1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Anyone hardwired their gopro?

Discussion in '3rd Gen. Tacomas (2016+)' started by TMMIgirl, Dec 15, 2015.

  1. Dec 15, 2015 at 5:20 PM
    #1
    TMMIgirl

    TMMIgirl [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Member:
    #166501
    Messages:
    290
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Angela
    Haubstadt Indiana
    Vehicle:
    TRD off road DC SB
    Before anyone verbally abuses me, I did a search with no luck.

    I'd like to get a dash cam for the fun of it but I don't want the cord dangling all the time.

    Anyone done it? How?

    TY!
     
    gsxxr and Pcyc like this.
  2. Dec 15, 2015 at 7:36 PM
    #2
    UrbanT@co

    UrbanT@co Taco FANatic

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2015
    Member:
    #169949
    Messages:
    3,915
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Craig
    Bay Area
    Vehicle:
    '16 DCSBOR 4x2
    * BAMF Grille *50% tint driver/passenger front window * NFAB steps * Bakflip F1 tonnaeu * Bed extender * Bed mat * Weathertech digital floor mats * Black reflective Tacoma tailgate decal
    Seems like it would be too much of a hassle since you would likely be taking it in and out often for around town runs. I just bought the double charger and now have 3 batteries to play with.

    I just bought mine a few weeks back and unless my eye is on the truck the camera goes with me.
     
    Captain Taco likes this.
  3. Dec 15, 2015 at 7:39 PM
    #3
    TacoBella

    TacoBella Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Member:
    #64421
    Messages:
    2,855
    First Name:
    Tom
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tacoma (SOLD) Ford Ranger Lariat sold leased RTL-E Ridgeline
    AVS Bug Deflector. TruXedo Lo Pro
    The best tap would be the 12V going to the Mirror. Probably a step down and some sot of USB wire. That said I have not found a use for my GoPro in the truck.
     
  4. Dec 15, 2015 at 7:52 PM
    #4
    UrbanT@co

    UrbanT@co Taco FANatic

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2015
    Member:
    #169949
    Messages:
    3,915
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Craig
    Bay Area
    Vehicle:
    '16 DCSBOR 4x2
    * BAMF Grille *50% tint driver/passenger front window * NFAB steps * Bakflip F1 tonnaeu * Bed extender * Bed mat * Weathertech digital floor mats * Black reflective Tacoma tailgate decal
    I would imagine cutting through the protective housing as well since the housing that comes with the camera don't allow for access to the usb port.

    I totally get the lack of use in the truck. I did two trips around town and it's either me cussing out other drivers, talking to myself, or terrible singing.

    I'll keep using mine for a bit so I can get enough footage to learn the editing software though. I want to get some crazy footage like they have on youtube with crazy road rage and people gone wild. :D
     
  5. Dec 15, 2015 at 7:57 PM
    #5
    TMMIgirl

    TMMIgirl [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Member:
    #166501
    Messages:
    290
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Angela
    Haubstadt Indiana
    Vehicle:
    TRD off road DC SB
    Idk, I would love to video my daily commute.
    You never know when you might record something cool or something you may need.
    They never stop recording, unless you save the clip.
    I saw a scooter/ moped do an indo in the intersection once. Flipped both people off when someone pulled out in front of them.
    I see giant bucks almost daily on my gravel roads.
    Some cameras have motion sensors. If you are parked and some one hits you, it turns on and records.
    The one I want it only $60.00.
    I'd never remove it once mounted.
     
    UrbanT@co likes this.
  6. Dec 15, 2015 at 8:11 PM
    #6
    Daytona Coupe

    Daytona Coupe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    Member:
    #167500
    Messages:
    262
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Visalia CA
    Vehicle:
    16 TRD Sport DCSB
    I bought a power supply to convert from 12volts and plug into the camera, I just haven't put it in yet. It isn't hard to get a 12v source under the dash and run it up the pillar to the camera area.
     
  7. Dec 15, 2015 at 8:18 PM
    #7
    Paladin202

    Paladin202 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2015
    Member:
    #168919
    Messages:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 Inferno Tacoma DCSB Sport TRD MT
    Thunder Road likes this.
  8. Dec 15, 2015 at 8:42 PM
    #8
    TacoBella

    TacoBella Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Member:
    #64421
    Messages:
    2,855
    First Name:
    Tom
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tacoma (SOLD) Ford Ranger Lariat sold leased RTL-E Ridgeline
    AVS Bug Deflector. TruXedo Lo Pro
    I bought an open housing which would allow USB attachment. Then I decided I really did not need a GoPro in the truck. Its a great camera though. I use it on my bike.
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2015
    UrbanT@co likes this.
  9. Dec 15, 2015 at 11:06 PM
    #9
    Dansm

