1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Anytimebackupcamera.com Install- Front and Rear Cameras

Discussion in '3rd Gen. Tacomas (2016+)' started by Papadave418, Sep 7, 2018.

  1. Oct 30, 2018 at 6:48 PM
    #241
    Papadave418

    Papadave418 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    Member:
    #224251
    Messages:
    1,343
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    Ripon, Ca
    Vehicle:
    2018 TRD Off-Road Premium Package DCSB Silver Sky
    Ray 10’s & Center Console Organizer!!
    No judgement here, I’ve done that before trying to figure it out and running to the store. I did do all my pigtails ahead of time while YouTube played on my TV. First time is always the hardest, and usually the last time too
     
  2. Oct 30, 2018 at 9:14 PM
    #242
    hrivera007

    hrivera007 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Member:
    #35813
    Messages:
    148
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2017 Off Road Auto
    Thanks, I was getting confused. In the website picture they had the rca with black stripe mark as "Rear cam in", I figured it hooked up to the rear cam.
     
  3. Oct 30, 2018 at 9:26 PM
    #243
    RushT

    RushT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2017
    Member:
    #238171
    Messages:
    1,750
    Gender:
    Male
    North Texas
    Vehicle:
    Inferno DCSB OffRoad
    Mine came with only one loose rca jack. I made the simple conclusion that 'hey, it must be for the new camera'. It was a month or two ago that I read the instructions, thus my desire to just 'plug it all together' and turn it on. Most head unit mods these days are pretty straight forward with connectors. Molex A goes to Molex A'. Molex B goes to Molex B'. Etc. It's the power and switchers that can get a little unclear.

    I'm still stumped on my loss of bluetooth mic. I put in an email to anytimebackupcamera.com to see if he has any suggestions.
     
    hrivera007 likes this.
  4. Nov 2, 2018 at 10:34 AM
    #244
    mobgma

    mobgma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    Member:
    #91006
    Messages:
    178
    Gender:
    Male
    Edmonton, AB, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2016 Toyota Tacoma TRD Double Cab Long Box
    Does kit come with front camera and all hardware for OEM stock grill?
     
  5. Nov 2, 2018 at 11:00 AM
    #245
    RushT

    RushT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2017
    Member:
    #238171
    Messages:
    1,750
    Gender:
    Male
    North Texas
    Vehicle:
    Inferno DCSB OffRoad
    No camera. Just wiring for control. You need to supply camera and switch. You can do that for as low as $20 and as high as $50 depending on who and what you source.
     
  6. Nov 2, 2018 at 11:00 AM
    #246
    SCUBADIVINGJOE

    SCUBADIVINGJOE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2017
    Member:
    #225850
    Messages:
    202
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Vehicle:
    2017 Toyota Tacoma
    Seat covers, LED Low Beams, LED FOG Lamp, Dash Cover, Pop and Lock Tailgate, Tuffy Security Console Insert, Steel Nerf Bars I want to add Hood QuickLIFT ELITE Gas Struts and High Beam LEDs
    OK, for the people that have installed it. I have a 2017 sport, where did you install the front camera? I know on the grill but where, at the bottom of the grill, under the Toyota emblem?
     
  7. Nov 2, 2018 at 11:01 AM
    #247
    RushT

    RushT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2017
    Member:
    #238171
    Messages:
    1,750
    Gender:
    Male
    North Texas
    Vehicle:
    Inferno DCSB OffRoad
    I have a pro grill, and it went right below the Toyota name. Good location for view and hiding.
     
    doublethebass likes this.
  8. Nov 2, 2018 at 11:04 AM
    #248
    Hextall

    Hextall Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    Member:
    #215330
    Messages:
    947
    NH
    Vehicle:
    17 Inferno OR DCSB
    I bought the iNewcow camera on Amazon that slots into the bottom portion of the "T" in the toyota logo on the grill. Fits great.
    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00P2EN5J2/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

    The first camera lasted 6 months or so before breaking (no idea why), and I just bought a replacement. if this one breaks, I'll go to another kind.
     
  9. Nov 2, 2018 at 4:17 PM
    #249
    cruxx

    cruxx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2017
    Member:
    #216831
    Messages:
    857
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Huy
    Vehicle:
    2017 TRD Sport
    I got a flat grill (300 industries) and i put mine above center. I can still see the bumper78A02CCE-BF6E-46F2-B519-D0387DBB80F1.jpg
     
    Papadave418 [OP] and payrow like this.
  10. Nov 3, 2018 at 9:49 PM
    #250
    Pympede

    Pympede Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2017
    Member:
    #213941
    Messages:
    35
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Vehicle:
    2017 DCSB Sport 6MT
    Ugh this is project that never ends!

