able to do all of my splicing sitting at my workbench (as opposed to cutting and splicing wires inside the truck) and then just disconnect the wiring harness on the back of the radio and install the jumper with all the splicing done.Subwoofer.jpg
     
  13. May 15, 2017 at 11:29 AM
    #13
    dw9298

    dw9298 [OP] David007

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2017
    Member:
    #211407
    Messages:
    49
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    David
    Virginia
    Vehicle:
    2017 Tacoma SR5 V6 4x4
    Thanks to both of you guys!! I know it is going to cost me, but I went and talked to a local shop Sat. There's a cross bar underneath the seat and some wiring which I think is for airbag stuff? It's might tight under there and having a hard time fitting anything. Not sure if it's because the 2017 is different or not? He said the amp and the LOC can go under there, but want the sub in between the 2 back jump seats. There's some plastic there but it wants to build a box and mount it vertically which is the way to get it to fit. If I saved any money at all, it's from not paying full retail and getting stuff from Amazon. I know they'll stick me good enough, but it's their living and they know what they are doing.......no window tinting or tires and rims at this place strictly an audio shop. Plus they can tune it properly too.
    Thanks again for your comments!! David
     

Products Discussed in

To Top