    Dansm Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2015
    Member:
    #169203
    Messages:
    26
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD 2 wheel drive
    Got the Sony action cam, has built in image stabilization - the battery on that lasts me over 5 hours of recording, plus also has an open frame available to plug in while in use

    Just uses a gopro to 1/4-20 camera adapter to mount
     
    JimJustJim likes this.
  10. Dec 15, 2015 at 11:37 PM
    #10
    Gingerbeard Man

    Gingerbeard Man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Member:
    #162164
    Messages:
    2,421
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jared
    North Dallas
    Vehicle:
    2016 MGM DCSB Sport 4x4
    Icon stage 3 tubular 285/70/17 Toyo ATII
    I was debating the same thing because I'm cheap
     
  11. Dec 16, 2015 at 5:20 AM
    #11
    RHelton10

    RHelton10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2015
    Member:
    #159223
    Messages:
    270
    Gender:
    Male
    Atlanta, GA
    Vehicle:
    '16 DCLB MGM TRD Sport 4x4
    Predator bars, Revolver X2 tonneau cover, SwingCase tool box, Husky mats, HID conversion Fuel vapor 17” wheels, 2” front /1” rear lift with Bilstein 5100’s, 285/70R17 Nitto grappler 2’s
    I plan to use the mirror for power as well, and agree that you would have to step down from the truck's 12V system to 5V needed for USB; something like this would work and they have many different connectors to choose from: http://www.amazon.com/HitCar-Invert...UTF8&qid=1450270650&sr=1-5&keywords=12v+to+5v

    I have a GoPro but I know I would forget to turn it on and set it to record every time I start driving, plus I don't like the idea of such an expensive camera hanging in the windshield begging for someone to break into my truck. I would like a traditional dash cam that has the G-force sensors and auto-record feature when it detects movement, but haven't decided on a particular model yet. I'm in Atlanta and we've started seeing the "jump on the hood at a red light" scam here where people try to say you hit them so they can sue you. Having a dash cam would be extremely helpful in that scenario.
     
    tacoman15 and TMMIgirl [OP] like this.
  12. Dec 16, 2015 at 8:03 AM
    #12
    rrentrop

    rrentrop TVDvinyldecals.com Vendor

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Member:
    #163975
    Messages:
    1,685
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Orange County, CA
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tacoma 4x2 Limited MGM
    T-Rex Billet Grille, N-Fab Steps, Tailgate decals, Bed Lights, Power Tailgate Lock
    A 10' USB cable plugged into an adapter in the center console box power plug will reach the GoPro mount. Remove the "floor" of the console box to reveal a hole. Run it up the center console, tucking it under the bottom edge, under the glove box, up the A-pillar, and tuck it under the headliner. The only tool you need is a socket to remove the A-pillar cover.

    If you don't know which camera you will buy then run a male to female extension, effectively giving you a USB port right at the GoPro mount.
     
    nevadabugle and TMMIgirl [OP] like this.
  13. Dec 16, 2015 at 8:23 AM
    #13
    Wraith600

    Wraith600 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    Member:
    #167577
    Messages:
    425
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 AC TRD OR Quicksand
    The problem with a GoPro is you can't use it to work like a dash cam does for continuous recording. I will record segments but once the card is filled it stops until you delete files.

    I use this for mine. It does a true CarDVR mode and works fantastic.
    http://store.driftinnovation.com/#

    They even sell a GoPro adapter mount and it mounts perfectly in the truck. I would love to see a powered USB option in the upper console and I have an idea but haven't had time to see about to mount a USB power up there. I suspect someone will kit one and I will be lazy and just buy that. If not I will build something in the summer time.
     
  14. Dec 16, 2015 at 8:26 AM
    #14
    RHelton10

    RHelton10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2015
    Member:
    #159223
    Messages:
    270
    Gender:
    Male
    Atlanta, GA
    Vehicle:
    '16 DCLB MGM TRD Sport 4x4
    Predator bars, Revolver X2 tonneau cover, SwingCase tool box, Husky mats, HID conversion Fuel vapor 17” wheels, 2” front /1” rear lift with Bilstein 5100’s, 285/70R17 Nitto grappler 2’s
    Actually GoPro does have a continuous record / looping option - most people just don't know about it. It does not automatically record when it receives power, however, which is why I don't think it makes a great dash cam.
     
  15. Dec 16, 2015 at 8:29 AM
    #15
    GHOST SHIP

    GHOST SHIP hates you.

