1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Ask the Electrician

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Discussion' started by Alexb03, Jan 6, 2012.

  1. Saskquatch11

    Saskquatch11 TRUCK YEAH

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Member:
    #55548
    Messages:
    13,116
    IMO the preferred method would be to pull the circuits you want to move and make the splices outside of the the panel in a junction box.
    Are you installing a transfer switch for the generator?

    The way I interpret that rule you can make splices in a panel as long as the wiring being added does not leave the enclosure.

    ...1.5m (59")
     
  2. Round II

    Round II Member #12005

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Member:
    #70777
    Messages:
    4,242
    Gender:
    Male
    Yes you can wire NM from one panel to the other, but why not just run some carflex/Liquid tight and use THHN. It just makes for a better install IMO. Oh and not that you were gonna forget but make sure you add some sort of interlock if you plan on back-feeding from a portable genny.;)
     
  3. dexdawg

    dexdawg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Member:
    #42628
    Messages:
    130
    Gender:
    Male
    Frederick, MD
    Vehicle:
    2010 DC SB OFF-ROAD
    I had some left over 12 and 14 gauge romex so I spliced inside panel and ran it to the other panel. I will be using a Square D interlock kit so I can run my cable through inlet box and 30a breaker inside my panel.


     
  4. ppham444

    ppham444 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Member:
    #34175
    Messages:
    1,457
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Phuong
    Portland, OR
    Vehicle:
    2010 Double cab 4X4 TRD Sport with JBL
    Redline Tuning hood struts, tinted windows, FX-R HID projector retrofit headlights, AMP power steps
    Hey guys, I need help with a problem. Last week, the light switch in my bedroom burned out. The wires inside were fried. It tripped the breaker. Well, I replaced the burned wires and put in a new light switch. When I turned the breaker back on, I was able to operate the lights, but now the outlets on three of my bedroom walls have no power. I tried to reset the breakers and checked the outlets, but the wires in there are fine. Where should I be looking next?
     
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2014
  5. Greenbergler

    Greenbergler Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Member:
    #70331
    Messages:
    2,014
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Corey
    Orange County, CA
    Vehicle:
    08 4x4 SR5
    Is there a gfi plug around? Or are the plugs spliced into the hot on the switch and it's a loose connection? Do the plugs work with the light switch on? I doubt that it's either of the two but you never know...
     
  6. ppham444

    ppham444 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Member:
    #34175
    Messages:
    1,457
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Phuong
    Portland, OR
    Vehicle:
    2010 Double cab 4X4 TRD Sport with JBL
    Redline Tuning hood struts, tinted windows, FX-R HID projector retrofit headlights, AMP power steps
    Nope, there aren't any gfi in this house. I'm not sure how the home is wired up. The light switch works and one wall outlet works. The other three wall outlets have no power.
     
  7. Greenbergler

    Greenbergler Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Member:
    #70331
    Messages:
    2,014
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Corey
    Orange County, CA
    Vehicle:
    08 4x4 SR5
    Hmm doesn't make sense to me. The plugs should have nothing to do with the switch. It's hard to say without seeing it
     
  8. TXPRO4X4

    TXPRO4X4 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Member:
    #66093
    Messages:
    2,221
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bryan
    Costa Mesa, CA
    Vehicle:
    2011 4x4 TX/pro debadged
    Front emblem led lighting. Under front bumper led rock lighting. Center counsel c.b mod with under the hood p.a Anytime foglight mod. R.G.B tape light for inside toekick lighting. Front and back. CJumpers 700 lumens LED reverse lights. Front weathertech floor mats De-Baged except TOY on tailgate
    You might have lost the neutral to the plugs when something happened with your switch, do you have a plug tester? If so plug it in and hopefully a light or 2 shines on your tester. And let's you know.
     
  9. ppham444

    ppham444 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Member:
    #34175
    Messages:
    1,457
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Phuong
    Portland, OR
    Vehicle:
    2010 Double cab 4X4 TRD Sport with JBL
    Redline Tuning hood struts, tinted windows, FX-R HID projector retrofit headlights, AMP power steps
    Neutral is the white wire, right?
     
  10. Greenbergler

    Greenbergler Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Member:
    #70331
    Messages:
    2,014
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Corey
    Orange County, CA
    Vehicle:
    08 4x4 SR5
    Yessir
     
  11. File IFR

    File IFR "... Intercepting The Localizer"

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Member:
    #74145
    Messages:
    2,843
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Central MA
    Vehicle:
    2012 MGM 4X4 DC-LB TRD Sport
    How did you replace the wire with finished walls? Was it the line or load side you replaced?
     
  12. ppham444

    ppham444 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Member:
    #34175
    Messages:
    1,457
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Phuong
    Portland, OR
    Vehicle:
    2010 Double cab 4X4 TRD Sport with JBL
    Redline Tuning hood struts, tinted windows, FX-R HID projector retrofit headlights, AMP power steps
    Just the ends that go into the switch. I used those twisting caps to connect my wires that go from the main line into my switch.
     
