1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

AppRadio 3 and S/O B-8PTD Install

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by jlleiber, Apr 24, 2014.

  1. Apr 24, 2014 at 9:25 AM
    #1
    jlleiber

    jlleiber [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Member:
    #43646
    Messages:
    436
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justin
    Indiana
    Vehicle:
    2019 MGM TRD Sport DC 4x4
    Just installed a new Pioneer App Radio 3 with a Sound Ordnance B-8PTD compact powered subwoofer. I also added in the metra ASWC-1 steering wheel controls, which synced itself right to my truck after wiring it up. I used the black metra dash kit and the look and fit is great. Surprisingly, I used the white clips and plastic brackets that came with it and was able to get it to fit way better than I could with the yellow stock clips (which seems to be everyone's solution to making the metra kit fit). No rattle/bounce or anything.

    With the appradio and my rooted HTC one, I can mirror and control my entire phone on the headunit. It's hella-sweet. I ran the connection cables down below the front console cubby and pushed the cable through there. I also contact cemented some vinyl down there to cover my drill marks and give the phone something soft to rest on. Upclose, it looks kinda meh, but from passenger/driver side it looks good.

    Subwoofer fits completely under the driver seat. I had to unbolt the seat, lean it back, position the sub, then put the seat back down. For now I just have the bass knob sitting on the left of the driver seat. I rarely adjust it so it's fine right there for now. I may grab some velcro and just attach it to the seat.

    Install was easy (just lots of wire stripping/crimping) and everything obviously sounds so much better than stock.

    Oh I did the mod someone posted about tapping the OEM backup camera as well. It works but the video has faint horizontal lines that continuously scroll up the screen so I go back and forth between using it and just using the rear view mirror since I'm used to looking up there anyways.

    IMAG0045.jpg
    IMAG0047.jpg
    IMAG0048.jpg
    IMAG0049.jpg
    IMAG0039.jpg
    IMAG0040.jpg
    IMAG0041.jpg
    IMAG0042.jpg
     
  2. Apr 24, 2014 at 12:12 PM
    #2
    LEX

    LEX --- --- --- - ----

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Member:
    #9991
    Messages:
    3,577
    Gender:
    Male
    Houston, Texas
    Vehicle:
    100 Series LC
    Nice. I've been considering the same HU.
     
  3. Apr 25, 2014 at 8:12 AM
    #3
    jlleiber

    jlleiber [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Member:
    #43646
    Messages:
    436
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justin
    Indiana
    Vehicle:
    2019 MGM TRD Sport DC 4x4
    Definitely worth it if you root your phone for it. But straight out of the box it doesn't have many features other than bluetooth
     
  4. Apr 25, 2014 at 12:41 PM
    #4
    ItalynStylion

    ItalynStylion Sounds Gooooood

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Member:
    #18467
    Messages:
    5,798
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steven
    DFW, Tx.
    Vehicle:
    09 Double Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    What android version are you running on the HTC?
     
  5. Apr 25, 2014 at 2:06 PM
    #5
    jlleiber

    jlleiber [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Member:
    #43646
    Messages:
    436
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justin
    Indiana
    Vehicle:
    2019 MGM TRD Sport DC 4x4
    It's stock 4.4.2 with HTC's sense 6.0. I thought about trying some other Roms but the stock one is pretty slick already
     
  6. Apr 25, 2014 at 2:15 PM
    #6
    smgcon

    smgcon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Member:
    #110836
    Messages:
    136
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Geoff
    Vernon, BC
    Vehicle:
    2013 DBC
    I had the faint scrolling lines when I tapped into the video feed for the camera to relocate it to the Head Unit. I checked all my connections and had a bad one on the rear of the radio - damaged pin on the radio connector. Once I redid that, the lines went away.
     
  7. Apr 27, 2014 at 10:15 AM
    #7
    GuY0NaUniCORN

    GuY0NaUniCORN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Member:
    #66820
    Messages:
    81
    Gender:
    Male
    STG
    Vehicle:
    '06 BSP TRD Off-Road
    Pretty sure this is an appradio 2...the appradio 3 has added a dvd/cd player to it :)
     
  8. Apr 27, 2014 at 10:50 AM
    #8
    jlleiber

    jlleiber [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Member:
    #43646
    Messages:
    436
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justin
    Indiana
    Vehicle:
    2019 MGM TRD Sport DC 4x4
    They have two versions of the AR3. One with and one without the CD/DVD. It's $100 less for the one without
     
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2014
  9. Apr 29, 2014 at 5:27 AM
    #9
    ItalynStylion

    ItalynStylion Sounds Gooooood

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Member:
    #18467
    Messages:
    5,798
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steven
    DFW, Tx.
    Vehicle:
    09 Double Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    Good to know. Reason being is mine quit working on me. It won't connect. Pioneer is saying it's because my OS is too new and I'm not even on 4.4.2 yet. I think the connection unit has failed and or the unit itself is bad. Thank you for the response!
     
