1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Anyone here gone through OCS from the civilian side?

Discussion in 'Military' started by TRDguyKC, Sep 30, 2010.

1. Sep 30, 2010 at 9:25 PM
    TRDguyKC

TRDguyKC [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Kris
    Sierra Vista, AZ
    So heres the deal. I graduated ASU back in december of 2009 and have been working at USAA fulltime since. Im ready to join the military and make it a career. Im interested in flying but it would not be a dealbreaker if something came up and i didnt pass the flight physical .

That being said, Im looking into all of the branches both at flying careers and others. My father is a retired Lt. Col. and was a fighter pilot in the AF, so i have his help in that arena, however he made it through ROTC. I decided that I wanted to join after it was too late for me to go ROTC. That being said, I dont know anyone who has gone through college and submitted their packet for OCS/OTS, so i dont know how to go about it and what steps I need to take.

Another large hurtle I need to get over is finding out what i would like to do if flying does not work out..... The issue here is that I simply dont have the information to make a knowledgeable decision as to what i would like to do. Its like when you get out of highschool and they tell you "you should know what you want to do". Well the only experience I have as far as work goes is insurance.

Id like to find a source or multiple that could maybe explain some career fields in depth or put me through a "day in the life of.....".