1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Amp/Stereo Layout question...

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by CRFan1, Feb 3, 2009.

  1. Feb 3, 2009 at 8:22 AM
    #1
    CRFan1

    CRFan1 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Member:
    #12357
    Messages:
    180
    Gender:
    Male
    Northwest Indiana
    Vehicle:
    Tacoma Pre-Runner
    DNX5120, Audsion AMp, Hertz Speakers
    Ok so I have My new stereo in and it consists of Hertz 6.5" Components in the front, Hertz 6.5" Coax's in the rear, DNX5120 and an Audison 4x65 (4 channell amp).

    The amp is powering all 4 speakers and although it sounds GREAT, it is missing a sub (did not think I would need it but I do ;)). My question is this:

    If I put say a 10" sub in, would I need to install another amp or could I bridge off the existing one (and still have it power the speakers)?

    I think the dnx5120 only has 2 preamp outputs too.....

    Suggestions? Options?
     
  2. Feb 3, 2009 at 8:58 AM
    #2
    Mr Marv

    Mr Marv 1-831-383-0308 Vendor

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Member:
    #1009
    Messages:
    941
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Marv
    Monterey Bay California
    Some amps are "tri" power capable (able to run stereo and bridged on the same 2 channels) however I've never seen a 4 channel amp that could do that and in any case I wouldn't do it. In your case I would either add the second amp or bridge the rear channels of the current one for the sub and power the rear speakers from the headunit. :)
     
  3. Feb 3, 2009 at 9:08 AM
    #3
    CRFan1

    CRFan1 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Member:
    #12357
    Messages:
    180
    Gender:
    Male
    Northwest Indiana
    Vehicle:
    Tacoma Pre-Runner
    DNX5120, Audsion AMp, Hertz Speakers
    Ok thanks Marv! Thats what I needed to know. Think I will just get a 2nd amp.....:D
     
  4. Feb 3, 2009 at 9:26 AM
    #4
    Chickenmunga

    Chickenmunga Nuggety

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Member:
    #5877
    Messages:
    6,949
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Hillsboro, Oregon
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Offroad DC 4x4 (read the build)
    You are correct, it only has front/rear preamps. Too bad, sounds like you have an amazing set of speakers and amp, yet the deck is missing those preamps! :(

    (Note I edited to remove options that Marv wrote up better than I tried to explain :) )
    1. I think you can get a sub amp that would tap into the speaker wires coming off the deck. Better to have dedicated preouts, but if you are in a jam...
    2. Bite the bullet, get a different deck with front/rear/sub outputs. Get a sub amp. With the gear you are already boasting, I feel this might be the way you go. You can probably sell that head unit around here really easy.
    If anyone else has better ideas, go for it. I'm not doing this at a pro level :p
     
  5. Feb 3, 2009 at 10:57 AM
    #5
    CRFan1

    CRFan1 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Member:
    #12357
    Messages:
    180
    Gender:
    Male
    Northwest Indiana
    Vehicle:
    Tacoma Pre-Runner
    DNX5120, Audsion AMp, Hertz Speakers
    Well, based on this....I have only two choices.

    1) Tap the rear speakers into the HU speaker outputs (like Marv said) and bridge the sub on the rear channels of my existing amp.

    2) Utilize a powered sub of some kind like a bazooka tube......:(
     
  6. Feb 3, 2009 at 11:06 AM
    #6
    Mr Marv

    Mr Marv 1-831-383-0308 Vendor

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Member:
    #1009
    Messages:
    941
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Marv
    Monterey Bay California
    I vote number 1 since you don't need much power to the rears if you are just using them for "fill" as opposed to "surround".
     
  7. Feb 3, 2009 at 12:24 PM
    #7
    CRFan1

    CRFan1 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Member:
    #12357
    Messages:
    180
    Gender:
    Male
    Northwest Indiana
    Vehicle:
    Tacoma Pre-Runner
    DNX5120, Audsion AMp, Hertz Speakers

    Agreed! And this way all I need is the sub/enclosure. The amp is in and ready to go :D

    One question Marv, from a wiring standpoint, my rears were/are wired to the amp (by installers)......what would need to be done exactly to get the rear speakers tapped into the HU rear channel?
     
  8. Feb 3, 2009 at 2:55 PM
    #8
    Mr Marv

    Mr Marv 1-831-383-0308 Vendor

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Member:
    #1009
    Messages:
    941
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Marv
    Monterey Bay California
    It depends on how they wired it originally but it's not that difficult. BTW, I just noticed the part about your headunit only having 2 outputs. Do you know if one is a dedicated sub output or can be switched to sub output?
     
  9. Feb 3, 2009 at 3:38 PM
    #9
    Chickenmunga

    Chickenmunga Nuggety

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Member:
    #5877
    Messages:
    6,949
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Hillsboro, Oregon
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Offroad DC 4x4 (read the build)
    Kenwood website had the answer, and he's in luck - the rear preout is switchable to sub out
     
  10. Feb 3, 2009 at 5:01 PM
    #10
    CRFan1

    CRFan1 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Member:
    #12357
    Messages:
    180
    Gender:
    Male
    Northwest Indiana
    Vehicle:
    Tacoma Pre-Runner
    DNX5120, Audsion AMp, Hertz Speakers
    Ok, I just stopped at the place that did my install and he said they could wire in an amp for the sub by using a "Y" connection? I can also get a 10" Hertz Mille subwoofer (its a new leftover 08 model) for 350 bucks (regular like 800 he says) and he will do a custom enclosure on the passenger side after removing the that half of the stock tray assembly. Said they would tap the existing power cable and remote wire and "Y" off the preamp output.

    of course he was taking me out ofusing the HU for the rears because they are good speakers and should stay on the existing 4 channell amp.....

    Is that doable?
     
  11. Feb 3, 2009 at 5:17 PM
    #11
    Mr Marv

    Mr Marv 1-831-383-0308 Vendor

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Member:
    #1009
    Messages:
    941
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Marv
    Monterey Bay California
    Unnecessary expense IMO unless you just want it "loud all around you" (see my mention about rear "fill" above) but it's doable and TOTALLY up to you! If you do have them do that make sure the amp you use for the sub has a remote gain control (NOT a remote "bass boost") or you will not be able to control the sub level separately.
     
  12. Feb 3, 2009 at 5:23 PM
    #12
    CRFan1

    CRFan1 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Member:
    #12357
    Messages:
    180
    Gender:
    Male
    Northwest Indiana
    Vehicle:
    Tacoma Pre-Runner
    DNX5120, Audsion AMp, Hertz Speakers
    Marv and all...thanks for your input on this - you guys are GREAT! I am gonna think on this a bit in regards to which way to go. The amp I am gonna put in for the sub would be an audison SRx and I am almost positive it has a gain control like the Audison LRx I have powering the speakers....

    HMMMM.....decisions decisions :D
     
To Top