1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Anyone use Alpine double-din head units?

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by Cutter_, Nov 7, 2019.

  1. Nov 7, 2019 at 10:35 AM
    #1
    Cutter_

    Cutter_ [OP] I probably could have googled this

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Member:
    #213600
    Messages:
    979
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2002 Super Air Nautique Build
    Old Man Emu lift, 2 10" JL subs
    https://www.crutchfield.com/S-BRSupN887RE/p_500ILXW650/Alpine-ILX-W650.html

    It seems that the Alpine ILX-W650 has all the features (Apple Car Play, backup camera) of a head-unit I've been looking for, somewhat around my budget (~$250). I don't mind that it doesn't play CD's. Has anyone used this one before? I'm just worried that it's not going to let me use the touchscreen interface while my truck is in motion, the website mentions something about it requiring a connection to the parking brake before I can access additional features on it.

    I'm choosing this over Kenwood/Pioneer because it has the biggest screen and I don't like physical buttons on my head-unit.
     
  2. Nov 8, 2019 at 7:02 AM
    #2
    Glamisman

    Glamisman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2016
    Member:
    #200436
    Messages:
    3,126
    Gender:
    Male
    The issues I have with Double Din is screen glare... call Crutchfield, they are the most helpful stereo people you will EVER find. You might even be able to downkload the manual and read about the disabling of the screen via the parking brake connection to see if it is as they say it is.
     
    BlackTaco! likes this.
  3. Nov 8, 2019 at 8:22 AM
    #3
    Wulf

    Wulf web wheeler

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2015
    Member:
    #147523
    Messages:
    36,685
    First Name:
    Jake
    24400 E Smoky Hill Rd, Aurora, CO 80016
    Vehicle:
    96 Tacoma WIP
    yes
    I have no first hand knowledge but I have heard the parking brake wire can just be grounded so the head unit thinks that the brake is always set
     
    suaveflooder likes this.
  4. Nov 8, 2019 at 8:47 AM
    #4
    adamdsgn

    adamdsgn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Member:
    #266956
    Messages:
    153
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Adam
    Vehicle:
    2003 Tacoma Double-Cab - TRD/4x4
    Don't have the Alpine, but I did install a Pioneer touchscreen Double Din unit with Apple Carplay I purchased from Crutchfield in my 03 DC. Best functional upgrade I have made to the truck. The fitment of the unit was so good it looks factory installed. I don't have an issue with screen glare whatsoever, so I wouldn't be too concerned with that. The truck is so much more functional as a daily driver now that I can do everything handsfree and stream whatever I want thru the speakers. Best of luck!
     
  5. Nov 8, 2019 at 9:19 AM
    #5
    Cutter_

    Cutter_ [OP] I probably could have googled this

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Member:
    #213600
    Messages:
    979
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2002 Super Air Nautique Build
    Old Man Emu lift, 2 10" JL subs
    https://www.google.com/search?rlz=1CDGOYI_enUS731US731&hl=en-US&ei=bKPFXclHlvL6BJG7tPgP&q=alpine+kta-450&oq=alpine+kta&gs_l=mobile-gws-wiz-serp.1.0.0l8.2864.5544..6594...0.1..0.175.1505.15j2......0....1.........0i71j41j0i22i30j33i22i29i30j0i131j46.JCAwCRl8zGU

    This amplifier is made for the back of the stereo. I want to upgrade to a 10” sub with some decent speakers. Can anyone tell me if this amplifier is any good based on the numbers it’s putting out, or is it better to just buy a traditional amplifier?
     
  6. Nov 8, 2019 at 9:29 AM
    #6
    Jakester

    Jakester Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2017
    Member:
    #217942
    Messages:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jacob
    N/A
  7. Nov 8, 2019 at 12:30 PM
    #7
    jbrandt

    jbrandt Made you look

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Member:
    #51038
    Messages:
    15,769
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justin
    Sacramento, CA
    Vehicle:
    '04 TRD Tacoma 4x4 DC
    Kings, J59's Total Chaos UCAs Custom skids Sticker mod
    Sounds like that's an easy enough feature to get around, if you really wanted to. You just need to figure out if the sensor wire from the radio needs to be grounded to allow functionality, or needs voltage, and just do that. Grounding the wire should be easy enough.

    That said, there IS a very good reason this feature is included. It's a safety feature. You shouldn't be staring at your big ol screen playing with buttons and stuff when you're driving anyway. That's literally how people die. I definitely find it annoying that my wife can't enter certain things on my '17 4Runner while I'm driving. My parent's older Tundra used to make you click something like "I'm not the driver" and would allow full functionality, but obviously the driver would just tap it to get around that, defeating the purpose of the safety feature.

    Besides, how much functionality do you REALLY need to have constant access to that can't be done while stopped, or when you first set it up?
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2019
  8. Nov 8, 2019 at 12:33 PM
    #8
    suaveflooder

    suaveflooder Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    Member:
    #245929
    Messages:
    1,162
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2018 TRD Sport
    Correct! This is how I did it in my old car. Just need to ground it
     
  9. Jan 12, 2020 at 3:48 PM
    #9
    Cutter_

    Cutter_ [OP] I probably could have googled this

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Member:
    #213600
    Messages:
    979
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2002 Super Air Nautique Build
    Old Man Emu lift, 2 10" JL subs
    I just bought an ILX w650. Do I need to buy a dash kit trim ring for my 2002?
     

Products Discussed in

To Top