1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

ARB Compressor won't run

Discussion in 'Technical Chat' started by Kyitty, Oct 16, 2017.

  1. Oct 16, 2017 at 5:34 PM
    #1
    Kyitty

    Kyitty [OP] Mr. Beard

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Member:
    #149179
    Messages:
    9,590
    Gender:
    Male
    Bozeman, MT
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tacoma DCLB Better Than TRD
    See Build Page
    Leaving for Moab first thing tomorrow. Discovered tonight my air compressor won't kick on. The lighted switch for it in the can lights when i flip it on. But no dice.

    Best I can find online there should be a 40amp fuse for this thing?

    I have a 60 amp, 5 amp, and a 15amp under the hood. None look burnt. Don't have a volt meter.

    Any suggestions?

    Could the relay itself be bad?
     
  2. Oct 16, 2017 at 5:38 PM
    #2
    fxntime

    fxntime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Member:
    #167977
    Messages:
    1,097
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tacoma off road TRD and 2014 FJC
    No meter? A flashlight bulb, a battery and a piece of wire works fine if you can't physically tell. A bit fiddly but it works. Just use the fuse as a path back to the battery, you may need three hands though.

    Never hurts to give the motor a thump with a rubber mallet sometimes, especially if it's been a while using it.
     
  3. Oct 16, 2017 at 5:38 PM
    #3
    ScottyR

    ScottyR Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    Member:
    #171708
    Messages:
    631
    Gender:
    Male
    Vancouver BC
    Vehicle:
    2016 DCLB TRD Sport
    Hard to nail it down without a volt meter
     
  4. Oct 16, 2017 at 5:42 PM
    #4
    Kyitty

    Kyitty [OP] Mr. Beard

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Member:
    #149179
    Messages:
    9,590
    Gender:
    Male
    Bozeman, MT
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tacoma DCLB Better Than TRD
    See Build Page
    I'm not sure where the fuse actually is. I didn't wire my stuff. All these wires bundled together makes it difficult to see where shit goes. LoL
     
  5. Oct 16, 2017 at 6:03 PM
    #5
    Kyitty

    Kyitty [OP] Mr. Beard

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Member:
    #149179
    Messages:
    9,590
    Gender:
    Male
    Bozeman, MT
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tacoma DCLB Better Than TRD
    See Build Page
    60 amp fuse is good. Need to rule out the relay.

    Auto parts shop is damn busy tonight. LoL
     
  6. Oct 16, 2017 at 6:24 PM
    #6
    Kyitty

    Kyitty [OP] Mr. Beard

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Member:
    #149179
    Messages:
    9,590
    Gender:
    Male
    Bozeman, MT
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tacoma DCLB Better Than TRD
    See Build Page
    Relay is good and is getting power.

    Rubber mallet didn't work.
     
  7. Oct 17, 2017 at 8:06 AM
    #7
    paranoid56

    paranoid56 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Member:
    #83443
    Messages:
    3,216
    Gender:
    Male
    San Diego
    Vehicle:
    14 double cab taco
    is the relay getting switched power or the battery one? (huge red or small red)
    you should have two large fuses right at the battery from the dual red 10ga wires that feed each compressor.
    next up would be to check the grounds on the compressor.
     
  8. Oct 17, 2017 at 8:11 AM
    #8
    jessandjamie

    jessandjamie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2013
    Member:
    #119190
    Messages:
    329
    Gender:
    Male
    Arizona
    There is also a pressure cutoff switch on the compressor that could have failed.
     
    rob1208 likes this.
  9. Oct 17, 2017 at 3:27 PM
    #9
    rob1208

    rob1208 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Member:
    #137169
    Messages:
    1,889
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rob
    SF Bay Area
    Vehicle:
    2014 Toyota Tacoma DCSB MGM TRD OR
    TRD Supercharger AFE CAI ProDryS ADS 2.5 Remote Resi Shocks ADS Rear Piggy Back 10" Travel Shocks ADS 2.0 Rear Hydro Bump Kit Deaver U402 Leaf Pack + Add a Leaf MCM Fab Uniball UCAs TC Spindle Gussets BAMF 100% Bolt On Sliders BAMF 1/4" Steel Skid Trilogy BAMF Diff Diaper Brute Force Fab Hybrid Front Bumper with Warn VR10000-s Winch Brute Force Fab High Clearance Dual Swingout Rear Bumper Custom Car Grills Mesh Grill Insert Stealth Custom Series SR8 - Matte Black 16x8 285/75/16 Toyo Tires Open Country AT2 Relentless Fabrication Ditch Light Bracket Mounts 2x2 Ditch Lights Apex Fab Works Flush Lower Grill Light Bar Mounts Caliraised 32" Light Bar Tech Deck Extreme Vagabond Outdoors Drifter
    this would be my next guess.
     