  10. Apr 29, 2014 at 7:30 AM
    #10
    jlleiber

    jlleiber [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Member:
    #43646
    Messages:
    436
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justin
    Indiana
    Vehicle:
    2019 MGM TRD Sport DC 4x4
    Damn that stinks. I wonder if there's a pioneer update or something you can put on it. Maybe since mine is newer it shipped with the update already?
     
  11. Apr 29, 2014 at 1:32 PM
    #11
    ItalynStylion

    ItalynStylion Sounds Gooooood

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Member:
    #18467
    Messages:
    5,798
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steven
    DFW, Tx.
    Vehicle:
    09 Double Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    I got mine in December so mine should be fairly new too. I'm calling those bastards next week when I have time lol!
     
  12. Apr 30, 2014 at 5:23 AM
    #12
    jlleiber

    jlleiber [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Member:
    #43646
    Messages:
    436
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justin
    Indiana
    Vehicle:
    2019 MGM TRD Sport DC 4x4
    haha yeah that's pretty weird. Did you change the ROM or anything on your phone and which phone are you using? I'm using literally the newest phone on the market (HTC One M8) and newest android OS..
     
  13. Apr 30, 2014 at 5:39 AM
    #13
    ItalynStylion

    ItalynStylion Sounds Gooooood

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Member:
    #18467
    Messages:
    5,798
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steven
    DFW, Tx.
    Vehicle:
    09 Double Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    I'm using the HTC One from April of last year and I'm on 4.3

    Worst part is the thing USED to connect just fine! Now it doesn't. I'm totally at a loss here. It's gotta be the unit.
     
  14. Apr 30, 2014 at 5:42 AM
    #14
    jlleiber

    jlleiber [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Member:
    #43646
    Messages:
    436
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justin
    Indiana
    Vehicle:
    2019 MGM TRD Sport DC 4x4
    Yeah since nothing changed on your end it only makes sense that the hear unit or cable went bad. That's a bummer though
     
  15. May 21, 2014 at 3:54 PM
    #15
    AJO432

    AJO432 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Member:
    #130268
    Messages:
    57
    Gender:
    Male
    Midwest
    Vehicle:
    '14 MGM DCSB 4x4 TRD OR
    do the phone controls on the steering wheel still work with the app radio 3?
     
  16. May 21, 2014 at 5:48 PM
    #16
    jlleiber

    jlleiber [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Member:
    #43646
    Messages:
    436
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justin
    Indiana
    Vehicle:
    2019 MGM TRD Sport DC 4x4
    Yeah they do. On mine, the volume +/- works and the up/down changes tracks on my phone. It works with music on my phone, spotify, and pandora. Pressing mode changes between all the modes on the radio
     
  17. May 22, 2014 at 6:13 AM
    #17
    tacoglock19

    tacoglock19 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Member:
    #126188
    Messages:
    440
    Gender:
    Male
    Jawja
    Vehicle:
    2019 Nissan Frontier SV V6 4x4
    Stock as shit!
    I am running a Note 3 rooted stock 4.4.2 with the AR Unchained APK on my AVH-X8500BHS and it works flawlessly. Not sure if you are talking about AppRadio 2 or 3 though?

    I had to re-install the APK once or twice because it quit working on me at first. Haven't had it happen in a while though.
     
    Last edited: May 22, 2014
  18. May 23, 2014 at 8:20 AM
    #18
    ItalynStylion

    ItalynStylion Sounds Gooooood

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Member:
    #18467
    Messages:
    5,798
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steven
    DFW, Tx.
    Vehicle:
    09 Double Cab TRD Sport 4x4
    Yeah my app was fine and I think the phone was too. I sent my Appradio3 in to be fixed at Pioneer. I tracked it yesterday online and it said it had been fixed and shipped out. It didn't say WHAT was fixed though. I guess I'll wait and see what I get back lol!
     
  19. May 23, 2014 at 8:35 AM
    #19
    jlleiber

    jlleiber [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Member:
    #43646
    Messages:
    436
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justin
    Indiana
    Vehicle:
    2019 MGM TRD Sport DC 4x4
    Hopefully they got it worked out for ya. One thing I've noticed is that some dust has gotten behind the actual screen. You guys notice that on yours? Not really sure how to prevent it and it drives me crazy seeing dust I can't wipe off
     
  20. May 23, 2014 at 8:41 AM
    #20
    tacoglock19

    tacoglock19 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Member:
    #126188
    Messages:
    440
    Gender:
    Male
    Jawja
    Vehicle:
    2019 Nissan Frontier SV V6 4x4
    Stock as shit!
    I haven't noticed that on mine but I think it is an older model than what you guys have.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top