1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

ATEQ tpms reset tool

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by jloe, Jan 2, 2011.

  1. Jan 2, 2011 at 2:08 PM
    #1
    jloe

    jloe [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Member:
    #47921
    Messages:
    59
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    john
    syracuse ny
    Vehicle:
    SR5 2.7 4x4
    TRD alloys, Cooper Tires, Clairion sound, Weathertech floorliners,AVS bugshield,Toyota Toolbox,secondary air filter delete,tailgate antitheft mod,Afe pro dry filter,fog light mod Leather interior mod
    Does anyone know if this tool works on 2011 tacoma tpms? Auto parts warehouse application guide says it dosent.
     
  2. Jan 31, 2011 at 5:16 PM
    #2
    bdd151

    bdd151 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Member:
    #49186
    Messages:
    92
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    New Jersey
    Vehicle:
    2011 DCLB
    3" Toytec Ultimate Lift Kit with Dakar Rear Springs, LR UCA's, AFE Catback, Weather Tech Floor Liners, Truxedo Lo Pro QT Tonneau Cover, Tacoma bed mat, Katzkin Leather interior, heated seats, Nfab nerf bars and light bar.
    I got an email back from ATEQ today who stated that it would work.
     
  3. Jan 31, 2011 at 5:34 PM
    #3
    bdd151

    bdd151 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Member:
    #49186
    Messages:
    92
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    New Jersey
    Vehicle:
    2011 DCLB
    3" Toytec Ultimate Lift Kit with Dakar Rear Springs, LR UCA's, AFE Catback, Weather Tech Floor Liners, Truxedo Lo Pro QT Tonneau Cover, Tacoma bed mat, Katzkin Leather interior, heated seats, Nfab nerf bars and light bar.
    So you just stuck the new sensors in the new rims and havent activated them yet?
     
  4. Jan 31, 2011 at 6:15 PM
    #4
    bdd151

    bdd151 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Member:
    #49186
    Messages:
    92
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    New Jersey
    Vehicle:
    2011 DCLB
    3" Toytec Ultimate Lift Kit with Dakar Rear Springs, LR UCA's, AFE Catback, Weather Tech Floor Liners, Truxedo Lo Pro QT Tonneau Cover, Tacoma bed mat, Katzkin Leather interior, heated seats, Nfab nerf bars and light bar.
    hmmm.....yeah...that's what I thought too! And then you would have to program the ECU. Are the sensors you purchased brand new?
     
  5. Jan 31, 2011 at 6:44 PM
    #5
    KPT

    KPT sees what you did there.

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Member:
    #22227
    Messages:
    32,339
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner
    Katskin leather interior, Satoshi grille, Bilstein 5100's @ 1.75, rear leaf TSB, magnaflow exhaust, 18x9 BBS RW's, 275/65/18 Nitto TG's, black headlights, black taillights, Hella Supertones, weathertechs, EFX tri-fold tonneau, n-Fab steps
    The system only looks for the sensors every so often. Drive for a little while longer and the light will come on.
     
  6. Jan 31, 2011 at 6:53 PM
    #6
    KPT

    KPT sees what you did there.

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Member:
    #22227
    Messages:
    32,339
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    09 Prerunner
    Katskin leather interior, Satoshi grille, Bilstein 5100's @ 1.75, rear leaf TSB, magnaflow exhaust, 18x9 BBS RW's, 275/65/18 Nitto TG's, black headlights, black taillights, Hella Supertones, weathertechs, EFX tri-fold tonneau, n-Fab steps
    Trust me it will. Mine did the same thing.

    Are the sensors still in your old tires? Are they near where your truck is parked at night? If so, that will make it take even longer for the light to come on.
     
  7. Feb 1, 2011 at 2:12 AM
    #7
    bdd151

    bdd151 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Member:
    #49186
    Messages:
    92
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    New Jersey
    Vehicle:
    2011 DCLB
    3" Toytec Ultimate Lift Kit with Dakar Rear Springs, LR UCA's, AFE Catback, Weather Tech Floor Liners, Truxedo Lo Pro QT Tonneau Cover, Tacoma bed mat, Katzkin Leather interior, heated seats, Nfab nerf bars and light bar.
    Since you tires are new, wouldn't you have to get the sensors scanned first to take them out of the shipping or sleep mode?
     
