1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

any other wiring harness needed?

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Todd_Kobell, Jun 15, 2019.

  1. Jun 15, 2019 at 12:56 PM
    #1
    Todd_Kobell

    Todd_Kobell [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019
    Member:
    #291709
    Messages:
    68
    Great Plains
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tim. Mica DCSB 4x4 SR5
    This might be a dumb question, but I'm good at asking those so here goes:

    I've got a Pioneer MVH1400NEX and a Scosche Dash kit for 2010 Tacoma. Waiting on iDatalink Maestro RR module and the T01. Just installing new head unit, no speaker replacements or amps.

    Will I need any add'l wiring harnesses for this install, or will that cover everything? Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Jun 15, 2019 at 2:19 PM
    #2
    hemitruk

    hemitruk Old man , young boi truk

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Member:
    #24461
    Messages:
    1,999
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kurt
    Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    2010 Dbl Cab Sport,
    A few
  3. Jun 15, 2019 at 5:38 PM
    #3
    destin_meeks

    destin_meeks I used to fix people's crappy stereos

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Member:
    #223997
    Messages:
    2,851
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Destin
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    Vehicle:
    2017 SSM DoubleCab TRD Off-Road 4x4
    No, the TO1 will pretty much cover everything.

    Just to be sure, do you have the JBL system?
     
    hemitruk likes this.
  4. Jun 16, 2019 at 7:07 AM
    #4
    Todd_Kobell

    Todd_Kobell [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019
    Member:
    #291709
    Messages:
    68
    Great Plains
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tim. Mica DCSB 4x4 SR5
    I do not, at least I’m pretty sure not. I assume the JBL system has some branding somewhere in the vehicle?
     
  5. Jun 16, 2019 at 7:24 AM
    #5
    destin_meeks

    destin_meeks I used to fix people's crappy stereos

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Member:
    #223997
    Messages:
    2,851
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Destin
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    Vehicle:
    2017 SSM DoubleCab TRD Off-Road 4x4
    Correct. Jbl logo on the radio, on the speakers, and maybe the most obvious, it has a subwoofer behind the passenger back seat against the rear wall.
    No sub = no JBL
     
  6. Jun 16, 2019 at 7:32 AM
    #6
    Todd_Kobell

    Todd_Kobell [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019
    Member:
    #291709
    Messages:
    68
    Great Plains
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tim. Mica DCSB 4x4 SR5
    Thanks @destin_meeks so I'm all set with just the T01 then? Ready to get this install done, I'm tired of waiting for parts to come in haha.
     
  7. Jun 16, 2019 at 8:12 AM
    #7
    destin_meeks

    destin_meeks I used to fix people's crappy stereos

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Member:
    #223997
    Messages:
    2,851
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Destin
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    Vehicle:
    2017 SSM DoubleCab TRD Off-Road 4x4
    Yeah should be all set. I might also get a Toyota switch style usb cord if you don’t have a factory USB port
    If you DO have a factory USB port, get the adapter for that. I don’t remember if the 2010’s had them.


    Maybe grab something like this

    https://www.amazon.com/Universal-Ex...a+switch+usb&qid=1560697891&s=gateway&sr=8-39
     
    TacoTuesday!! likes this.
  8. Jun 16, 2019 at 3:53 PM
    #8
    Todd_Kobell

    Todd_Kobell [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019
    Member:
    #291709
    Messages:
    68
    Great Plains
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tim. Mica DCSB 4x4 SR5
    I do not have a factory USB port, but the wired CarPlay connection should be sufficient for me I think.
     
  9. Jun 16, 2019 at 4:05 PM
    #9
    destin_meeks

    destin_meeks I used to fix people's crappy stereos

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Member:
    #223997
    Messages:
    2,851
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Destin
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    Vehicle:
    2017 SSM DoubleCab TRD Off-Road 4x4
    Well that wired connection requires a USB port to plug into. They give you an extension but you’d have to dangle it out of the dash or cram it in the glove box
     
    TacoTuesday!! likes this.
  10. Jun 16, 2019 at 7:22 PM
    #10
    BuschWacker

    BuschWacker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2019
    Member:
    #282428
    Messages:
    87
    Gender:
    Male
    Calgary, Alberta
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD Sport DCLB
    I’m kind of in the exact same boat, I’ve done hours of research, I’ve got stuff in hand and some more still somewhere on route, and I’ve still found a few things I’m missing. I didn’t get the USB adaptor to use the existing USB plug, and I also didn’t get the adaptor cable to utilize the OEM Siriusxm satellite antenna. Kinda tired of ordering stuff at this point and just wanna get it done.
     
    TacoTuesday!! likes this.
  11. Jun 19, 2019 at 7:08 AM
    #11
    Todd_Kobell

    Todd_Kobell [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019
    Member:
    #291709
    Messages:
    68
    Great Plains
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tim. Mica DCSB 4x4 SR5
    @Evenflow hey man sorry to snipe you but I saw that you seem pretty knowledgable about the Scosche in-dash kit for 2nd gens...anyway, I got the Scosche double-din kit but they sent me 2 right brackets instead of a left and a right. Working on getting the left bracket sent, but they seem to be slow about it. Also the Pioneer MVH-1400NEX does NOT have a sleeve for mounting, just the head unit itself with screw holes on the side.

    Question 1: do you know if I can use the OEM mounts instead of the plastic ones from Scosche? I'm tired of waiting for them to get me the left bracket.
    Question 2: the Pioneer should mount fine without the sleeve, correct?

    if you or anybody else can answer those it's much appreciated, itching to get this installed!
     
  12. Jun 19, 2019 at 7:10 AM
    #12
    destin_meeks

    destin_meeks I used to fix people's crappy stereos

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Member:
    #223997
    Messages:
    2,851
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Destin
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    Vehicle:
    2017 SSM DoubleCab TRD Off-Road 4x4
    We stock the metra version in my shop but I imagine it’s very similar. In that kit, the plastic brackets they give you do NOT attach to the face of the kit. If this is the case for tour kit, then the factory brackets work great! That’s what I always use

    Edit*
    Looking at the kit, it appears that the side brackets do connect to the face plate. However, the face still has the plastic clips on the corners and these should be adequate to hold the face on. I would try the factory metal brackets. It may take a few adjustments to get the radio and the right depth to fit snug with the faceplate, but no biggie.
    Also, I think only 3 of the screw holes on the metal brackets line up, but that is plenty to hold the radio secure
     
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2019
    Todd_Kobell [OP] likes this.
  13. Jun 19, 2019 at 7:36 AM
    #13
    Todd_Kobell

    Todd_Kobell [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019
    Member:
    #291709
    Messages:
    68
    Great Plains
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tim. Mica DCSB 4x4 SR5
    Awesome, thanks @destin_meeks! I'm sure I can answer these questions myself once I take the dash apart, but it's nice to know going in what to expect. Yeah the mounting brackets appear to just connect to the faceplate via a little channel on each side, I'll def try the factory brackets and see how it goes. I did get that USB/AUX extension as well so I can get a clean installation.
     
  14. Jun 19, 2019 at 4:54 PM
    #14
    Evenflow

    Evenflow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Member:
    #108344
    Messages:
    4,359
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    San Diego, CA
    Vehicle:
    06' DCSB 4x4
    Yes
    factory metal brackets are much stronger , if the fit or reveal is not exactly what you want you can always drill your own holes in the metal brackets too. I had to do that with my Alpine ilx
     
    Todd_Kobell [OP] likes this.

Products Discussed in

To Top