  10. Oct 19, 2017 at 4:19 PM
    #10
    joeyv141

    joeyv141 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Member:
    #176710
    Messages:
    1,033
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joey
    New Orleans
    Vehicle:
    08 DCLB 4x4 V6 TRD Sport
    planning in progress
    dont know about these compressors but with the switch on you should check for voltage at the connector for the compressor with the red lead and the black lead on ground. should read 12V DC if wires are good.

    for a meter at least go buy the cheap ass harbor freight multi meter.
     
    Ritchie likes this.
  11. Oct 22, 2017 at 10:20 PM
    #11
    Kyitty

    Kyitty [OP] Mr. Beard

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Member:
    #149179
    Messages:
    9,590
    Gender:
    Male
    Bozeman, MT
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tacoma DCLB Better Than TRD
    See Build Page
    Sorry for the delay. Been doing the Moab thing.

    I picked up a new pressure switch at Moab Outpost. Everything runs like a top now.

    EDIT: Just to expand on my troubleshooting in case anyone finds this thread. Once I got to Moab the compressor seemed to work suddenly. But it wouldn't run consistently (run cycle for a second and shut off). If I jiggled the chuck into the air plugin just right now and then it would cycle for a second. So I bought a new Pressure Switch from Moab Outpost ($21) and replaced that. Now it runs just fine.
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2017
    SR-71A and ScottyR like this.
  12. Sep 16, 2020 at 5:44 PM
    #12
    IamMachines

    IamMachines Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016
    Member:
    #194215
    Messages:
    416
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kyle
    Flagstaff AZ
    Vehicle:
    2017 Black Tacoma 4x4 DCLB
    https://www.tacomaworld.com/threads/2017-tacoma-4x4-dc-lb-adventure-truck.449483/
    This just happened to me. Are these thing prone to fail?

    I have had this thing for a year, no issues. I removed the inline ARB gauge and just went with the threaded adapter as Im tired of standing there by the tire. Started the compressor. I wanted to test how long it would take to air up my tire from 5 to 35 psi. It ran fine until about 20psi, then began starting and stopping constantly.

    Ordered a new pressure switch,have to see what happens.
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2020
  13. Sep 17, 2020 at 1:45 AM
    #13
    Wyoming09

    Wyoming09 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Member:
    #153833
    Messages:
    14,314
    Gender:
    Male
    New Tripoli Pa
    Vehicle:
    2000 Work truck 5 speed 4x4 3.4
    Super Springs
    Quite easy to test the pressure switch before replacing .

    Good luck
     
  14. Nov 16, 2020 at 11:47 AM
    #14
    Shampstar

    Shampstar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2016
    Member:
    #177220
    Messages:
    74
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Aaron
    Vehicle:
    2015 white trd sport
    How do you test pressure switch
     
  15. Nov 16, 2020 at 12:59 PM
    #15
    ShimStack

    ShimStack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Member:
    #74701
    Messages:
    835
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    NC
    Vehicle:
    '98 Ext Cab V6 5speed, '16 DC OR M/T V6 Locked F/R
    KM2's, shocks
    Air pressure on the switch above limit pressure it will not have continuity between the terminals and at pressures below the limit it will.
     
  16. Nov 16, 2020 at 2:19 PM
    #16
    Shampstar

    Shampstar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2016
    Member:
    #177220
    Messages:
    74
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Aaron
    Vehicle:
    2015 white trd sport
    So what are you saying I'm testing is that what it should be
     
  17. Nov 16, 2020 at 2:23 PM
    #17
    Shampstar

    Shampstar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2016
    Member:
    #177220
    Messages:
    74
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Aaron
    Vehicle:
    2015 white trd sport
    I have the cksa 12 and just for lockers, so compressor and locker are on 1 switch. The switch lights up but compressor doesn't kick on
     
  18. Nov 16, 2020 at 2:32 PM
    #18
    Shampstar

    Shampstar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2016
    Member:
    #177220
    Messages:
    74
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Aaron
    Vehicle:
    2015 white trd sport
    sorry i don't understand, what I'm testing pressure switch screws in and has 2 prongs
     
  19. Nov 16, 2020 at 3:07 PM
    #19
    ShimStack

    ShimStack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Member:
    #74701
    Messages:
    835
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    NC
    Vehicle:
    '98 Ext Cab V6 5speed, '16 DC OR M/T V6 Locked F/R
    KM2's, shocks
    Wow.

    Those 2 "prongs" are the terminals. The thing is a switch. If the air pressure in the system it is screwed in to is below about 85 psig then the two terminals will have continuity. That is when the switch is "on". When the air pressure is above about 85 psig the two terminals will not have continuity and that is when the pressure switch is "off". Your switch in the cab is the 2nd switch on the same line. Both switches must be "on" to complete the circuit on the relay which then runs the compressor.
     
  20. Nov 16, 2020 at 3:13 PM
    #20
    Shampstar

    Shampstar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2016
    Member:
    #177220
    Messages:
    74
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Aaron
    Vehicle:
    2015 white trd sport
    Sorry didn't quite understand
     

Products Discussed in

To Top