1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Any DirecTV installers? Help Needed.

Discussion in 'Technology' started by PreRunnerSeth, Nov 3, 2010.

  1. PreRunnerSeth

    PreRunnerSeth [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Member:
    #21110
    Messages:
    4,175
    Gender:
    Male
    Apex, NC
    Vehicle:
    15 Black DC OR Prerunner
    I have a newer HD Dish. It has a single cable coming out of it to a splitter deal that has 4 outputs on it. 2 of the cables have HD receivers on them. I am trying to connect a SD receiver to the third cable. It doesnt seem to be able to get a signal. What do i need to get a SD box to work with my system?
     
  2. Janster

    Janster Old & Forgetful

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1138
    Messages:
    13,567
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Jandy
    Lancaster, PA
    Vehicle:
    2007 4.0L 4x4 TRD Sport Access Cab A
    Advantage Torza top (tri-fold), Husky floor mats, RuffTuff seat covers, C2C hood struts, Homelink mirror, USA Spec PA15-Toy (120gig Classic & 8gig nano), Garmin Nuvi 660, Protecta Bed mat, Pop-n-lock, TSB Springs, Scangauge II, Heated drivers seat, Fumoto drain valve, Aries pushbar, PIAA 540 fog lights, Hood scoop grahics, Flowmaster 50 series dual catback exhaust, RainX Latitude windshield wipers, Husky rear floor liner (ontop of folded down seats). Console Vault.
    Not that I know anything about what I'm talking about.....

    But did you go through the proper setup procedures? I know that can be a pain in the ass.....I've seen my husband struggle with that shit.
    We have HD Direct TV and one standard receiver and one DVR receiver.

    Did you flip the cables around to test each output? Perhaps the splitter and/or output could be faulty?
     
  3. Rakso

    Rakso CeRaTi

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Member:
    #14105
    Messages:
    4,030
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    OsKaR
    California
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5
    Icon Ext Travel Coils, Built right UCAs, nFab light bar, Fox 2.0 piggy backs, Demello Sliders, Weather Tech Liners, Wet Okole Seat Covers, AFE CAI, Magnaflow Mufler, 6000k HIDs Headlights, 3000K HIDs Fog Lights, Fogs Anytime Mod. Cluster LED Swap, HU LED Swap.
    You need a different splitter deal. The one you have is just for HD.
     
  4. aaronatl

    aaronatl ©1975

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Member:
    #6804
    Messages:
    642
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Cap'n Crunch
    In A Big Country
    Vehicle:
    it hauls tostitos
    101/110/119 sats are Ku
    99/103 are Ka ( FTA, HD and local )

    Does the SD receiver requires two inputs?

    do you have B-Band converters installed?
     
  5. solus

    solus HOME!!!

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Member:
    #20487
    Messages:
    4,505
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Bremerton, WA
    Vehicle:
    RR 4wd SR5
    I have 2 HD DirecTV receivers and a SD receiver and I have two dishes on my roof and HD one and SD one.

    You might need another dish
     
  6. PreRunnerSeth

    PreRunnerSeth [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Member:
    #21110
    Messages:
    4,175
    Gender:
    Male
    Apex, NC
    Vehicle:
    15 Black DC OR Prerunner
    Say what?
     
  7. aaronatl

    aaronatl ©1975

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Member:
    #6804
    Messages:
    642
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Cap'n Crunch
    In A Big Country
    Vehicle:
    it hauls tostitos
    some SD receivers have two turners
    and require 2 satelite inputs
     
  8. ryanjboutin

    ryanjboutin Mob dirt parking lots.

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Member:
    #14489
    Messages:
    18,545
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Las Vegas
    Vehicle:
    2013 4x4 Off Road, 6 speed.
    Spacers. Spacers everywhere.
    If you have the KaKu dish with SWiM system going into a SWiM 1x4 splitter, then you will only be able to run the 2 HD boxes.

    The HD boxes require 2 "ports" each. That total of 4 ports is your 1x4 SWim splitter.

    I was an installer for a little bit.
     
To Top