    Huge thanks to everyone for their help and the many write ups on this thread.

    I installed a front camera with a single push button switch, front camera works great. My issue is that when I go into reverse it flashes the rear camera before showing the front camera. When in reverse the switch doesn't affect anything.

    Any advice on where I went wrong?
     
  11. Nov 4, 2018 at 5:10 AM
    #251
    doublethebass

    doublethebass aspiring well-known member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Member:
    #206252
    Messages:
    1,235
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Antoin
    Minneapolis MN
    Vehicle:
    2017 Super White 6MT TRD Pro
    Pretty sure that’s normal...the way it’s all wired, we’re turning on the rear camera as then overriding it with the front camera. The head unit isn’t quick enough and ends up blinking the rear camera ok the display.

    So I think you’re ok but somebody else can chime in if I’m wrong.
     
    orion808 likes this.
  12. Nov 4, 2018 at 5:54 AM
    #252
    cruxx

    cruxx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2017
    Member:
    #216831
    Messages:
    857
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Huy
    Vehicle:
    2017 TRD Sport
    Post 201
     
    doublethebass likes this.
  13. Nov 4, 2018 at 6:45 AM
    #253
    Pympede

    Pympede Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2017
    Member:
    #213941
    Messages:
    35
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Vehicle:
    2017 DCSB Sport 6MT
    Just to clarify I only have a single push button switch and my issue is that when I go into reverse it shows the front camera regardless of what I do with the front switch.
     
  14. Nov 4, 2018 at 6:53 AM
    #254
    cruxx

    cruxx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2017
    Member:
    #216831
    Messages:
    857
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Huy
    Vehicle:
    2017 TRD Sport
    So you’re rear camera doest work stay on?
     
  15. Nov 4, 2018 at 6:59 AM
    #255
    Pympede

    Pympede Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2017
    Member:
    #213941
    Messages:
    35
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Vehicle:
    2017 DCSB Sport 6MT
    When shifting into reverse the rear camera flashes before switching to the front camera.
     
  16. Nov 4, 2018 at 7:03 AM
    #256
    cruxx

    cruxx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2017
    Member:
    #216831
    Messages:
    857
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Huy
    Vehicle:
    2017 TRD Sport
    I got the full system so i have the double switch, but sounds like you are constantly overriding you’re rear camera with the front camera, even when in reverse. Could be the way you hook up button perhaps. Try calling the owner, he is always helpful. I didnt know you could get the kit for front only. I thought it was rear only or full kit(rear and front)
     
  17. Nov 4, 2018 at 7:34 AM
    #257
    orion808

    orion808 Jack of all trades. Master of none.

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2017
    Member:
    #228617
    Messages:
    564
    Gender:
    Male
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2017 Inferno Tacoma Off-Road (Premium & Tech)
    Interior LEDs Hardwired DashCam/Extra USB Black "Tacoma" on tailgate Blackened Badges Nerf Bars Mud Guards Rear Diff. Breather Mod Plasti-dipped Grille Glovebox Vinyl LED Bed Lights LED soft glow flooring accent lights Custom switches Diamondback Tonneau 3rd Bed Rail Sill Protectors w/ Vinyl Tweeter Upgrades Tint windows Husky Floor Mats Molle Panel behind seats Speaker Upgrades Anytime Camera Mod w/ Secondary Rear Camera Plan: Clazzios 2-3" Lift
    Almost sounds like you have the video cables swapped.

    You have the full kit because you can switch and see the front, but you are not using the anytime rear functionality because you are using a single switch... that sound right?
     
    payrow likes this.
  18. Nov 4, 2018 at 7:39 AM
    #258
    Pympede

    Pympede Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2017
    Member:
    #213941
    Messages:
    35
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Vehicle:
    2017 DCSB Sport 6MT
    That's correct, full kit just for the front camera function, not using the rear cam anytime function
     
  19. Nov 4, 2018 at 7:50 AM
    #259
    cruxx

    cruxx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2017
    Member:
    #216831
    Messages:
    857
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Huy
    Vehicle:
    2017 TRD Sport
    The rca with the black marker is for fromt cam, other than that, try changing over the wires in the back of switch
     
  20. Nov 4, 2018 at 8:15 AM
    #260
    BETX983

    BETX983 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2016
    Member:
    #203492
    Messages:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2017 TRD Off-road
    Install went well. I have the yimu camera. It is displaying only BW. Any suggestions as to how/if I can fix or do I have a bad unit? My first instinct is to re-verify the supply voltage is adequate...

    Any others encounter/resolve this problem?
     

Products Discussed in

To Top