1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Amp with stock HU... BIG PROBLEM

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by brannoz91, May 13, 2008.

  1. May 13, 2008 at 7:24 PM
    #1
    brannoz91

    brannoz91 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Member:
    #6605
    Messages:
    4
    GB
    Vehicle:
    02 Prerunner dbl cab
    Flowmaster exhaust
    I put in an amplifier with my stock headunit using a line-level converter. It worked perfectly fine for nearly a month and then I decided to remove the subwoofer for a day to get more room in my backseat. I did not know to disconnect my amp and after about 2 hours of radio use, my stereo would not play anything at all:confused: I think think it might have sent power back through my stereo and fried it.

    Does anybody have an explanation for what the problem might be?
     
  2. May 13, 2008 at 7:59 PM
    #2
    GotLift37

    GotLift37 Bangers Runner

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Member:
    #6185
    Messages:
    1,780
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    down south
    Vehicle:
    07 4Runner 4WD
    2.5" front lift (leeper coilover) 1" body 16" Dick Cepek DC1 Black/polished 295/75/16 General Grabber AT2 Tinted Taillights 5% tint OEM Acura TSX HID Retrofit White LED dash light conversion
    Loose wire maybe? How did you connect the line-level converter? Maybe loosened something up?
     
  3. May 13, 2008 at 8:01 PM
    #3
    eordonez

    eordonez Living vicariously through mjp2

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Member:
    #5340
    Messages:
    8,339
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ed
    Chihuahua, Mexico
    Vehicle:
    TRD Sport Dcab 4x2 Black Sand Pearl
    OEM All Weather Mats, wheel locks, Toyota Silver Tube steps.....
    did u isolated the disconnected sub wires??? maybe they touch each other and created a short thats my guess....
     
  4. May 13, 2008 at 8:03 PM
    #4
    brannoz91

    brannoz91 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Member:
    #6605
    Messages:
    4
    GB
    Vehicle:
    02 Prerunner dbl cab
    Flowmaster exhaust
    I isolated the wires and everthing was fine. But i have no output or anything coming from my stereo, even with my amp disconnected:confused:
     
  5. May 13, 2008 at 8:04 PM
    #5
    eordonez

    eordonez Living vicariously through mjp2

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Member:
    #5340
    Messages:
    8,339
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ed
    Chihuahua, Mexico
    Vehicle:
    TRD Sport Dcab 4x2 Black Sand Pearl
    OEM All Weather Mats, wheel locks, Toyota Silver Tube steps.....
    could it be something like the balance and fade of the stereo?? that you accidentally mess that up??
     
  6. May 14, 2008 at 7:25 AM
    #6
    GotLift37

    GotLift37 Bangers Runner

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Member:
    #6185
    Messages:
    1,780
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    down south
    Vehicle:
    07 4Runner 4WD
    2.5" front lift (leeper coilover) 1" body 16" Dick Cepek DC1 Black/polished 295/75/16 General Grabber AT2 Tinted Taillights 5% tint OEM Acura TSX HID Retrofit White LED dash light conversion
    Say if you try to turn the volume up or down. Or mess with the bass, treb, fade and bal controls, does anything even come up that says the volume is going up or down?
     
  7. May 14, 2008 at 8:45 AM
    #7
    ShorelineFab

    ShorelineFab Ask for forgiveness than permission

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Member:
    #6308
    Messages:
    106
    Gender:
    Male
    The O.C, CA
    Vehicle:
    2008 DBL CAB, BLACK, TRD SPORT, TSB/SUP/UPGRA
    Maybe it's time for a new radio! ;)
     
  8. May 14, 2008 at 8:50 AM
    #8
    lsocoee

    lsocoee My hair is all natural Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Member:
    #872
    Messages:
    10,164
    First Name:
    Hotdog
    Vehicle:
    2007 PreRunner SR5 Double Cab
    Wet Okole Underwear
    checked the fuses yet?
     
  9. May 14, 2008 at 3:53 PM
    #9
    brannoz91

    brannoz91 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Member:
    #6605
    Messages:
    4
    GB
    Vehicle:
    02 Prerunner dbl cab
    Flowmaster exhaust
    I checked every fuse I could find and they are all good. It shows that the song is playing and I dont have a volume gage but i can turn it all the way up... I cant figure it out.
     
  10. May 14, 2008 at 5:50 PM
    #10
    GotLift37

    GotLift37 Bangers Runner

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Member:
    #6185
    Messages:
    1,780
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    down south
    Vehicle:
    07 4Runner 4WD
    2.5" front lift (leeper coilover) 1" body 16" Dick Cepek DC1 Black/polished 295/75/16 General Grabber AT2 Tinted Taillights 5% tint OEM Acura TSX HID Retrofit White LED dash light conversion
    You have the JBL system? If so. Hook the factory amp back up. Will fix your problems. But if not, wouldnt have a clue
     
  11. May 14, 2008 at 8:01 PM
    #11
    brannoz91

    brannoz91 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Member:
    #6605
    Messages:
    4
    GB
    Vehicle:
    02 Prerunner dbl cab
    Flowmaster exhaust
    thank you very much. I will try that and if that doesnt work Ill seek professional help
     
  12. May 14, 2008 at 9:12 PM
    #12
    GotLift37

    GotLift37 Bangers Runner

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Member:
    #6185
    Messages:
    1,780
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    down south
    Vehicle:
    07 4Runner 4WD
    2.5" front lift (leeper coilover) 1" body 16" Dick Cepek DC1 Black/polished 295/75/16 General Grabber AT2 Tinted Taillights 5% tint OEM Acura TSX HID Retrofit White LED dash light conversion
    If you have the factory JBL system, I know you dont have the amp hooked up :D Same thing happened to me lol. But hook the factory sub back up also other wise the HU and speakers will cut in and out once in a while.
     
To Top