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Member:
    #150537
    Messages:
    20,235
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    GHOST
    Not sure if you got the answers you were looking for @TMMIgirl , but this is a quick breakdown of how I wired my dash cams:
    I have two cameras (one forward under my rearview mirror and one facing out my rear window). Using the Mobuis Action Cam which records in 1080p and only costs about $75-85. Super small (about 2.25"x1.5"x.5") and it does not impede my line of sight like some other cameras with bigger housings. This is also good because it does not scream "I have a go-pro-to steal!". The only downside is that there is no external display so lining up my shot the way I wanted took me two tries. Really though the display becomes a distraction especially when driving at night. The downloadable software allows them to be programmable to start recording once it is connected to power (among other features).
    I used an add-a-fuse to tap into an accessory fuse and added an aftermarket cigarette lighter to the new circuit. This way the cigarette lighter becomes "hot" and powers on when the key is turned to ACC (or when the car is turned on).
    I mounted the cigarette lighter outlet on the firewall under my dash just above the steering column. That way it is tucked up out of the way where I cant kick it accidentally while driving, but is still accessible if I need to fiddle with it without too much hassle.
    I connected the cameras to the cigarette lighter using a 12v USB outlet (with two ports). All wiring was run under my headliner and/or the A-pillar on the driver's side and all you see is a small section of cable that comes out just above where each camera is located.
    IMO the benefit of doing this is that the cameras always turn on when I turn the car on so I don't have to remind myself to turn them on every time I get in the truck and now I get shots forward and back. This helps for insurance purposes in case of accidents, but also for shots of people being idiots on the freeway and the occasional random moment captured on camera. I've also used them to capture some offroad shenanigans and get great POV shots of the trail and my buddies trucks in action. The only downside is I don't appear in any of the videos. :(
    I hope this helps. Let me know if you have any questions.
     
  16. Dec 16, 2015 at 8:43 AM
    #16
    gsxxr

    gsxxr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Member:
    #167926
    Messages:
    1,219
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 tacoma trd sport
    3" lift, goodyear wrangler duratracs 285/70r17, k&n filter, bakflip vp tonneau and tint.
    I don't have a gopro but I have a sj6000 cam. Same shit for the most part with out the name. I bought a hard wire kit for it. I'm going to just fish it under the head liner to my overhead console and wire it on there for power.
     
  17. Dec 16, 2015 at 9:05 AM
    #17
    rrentrop

    rrentrop TVDvinyldecals.com Vendor

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Member:
    #163975
    Messages:
    1,685
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Orange County, CA
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tacoma 4x2 Limited MGM
    T-Rex Billet Grille, N-Fab Steps, Tailgate decals, Bed Lights, Power Tailgate Lock
    I also use the Mobius. I would recommend the wide angle version. Just point it in the direction that want to capture and you are good to go.
     
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2015
  18. Dec 16, 2015 at 9:15 AM
    #18
    Captain Taco

    Captain Taco RipCity

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    Member:
    #123157
    Messages:
    1,122
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rob
    Portland
    Vehicle:
    2013 Black Tacoma Sport
    3" Lift, Krank Fuel Wheels, TRD Pro Grill, Curved Roof LED Light Bar
    You say the one you want is only $60. Are you getting a GoPro?? Or a dash cam?
    Best Buy sells some dash cams that are around $75 that do what you want. They record everything and it's a loop meaning it will erase what it has already recorded once the memory is full. If you get in an accident it will feel the motion change and automatically save 3 minutes prior and 3 minutes afterwards.
    Or you can always hit the save button and it will save for you. In the event you see the bucks or such.
    But if you want it for off-road use as well then I would recommend a GoPro. And I would recommend buying a double charger like @UrbanT@co stated on the second post on this thread. Carry some extra sd memory cards and just swap the battery out when you put a new one in start charging your old one. This keeps the Integerty of the GoPro housing also so if you chose to take it out and use it on something else it will still be waterproof.
     
  19. Dec 16, 2015 at 9:25 AM
    #19
    DRJ1014

    DRJ1014 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Member:
    #164009
    Messages:
    1,272
    Gender:
    Male
    Fullerton, CA
    I am planning to once the truck arrives.

    Going to run fuse circuit from the fuse box on the passenger side (if its still located there)
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001QRSBW0?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o09_s00
    then I am going to run a USB to the top corner of the pillar and then run the micro USB to the USB port.
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00I3P6QQG?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o09_s00
    this one has a regulator which will help.

    I have the GoPro session so I am just going to leave the side flap open since its not that big. I was going to use my regular GoPro with the open rear cover but decided to pick up the session so it blends in and is a little more hidden.

    I have the smart remote I am going to mount near the drivers seat somewhere so I can use easy 1 touch recording.

    GoPro is setup to loop on 20 min recording intervals so it will run 24/7 so if something happens when its parked it will catch it on camera. When something happens I am going to stop recording, pull out the SD, and put in a new one so I can take the SD home to pull the video off.
     
    Captain Taco likes this.
  20. Dec 16, 2015 at 9:26 AM
    #20
    manethon

    manethon TTAS

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Member:
    #114161
    Messages:
    3,581
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Toronto
    Many
    I have mine wired up on my boat..... its a bit of a process to do properly
     
To Top