1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Anyone have trouble with Denso TPMS?

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by Raylo, Jul 9, 2021.

  1. Jul 9, 2021 at 10:16 AM
    #1
    Raylo

    Raylo [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Member:
    #10878
    Messages:
    692
    Gender:
    Male
    MD, USA
    Vehicle:
    2009 4x4 Access Cab-LB, TRD Sport
    It was time for new tires and wheels (got some TRD Pros in glossy gray to replace my ugly peeling OEM Sport wheels) for my 2009 with 113,000 miles. Since it was still on the OEM TPMS sensors it was time to change those, too. I ordered some Densos, p/n 550-0103 basically the correct part for most all Toyota and Lexus. Take it all to the installer and the sensors supposedly would not program for Toyota.

    I called Denso USA and they said they had had several reports of this issue and they suspected out of date scan software or some hardware incompatibilities. The shop swore their SnapOn gear is up to date. I dunno... but it turned out to be a more $$ day than expected since I didn't want to schlep it all back home and try a different shop. At least Denso said they will take these back. Anyone else run into this issue? Denso makes good stuff so this is very puzzling. I absolutely HATE not having the tools to do this myself.... well, the scanner anyway since I have no room for a tire changer.
     
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2021
    SR-71A likes this.
  2. Jul 9, 2021 at 11:21 AM
    #2
    ZColorado

    ZColorado Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2020
    Member:
    #345998
    Messages:
    256
    Gender:
    Male
    Near Boulder Colorado
    Vehicle:
    13 DCSB OR 6MT
    35's,Kings, SPC, Archive Garage, Method, RCI
    The TPMS sensors for the 3rd gens are incompatible with the 2nd gens... So if you got one of the newer model numbers that would be why.
     
    wi_taco and airmax233 like this.
  3. Jul 9, 2021 at 11:25 AM
    #3
    Raylo

    Raylo [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Member:
    #10878
    Messages:
    692
    Gender:
    Male
    MD, USA
    Vehicle:
    2009 4x4 Access Cab-LB, TRD Sport
  4. Jul 9, 2021 at 11:27 AM
    #4
    taco_rhyno

    taco_rhyno Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    Member:
    #256049
    Messages:
    305
    Vehicle:
    06 DC 4x4 Sport
    I recently used the Denso’s on mine. Same problem. Shop worked their tail off, drove truck around, parked it, drove again and couldn’t get the TPMS sensor to trigger.

    There is a specific pressure change activation trigger sequence to activate the sensors that is written the tag attached to the sensors. I made a second trip back to the shop, showed the manager (instead of the tech) the tag and they agreed to try again. It worked.

    The tech (apparently) hadn’t read the tag and used the ‘normal spin the tire/drive it around’ activation procedure.
     
    ToYoda4x4 and Raylo [OP] like this.
  5. Jul 9, 2021 at 11:33 AM
    #5
    Raylo

    Raylo [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Member:
    #10878
    Messages:
    692
    Gender:
    Male
    MD, USA
    Vehicle:
    2009 4x4 Access Cab-LB, TRD Sport
    Damn it all... it had to be something like that! I didn't read the tag in detail myself until just now. Shop was busy and I saw them trying, but not sure anyone there even read the tag. They may have tried to connect to them without even taking them out of the box. Oh well, that cost me some $ today. I got these for $34 but of course the ones you buy at an installer are twice that. And I guess I learnt another lesson. But why does it always have to be the hard way?

     
  6. Jul 9, 2021 at 1:50 PM
    #6
    jbrnigan

    jbrnigan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Member:
    #146935
    Messages:
    1,225
    Gender:
    Male
    Midwest
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD Sport, 4X4, 4.0L, Auto - Access Cab
    I used the same sensors (#550-0103 - "First Time Fit") on my Tacoma in April. I pointed out the tag and the activation procedure written on the tag. The shop had recently purchased a new Bartec sensor programmer. The shop was able activate the sensors without issue and didn't go through the tag (air down) procedure.
     
  7. Jul 9, 2021 at 2:27 PM
    #7
    jeffafitz

    jeffafitz Obviously, You're Not A Golfer.

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2021
    Member:
    #367539
    Messages:
    210
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    Northern Kentucky
    Vehicle:
    2013 TRD Sport 4x4 DCLB
    Not Denso, but I’m having trouble finding someone who will/can program my Autel sensors. Tire Discounters told me they require an Autel tool, and the dealer told me they could try to do it for a fee but couldn’t promise it would work. Trying to figure out how I can get them programmed as we speak. It should not be this hard imo.
     
