1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Ask the Electrician

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Discussion' started by Alexb03, Jan 6, 2012.

  1. Feb 21, 2014 at 10:44 PM
    #141
    Geem750

    Geem750 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Member:
    #76861
    Messages:
    558
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brandon
    Okanagan, BC
    Vehicle:
    07 DCLB
    Grillcraft grill, ultimate toytek 3" lift, shorty antenna, blacked out badges, rear diff breather, Kenwood 6990 HU, wet okoles, weather techs, extra D-rings, Cruisin offroad bolt on sliders, Treklights 18" LED bar
    Just noticed this thread, i just got my Red Seal ticket in Canada here back in June 2013 :D
     
  2. Feb 22, 2014 at 8:54 AM
    #142
    File IFR

    File IFR "... Intercepting The Localizer"

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Member:
    #74145
    Messages:
    2,978
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Central MA
    Vehicle:
    2012 MGM 4X4 DC-LB TRD Sport

    Is that an electrician's license?
     
  3. Feb 22, 2014 at 9:59 AM
    #143
    Saskquatch11

    Saskquatch11 TRUCK YEAH

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Member:
    #55548
    Messages:
    13,154
    From red-seal.ca \/\/\/

    The Interprovincial Standards Red Seal Program (also known as the Red Seal Program) was established more than 50 years ago to provide greater mobility across Canada for skilled workers. Today it represents a standard of excellence for industry. Through the Program, tradespersons are able to obtain a Red Seal endorsement on their provincial/territorial certificates by successfully completing an interprovincial Red Seal examination. The Interprovincial Standards Red Seal Program acknowledges their competence and ensures recognition of their certification throughout Canada without further examination. There are currently 55 Red Seal designated trades.
     
  4. Feb 22, 2014 at 1:16 PM
    #144
    Geem750

    Geem750 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Member:
    #76861
    Messages:
    558
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brandon
    Okanagan, BC
    Vehicle:
    07 DCLB
    Grillcraft grill, ultimate toytek 3" lift, shorty antenna, blacked out badges, rear diff breather, Kenwood 6990 HU, wet okoles, weather techs, extra D-rings, Cruisin offroad bolt on sliders, Treklights 18" LED bar
    Yes, im a Journeyperson.
     
  5. Feb 22, 2014 at 4:14 PM
    #145
    File IFR

    File IFR "... Intercepting The Localizer"

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Member:
    #74145
    Messages:
    2,978
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Central MA
    Vehicle:
    2012 MGM 4X4 DC-LB TRD Sport
    I went to a vocational school for my highschool years and Electrical was my first choice. I ended up with my second choice for carpenrty and did that for a few years.

    ...yes, I wanted to be an electrician. I think it's a great trade to know.
     
  6. Feb 24, 2014 at 6:37 PM
    #146
    isu2014

    isu2014 RAT Products

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Member:
    #35140
    Messages:
    12,523
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Farmington, MN
    Vehicle:
    01 SUPERCHARGED TRD OR MANUAL 4x4 V6
    View the build. Too much to list.
    Got a question for someone knowledgable... Right now my 120v outlets are on 10 amp breakers. All the wires are buried in the walls so I can't easily tell what gauge the wire is. I want to upgrade 1 breaker to 20 amp. What is the best way to confirm what gauge the wires are? I can pull a duplex if needed.
     
  7. Feb 24, 2014 at 7:43 PM
    #147
    Rich91710

    Rich91710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73470
    Messages:
    16,493
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    08 Base
    Satoshi with FJ badge, factory cruise, factory intermittent wipers, Redline Tuning hood-lift struts, Hellwig Swaybar, Rosen DVD-Nav
    When was the home built? I haven't seen 10a breakers since glass screw-in fuses went out of use.

    You could pull a few outlets, but I'd go to the breaker panel and check there.

    Keep in mind that the breakers must match the panel... there are a number of different designs and the wrong breaker, even if it "fits", is against code.
     
