1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Anyone replaced an A/C Compressor Pick-up Sensor

Discussion in 'Technical Chat' started by ronmdon, Jul 2, 2012.

  1. Jul 2, 2012 at 10:06 AM
    #1
    ronmdon

    ronmdon [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Member:
    #43506
    Messages:
    13
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    07 SR5 Tacoma
    My air-conditioning stopped working recently and the dealership troubleshot down to the A/C compressor pick up sensor. It's starting to warm up here in Montana and several hours of driving at 75MPH with the windows down is getting old...

    Here is the schematic:
    http://www.ronandonovan.com/p1029101687/e254f5eec#h254f5eec

    I went to a few auto parts stores to see if I could purchase the part myself. They couldn't find the part.
    Anyone have any experience with this replacement? Anywhere online to order a new one? Can I replace it myself?
    Part Number - 81150-04163

    I'll have to get the whole A/C system recharged after this, or so the dealership said.

    Any info is much appreciated, thanks.
     
  2. Jul 7, 2012 at 2:06 PM
    #2
    Tacoma Mike

    Tacoma Mike 45 Year Toyota Master/ASE Master Tech.

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Member:
    #61230
    Messages:
    16,088
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Southern Maine
    Vehicle:
    2011 Double Cab V6
    Large Storage Box, 02610 intermittent switch swap, "Hot Wire" Power Outlets, DRL Shut Off, Disable Fob Beep, Disable Seat Belt Buzzers, Parking Light Mod, Battery Tender, 4 Leaf Spring Pack, Rear Headrest Removal, Custom Ultragauge Mount, Factory Tow Package (7 Pin) Rear Diff Mod, Taco Lean Mod
    Is the ac light flashing ...
    If it is and they diag as that sensor be prepared to put a compressor in it too.
    There is a chance the sensor ring inside the comp is damaged in some way. I have seen that sensor fix vey few flashing lights. I have a spare I use for diag. You do not need to evac and recharge to replace it. This sensor is only for a compressor that is starting to lock up and disconnects the clutch to keep from burning off the belt.

    If they are doing a recharge then the system is low to begin and the system won't activate anyway or they are going to put a fresh charge in it or they are adding on stuff.

    I don't know if the system is throwing codes or not so my info is not a diag.
    I'm not there to confirm or deny the issue.

    You asked for info so I gave you some hehehehehe.
    Good luck..
     
  3. Aug 16, 2012 at 11:48 PM
    #3
    tacobert

    tacobert Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Member:
    #70243
    Messages:
    40
    Gender:
    Male
    Vancouver, BC
    Vehicle:
    06 DCSB TRD Offroad
    Did you get this fixed? If so what was the issue? I have the same prob
     

Products Discussed in

To Top