  8. Jul 9, 2021 at 3:18 PM
    #8
    Raylo

    Raylo [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Member:
    #10878
    Messages:
    692
    Gender:
    Male
    MD, USA
    Vehicle:
    2009 4x4 Access Cab-LB, TRD Sport
    This. I always thought this was like tire shop 101, easy peasy for them... and would be for us if we had the tool. I should have done a reset and just brought the lot home and consulted you guys. Also would have helped if I opened the box and read the tag. It just never occurred to me that there would be the slightest difficulty with this... and I was using up the time I had allocated to this. I didn't want to waste another half day at another tire shop. And it is hard even to get into one here... demand is through the roof as the pandemic wanes, at least for now.

     
  9. Jul 9, 2021 at 4:41 PM
    #9
    igno1tus

    igno1tus Small member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2017
    Member:
    #216359
    Messages:
    1,789
    Lehigh Valley Area , PA
    Vehicle:
    '07 Tacoma Access Cab TRD Off Road
    I have those from rock auto and they’ve been fine , I got mine about a year or so ago thou . I used tech stream software (I think ) and all worked fine

    I bought a $70 laptop off eBay and used that , if I had to do it over again I would of got a programmer off Amazon
     
  10. Jul 9, 2021 at 4:49 PM
    #10
    LNMTacoma2013

    LNMTacoma2013 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2021
    Member:
    #367111
    Messages:
    66
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Louis
    Vehicle:
    2013 Magnetic Gray TRD
    None Yet
    I bought these for my 2nd generation 2013 TRD Sport
    ROADFAR 315MHz Programmed Tire Pressure Monitoring System Sensor TPMS Fits For Lexus For Scion For Toyota 4260706011 4260733011 on Amazon

    They worked fine when I left the shop, the next day they were reading low pressure. I googled how to reset it and they mostly work fine, every once in a while they come back on but mostly they are off. The reset is super simple you could at least try it.

    https://youtu.be/anGr9JcP3Uc
     
  11. Jul 9, 2021 at 5:00 PM
    #11
    Raylo

    Raylo [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Member:
    #10878
    Messages:
    692
    Gender:
    Male
    MD, USA
    Vehicle:
    2009 4x4 Access Cab-LB, TRD Sport
    Those bootleg Techstream offerings look pretty sketchy and virus prone. Using it with an offline throw away laptop is probably a good idea. Did you identify a scanner that would *for sure* work? Many of them make claims that they will do TPMS and ABS bleeding with an asterisk that they don't guarantee it will work for your model. Most of them are scams.


     
    igno1tus likes this.
  12. Jul 9, 2021 at 5:03 PM
    #12
    Empty_Lord

    Empty_Lord Wallet abuser

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2016
    Member:
    #181186
    Messages:
    24,380
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dan
    Northwest Indiana/Chicagoland
    Vehicle:
    66 Mercedes, 01 Tacoma, 02 Tacoma 05 Tundra + others
    Almost 300k! Doug Thorley headers magnaflow cats & cat-back airaid intake tube color matched grille and mirrors front icon coilovers rear icon absorbers with deaver leafs total chaos upper control arms fj trail team wheels with 265/75r16 cooper discoverer st maxx Soon to be built engine with supercharger soon to be built a340f
    I used the denso sensors on my tundra with no issues. Programming them witg tech stream (legit copy since I work at the dealer) they worked right away
     
    igno1tus likes this.
  13. Jul 9, 2021 at 5:07 PM
    #13
    whatstcp

    whatstcp currently drunk so don't listen to me

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2018
    Member:
    #261584
    Messages:
    9,494
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ed
    Fontana, CA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Tacoma Regular Cab 2.7l 4x4
    King + Archive Relocation Wheeler's bumps +hydros
    The aftermarket denso need the activation air up/down to wake it up. No one, and I mean no one ever reads the small read tag. A ton of 1 star review for the densos "doa" on Amazon ($33 each) are a testament to that

    Some tpms tools supposedly can wake them up. I have the autel ts501 and still do the air up/down just in case.
     
  14. Jul 9, 2021 at 5:22 PM
    #14
    Raylo

    Raylo [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Member:
    #10878
    Messages:
    692
    Gender:
    Male
    MD, USA
    Vehicle:
    2009 4x4 Access Cab-LB, TRD Sport
    The other factor here is that this is something we just don't deal with often. This is literally the very first time I have ever needed to get new TPMS transmitters for any vehicle. My 2009 Tacoma is the first vehicle I have ever had with TPMS and the OEM transmitters were still working on just the second set of tires. Pretty amazing, really.
     