  8. Feb 24, 2014 at 7:49 PM
    #148
    isu2014

    isu2014 RAT Products

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Member:
    #35140
    Messages:
    12,523
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Farmington, MN
    Vehicle:
    01 SUPERCHARGED TRD OR MANUAL 4x4 V6
    View the build. Too much to list.
    It's actually not too old, maybe 20 years tops? It's a detached garage. It has 100 amp service coming in, then 3 10 amp square d breakers. I added a 50 amp 220v breaker already and I will either add a 20 amp 120v or switch one of the 10s if the wire is big enough. All the romex is gone from the wires inside the panel so I can't read what wire size is.
     
  9. Feb 24, 2014 at 7:53 PM
    #149
    File IFR

    File IFR "... Intercepting The Localizer"

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Member:
    #74145
    Messages:
    2,978
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Central MA
    Vehicle:
    2012 MGM 4X4 DC-LB TRD Sport
    I'm not an electrician, but I can tell you that putting a 20 amp breaker on 14 Ga. romex is bad news in the eyes of an inspector and insurance folks.... see what Sask has to say about that. :)

    You can pull a receptacle to see what gauge you wire is... or the easiest way it to do it is pull the panel cover off and determine right there at the existing breakers.


    The licensed guys will chime in and correct me if I'm wrong, but I think you can put a 15 amp breaker in place of the 10 amp for your existing 14 Ga. romex.
     
  10. Feb 24, 2014 at 8:01 PM
    #150
    isu2014

    isu2014 RAT Products

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Member:
    #35140
    Messages:
    12,523
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Farmington, MN
    Vehicle:
    01 SUPERCHARGED TRD OR MANUAL 4x4 V6
    View the build. Too much to list.
    I'm not trying to upgrade anything that isn't capable. I rent the building, so burning it down isn't something I'm willing to risk. I need to run a 15 amp motor intermittently, so a 20 amp breaker would do me fine. I highly doubt the existing wire is all 12 awg wire though.
     
  11. Feb 24, 2014 at 8:03 PM
    #151
    File IFR

    File IFR "... Intercepting The Localizer"

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Member:
    #74145
    Messages:
    2,978
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Central MA
    Vehicle:
    2012 MGM 4X4 DC-LB TRD Sport

    The slightly thicker wire will be 12ga. on the 20 amp breaker(s) vs. the thinner 14ga. wires on the 10-15 amp breaker(s).

    You won't see the sheathing as it's been stripped at the Romex connector into the panel.

    Nowadays yellow romex is 12 ga. and white romex is 14 ga... and orange romex is 10 ga.
     
  12. Feb 24, 2014 at 8:08 PM
    #152
    File IFR

    File IFR "... Intercepting The Localizer"

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Member:
    #74145
    Messages:
    2,978
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Central MA
    Vehicle:
    2012 MGM 4X4 DC-LB TRD Sport

    Snap in a 15 amp breaker, but be sure to get the screw good and tight at the breaker's teminal.... that makes a difference being tight.


    I think you'll be good with a 15.
     
  13. Feb 24, 2014 at 8:12 PM
    #153
    Saskquatch11

    Saskquatch11 TRUCK YEAH

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Member:
    #55548
    Messages:
    13,154
    you could check the gauge with T strippers if you have a pair.
    if it's 14AWG you could go up to a 15A breaker.
    20A would require 12AWG wire.
     
  14. Feb 24, 2014 at 8:21 PM
    #154
    isu2014

    isu2014 RAT Products

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Member:
    #35140
    Messages:
    12,523
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Farmington, MN
    Vehicle:
    01 SUPERCHARGED TRD OR MANUAL 4x4 V6
    View the build. Too much to list.
    Thanks guys. I was thinking of using my strippers to figure out wire size. I will check it out tomorrow and decide what I want to do.
     