  13. Greenbergler

    Greenbergler Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Member:
    #70331
    Messages:
    2,014
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Corey
    Orange County, CA
    Vehicle:
    08 4x4 SR5
    Did you pull new wire? Or just replace the little peices that are like 8" long?
     
  14. DEEVON911

    DEEVON911 Semi-pro

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Member:
    #35030
    Messages:
    11,550
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    Bethel Park, PA. Burb of the Burgh.
    Vehicle:
    2010 MGM Mostly Stock Off-Road 4x4
    TRD Cat-back Exhaust. Semi-Debadged. Shorty 8 in. Antenna. Weathertech vent visors. TRD FJ Cruiser Center Cap Wheel Mod. Nitto Terra Grapplers. Inverter tapped into for outlet in cab. Tacomaworld sticker which adds 5 hp.
    Wire nuts.

    Are you able to post a pic of what's inside the box where the switch is? Maybe we can spot something.
     
  15. Got2ryde

    Got2ryde Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Member:
    #77982
    Messages:
    553
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryder
    Maryland
    Vehicle:
    AC OR 6spd silverstreak
    Off Road tow pac. GTCovers wetskinz seat covers, Direct wired Escort 9500xi, Leer 180 w/ARB awning, bed mat, extra d-rings, rear dif breather relocated, Weathertec mats, Elite front with Warn M8000-s and Rigid D2's, BAMF sliders, ABS killswitch, Kicker Hideaway sub, UltraGauge, ATO rear with flush mount duallys, FJ Trail Team black rims w/Duratracs.
    Hey all. Wondering what your thoughts are on Generac generators. Liquid versus air cooled. The motherboard in our old unit is fried and I've been quoted about $3k to repair it. Motor is strong but the output is low and run speed is fast. I'd like to think it has some salvage value. I've been quoted $8k for a 22kw air cooled Generac and about $13k for a 22kw liquid cooled. These prices are up and running.
    Thx.
     
  16. ppham444

    ppham444 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Member:
    #34175
    Messages:
    1,457
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Phuong
    Portland, OR
    Vehicle:
    2010 Double cab 4X4 TRD Sport with JBL
    Redline Tuning hood struts, tinted windows, FX-R HID projector retrofit headlights, AMP power steps
    Yeah, I replaced the sections of the wire that was burned. Then I connected the new wire to the old wire using wire nuts.

    I'll see if I can post a pic behind the new switch in little later.
     
  17. DEEVON911

    DEEVON911 Semi-pro

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Member:
    #35030
    Messages:
    11,550
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    Bethel Park, PA. Burb of the Burgh.
    Vehicle:
    2010 MGM Mostly Stock Off-Road 4x4
    TRD Cat-back Exhaust. Semi-Debadged. Shorty 8 in. Antenna. Weathertech vent visors. TRD FJ Cruiser Center Cap Wheel Mod. Nitto Terra Grapplers. Inverter tapped into for outlet in cab. Tacomaworld sticker which adds 5 hp.
    Ok. Question for the electricians. So 2 nights ago I smell an electrical burning. I was sitting at my computer at the time, and I was messing around with it. So after searching the house I chalked it up to the computer which is older. The smell dissipated, so without finding the source there was not much to do.

    Today, I just happened to being doing some work on the dryer and found this :
    [​IMG]

    So what would cause this? The dryer was not on at the time. In fact it hasn't been used in a few days because the washer is broke.

    I haven't had any surges that I know of. Nothing else has been affected if I did.

    I know a little about wiring. Comfortable working with most stuff, switching plugs, running wire, switching out a.breaker etc...

    I just don't have a clue why this would happen. And obviously don't want it to happen again or worse have a fire. Should I just change the.plug out? Dryer still works by the way.
     
  18. Large

    Large Red

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Member:
    #63268
    Messages:
    15,565
    Gender:
    Male
    Loose wire, that looks like the neutral one of the hot wires (receptacle is upside down)
     
  19. DEEVON911

    DEEVON911 Semi-pro

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Member:
    #35030
    Messages:
    11,550
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    Bethel Park, PA. Burb of the Burgh.
    Vehicle:
    2010 MGM Mostly Stock Off-Road 4x4
    TRD Cat-back Exhaust. Semi-Debadged. Shorty 8 in. Antenna. Weathertech vent visors. TRD FJ Cruiser Center Cap Wheel Mod. Nitto Terra Grapplers. Inverter tapped into for outlet in cab. Tacomaworld sticker which adds 5 hp.
    Loose wire on the dryer?
     
  20. Large

    Large Red

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Member:
    #63268
    Messages:
    15,565
    Gender:
    Male
    Loose wire inside the receptacle will cause it to get hot and melt (in part or whole). I would meg the wires (if you have a megger) and if they are good, cut off 6" of the wiring and make new terminations with a new receptacle.
     
To Top