  15. Jul 9, 2021 at 6:43 PM
    #15
    jeffafitz

    jeffafitz Obviously, You're Not A Golfer.

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2021
    Member:
    #367539
    Messages:
    210
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    Northern Kentucky
    Vehicle:
    2013 TRD Sport 4x4 DCLB
    I just ordered a TS508 to hopefully get my Autel’s up and running. Do you know if it will work?

    Sorry, I don’t mean to thread jack.
     
    whatstcp likes this.
  16. Jul 9, 2021 at 7:13 PM
    #16
    whatstcp

    whatstcp currently drunk so don't listen to me

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2018
    Member:
    #261584
    Messages:
    9,494
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ed
    Fontana, CA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Tacoma Regular Cab 2.7l 4x4
    King + Archive Relocation Wheeler's bumps +hydros
    Yes, the autel mx sensors are primarily meant to be cloned. Not sure on the features of the 508 but I know it has more capability than my 501. And with the 501 I can read the sensor IDs from the ECU, then use those IDs to imprint them (clone) onto the autel mx sensors. Just hook up the obd cable to your truck and read the sensor IDs and then clone from there. Since they are already installed on the wheels, just shove the tool as close as possible to the sensor. But that may not even be an issue.

    edit: the method I mentioned above is just what I choose to do. The autel allows you to also create new IDs onto the MX sensors and then program those onto your ECU. I just choose to manually program each one using whats on the ecu. Some would argue that it's quicker to go with the auto route, but just the way I do it. More than one way to skin a cat and all that.
     
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2021
  17. Jul 9, 2021 at 7:22 PM
    #17
    igno1tus

    igno1tus Small member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2017
    Member:
    #216359
    Messages:
    1,789
    Lehigh Valley Area , PA
    Vehicle:
    '07 Tacoma Access Cab TRD Off Road
    Yes there IS one that works , I’ve seen posts here on TW that other members have used them with success . Everything worked with the tech stream software and I could use it to switch between summer and winter tires but I don’t . At the time Toyota dealer wanted 96+tax for the sensors and 150+ tax to program them . So for $667.80 I went out and got the denso’s for 29 a piece ($145) and I got a laptop for $70 and a cable kit from Amazon for $25 and saved the rest of my money . It all payed for itself just buying the stuff for what I saved (did all 5 sensors at once)
     
    Jimmyh likes this.
  18. Jul 10, 2021 at 3:32 AM
    #18
    Raylo

    Raylo [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Member:
    #10878
    Messages:
    692
    Gender:
    Male
    MD, USA
    Vehicle:
    2009 4x4 Access Cab-LB, TRD Sport
    Do you have a link? I suppose if you got yours awhile back the offerings have changed a good bit. I have an *old* laptop around, on Linux. Might take a good bit of effort to resurrect and update it but that should be safe.

    Based on the above it seems the Autels work... but not sure they work with other branded sensors. What say you guys with the Autels? That would be easier than messing with the bootleg Techstream.

     
  19. Jul 10, 2021 at 5:00 AM
    #19
    jbrnigan

    jbrnigan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Member:
    #146935
    Messages:
    1,225
    Gender:
    Male
    Midwest
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD Sport, 4X4, 4.0L, Auto - Access Cab
    FWIW ... I downloaded the "bootleg" techstream software in 2012, loaded it onto an old Windows XP laptop, got the OBD cable from Amazon. It works on my Camry, Tacoma, Tundra and new Highlander. Besides showing the TPMS registration numbers (lets you view and change them), it can turn on and off both user and factory configurable options (like seat belt chimes), check and reset ck engine codes, on board timers etc etc.
    While I owned a Ford Super Duty, I had the Ford ForScan software on the same computer, same functionality.
    i guess there is a virus potential, but not likely any greater than other downloaded software from unknown sources. Ps - use at your own risk.
     
  20. Jul 10, 2021 at 5:05 AM
    #20
    Raylo

    Raylo [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Member:
    #10878
    Messages:
    692
    Gender:
    Male
    MD, USA
    Vehicle:
    2009 4x4 Access Cab-LB, TRD Sport
    Wil this also cycle/bleed the ABS module? Do you happen to know if the software works on Linux?

     

Products Discussed in

To Top