1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

ATF Temp Guage

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by Wildboar1945, Mar 6, 2010.

  1. Mar 6, 2010 at 12:55 PM
    #1
    Wildboar1945

    Wildboar1945 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Member:
    #23301
    Messages:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    So. CA
    Vehicle:
    '05 DC 4X4 TRD Sport w/tow pkg
    Workman canopy by Vision, Tow mirrors by ME
    I'd like to know if anyone out there has tried replacing the ATF drain plug with a sending unit and temp guage. I do a lot of towing and would like to be able to keep an eye on the fluid temperature rather than relying on the factory sensor which, if I understand correctly, simply tells the computer to put the engine in some sort of "safe mode" if the temp gets out of range. Several searches on TW revealed no answers so I thought I'd give it a shot. Any help greatly appreciated!
     
  2. Mar 6, 2010 at 12:58 PM
    #2
    TRDKenE

    TRDKenE DAMN GOOD DEAL!!

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Member:
    #19348
    Messages:
    698
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kenny
    Richmond, Virginia
    Vehicle:
    '10 D-CAB OFF-ROAD 4X4
    TRD CAI, GrillCraft.
    sounds like a good idea...if im not mistaken aeroforce makes a guage which will monitor trans temp. someone correct me if im wrong.
     
  3. Mar 6, 2010 at 1:09 PM
    #3
    Wildboar1945

    Wildboar1945 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Member:
    #23301
    Messages:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    So. CA
    Vehicle:
    '05 DC 4X4 TRD Sport w/tow pkg
    Workman canopy by Vision, Tow mirrors by ME
    Thanks Ken! I already have a line on the guage kit I just need to know if there are any issues with replacing the drain plug with the sending unit. All new to me!
     
To Top