  15. Feb 24, 2014 at 8:42 PM
    #155
    neonlazer

    neonlazer Mechanically Goofy

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Member:
    #65333
    Messages:
    2,536
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeffrey
    Lafayette, LA
    Vehicle:
    '12 DCSB 4x4 SR5
    Quick question, Will the earth explode due to the fact that me being a wiring novice in training, used green wire nuts, which I now know are only supposed to be used for ground,(they have a hole in the end for the solid ground to go through) to wire up most of the wires including the ground? Two goofs, one knowing a good bit and another being certified failed to tell me they had a special ground wire nut only used for ground.

    It's nice when you learn something useful right after you wire up a bunch of receptacles, boxes, and lights, but he said it would be ok.

    :cookiemonster:
     
  16. Feb 24, 2014 at 8:48 PM
    #156
    TXPRO4X4

    TXPRO4X4 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Member:
    #66093
    Messages:
    2,807
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bryan
    Costa Mesa, CA
    Vehicle:
    2011 4x4 TX/pro debadged
    Front emblem led lighting. Under front bumper led rock lighting. Center counsel c.b mod with under the hood p.a Anytime foglight mod R.G.B tape light for inside toekick lighting. Front and back. CJumpers 700 lumens LED reverse lights. Front weathertech floor mats. De-Baged except TOY on tailgate. FJ style 6 speed shifter knob. Rubber tacoma bed mat. Trd exhaust. Trd 16in beadlocker style wheels
    The earth will not explode.
    the hole in the top of the wirenut is for a cleaner pigtail of the wires.
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2014
  17. Feb 24, 2014 at 9:17 PM
    #157
    Rich91710

    Rich91710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73470
    Messages:
    16,493
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    08 Base
    Satoshi with FJ badge, factory cruise, factory intermittent wipers, Redline Tuning hood-lift struts, Hellwig Swaybar, Rosen DVD-Nav
    But the Super's blood pressure might ;)

    Electricity doesn't care what color it is in.
    If the wire nut is the proper size for the number and gauge of conductors, it's legal.
    Insulation color is governed by code. Wire nut color generally is not (there may be some municipalities with restrictions on the use of green).
     
  18. Feb 24, 2014 at 9:26 PM
    #158
    File IFR

    File IFR "... Intercepting The Localizer"

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Member:
    #74145
    Messages:
    2,978
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Central MA
    Vehicle:
    2012 MGM 4X4 DC-LB TRD Sport

    In MA we need greens (only) for the grounds.

    A new rule is out... at least here anyway, when you double up two 12-3 ga. wires, a red staple (1 1/2" long) is required to the stud/surface. No more using blues for doubling 12-3 ga.
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2014
  19. May 6, 2014 at 10:29 AM
    #159
    dexdawg

    dexdawg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Member:
    #42628
    Messages:
    130
    Gender:
    Male
    Frederick, MD
    Vehicle:
    2010 DC SB OFF-ROAD
    I have a 400a service that separates into 2 side by side 200a panels. I'm going to wire a portable generator into one of my panels. In the opposite panel there are a few circuits I want to move into the generator fed panel.

    Can I splice the wires in one panel and go out and back into the other panel with same size romex and land on new breakers? I'm sure I can splice inside panel after reading nec 312.8 but I'm more concerned with running romex out and back into the other panel.
     
  20. May 6, 2014 at 5:20 PM
    #160
    Geem750

    Geem750 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Member:
    #76861
    Messages:
    558
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brandon
    Okanagan, BC
    Vehicle:
    07 DCLB
    Grillcraft grill, ultimate toytek 3" lift, shorty antenna, blacked out badges, rear diff breather, Kenwood 6990 HU, wet okoles, weather techs, extra D-rings, Cruisin offroad bolt on sliders, Treklights 18" LED bar

    In the Canadian code, you can splice inside a panel. Im not entirely sure if its only for the purpose of extending the wire to reach a breaker inside that panel only or not.

    So long as the romex (we call it lumex) is run up high (above 4 feet i believe) and out of the way from mechanical damage then it should be fine. so if you top feed both panels that'll work. coming out of the side, id use armored cable or EMT pipe
     
To Top