  8. Feb 1, 2011 at 5:00 AM
    #8
    Simon's Mom

    Simon's Mom Wag More Bark Less

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Member:
    #1297
    Messages:
    9,320
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Judy or Jude :)
    SBurl Vermont
    Vehicle:
    13 TRD OR DC MGM
    Stock for now
    I have parked overnight 40 miles away from my stored tires/rims/sensors & the light hasn't triggered. Its been this way the last 4 years swapping out my winter/summer rim/tire setup. I only run one set of sensors (winter set).

    One time in the summer it triggered a light to let me know a tire in storage was low lol...
    When the light does trigger..say longer trip (miles+time) it resets overnight on its own when I get home.
     
  9. Feb 3, 2011 at 3:39 AM
    #9
    bdd151

    bdd151 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Member:
    #49186
    Messages:
    92
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    New Jersey
    Vehicle:
    2011 DCLB
    3" Toytec Ultimate Lift Kit with Dakar Rear Springs, LR UCA's, AFE Catback, Weather Tech Floor Liners, Truxedo Lo Pro QT Tonneau Cover, Tacoma bed mat, Katzkin Leather interior, heated seats, Nfab nerf bars and light bar.
    I spoke to tire rack and they stated the senors would need to be scanned.
     
  10. Feb 3, 2011 at 4:48 AM
    #10
    Simon's Mom

    Simon's Mom Wag More Bark Less

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Member:
    #1297
    Messages:
    9,320
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Judy or Jude :)
    SBurl Vermont
    Vehicle:
    13 TRD OR DC MGM
    Stock for now
    There are only 5 spots in the system for tpms sensor Ids.
    Right now your truck has your oem sensor codes in the system (the ones not on the truck).
    They are close enough the system is reading them & life is good.
    The new sensors IDs need to get into the system via the reset tool.
    The old sensor IDs come out, the new scanned ones go in.
    The system will no longer synch your old sensors since there is only room for 5.
    (originally toyota was putting 5 sensors on the truck).
    The scan/reset tool saves you from having to go to the dealer or other place to have this done.
    http://www.ncttora.com/fsm/05+/data/ileaf/06toyrm/06toypdf/06rmsrc/rm2006ta/040002.pdf
     
  11. Feb 3, 2011 at 6:59 AM
    #11
    bdd151

    bdd151 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Member:
    #49186
    Messages:
    92
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    New Jersey
    Vehicle:
    2011 DCLB
    3" Toytec Ultimate Lift Kit with Dakar Rear Springs, LR UCA's, AFE Catback, Weather Tech Floor Liners, Truxedo Lo Pro QT Tonneau Cover, Tacoma bed mat, Katzkin Leather interior, heated seats, Nfab nerf bars and light bar.
    I found the scan tool (ATEQ VT15) on a website for $150.00 and then the ATEQ Quick Set Tool for $107.00. $257.00 before you purchase the new sensors and get the tires mounted, what a rip off!
     
  12. Mar 11, 2011 at 3:04 PM
    #12
    jloe

    jloe [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Member:
    #47921
    Messages:
    59
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    john
    syracuse ny
    Vehicle:
    SR5 2.7 4x4
    TRD alloys, Cooper Tires, Clairion sound, Weathertech floorliners,AVS bugshield,Toyota Toolbox,secondary air filter delete,tailgate antitheft mod,Afe pro dry filter,fog light mod Leather interior mod
    I think I'm going to try the pipe bomb method.
     
  13. Mar 24, 2011 at 8:49 PM
    #13
    Comatose2002

    Comatose2002 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Member:
    #49003
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Regina, Saskatchewan
    Vehicle:
    4X4 SR5
    I just received my Ateq Auickset tool today with V3.01 Beta softwre (the latest apparently). Tacoma isn't even an option when adding a new vehicle. Aybody know what versions work?
     
  14. Apr 17, 2012 at 1:45 PM
    #14
    Taco Taco

    Taco Taco Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    Member:
    #63778
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    TRD Sport PreRunner
    Ordered this tool December 2011 for use on a 2011 TRD Sport Prerunner.

    This tool and software Did Not work for me. Tried several times to place the new codes into the ECM and it looked like they were there. Drove around a lot as this is supposed to reset the TPMS light. Found the tool and software to be a bit of a joke. Online support was terrible.
    In the end I was out shipping both ways, $29.00 for a tire shop with a real TPMS tool to reset the system (without the driving around part) and a tank of gas.

    The only good thing I can say is that "Bruno" had no problem with me retuning the tool to him for a refund.

    I find that for a safety feature such as this Toyota has gone out of it's way to encourage folks to bypass the system or to just allow the light to remain on. Too cumbersome and too expensive in my opinion.

    Richard
     
To Top