1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Audio Help; LC7i install

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by _gray_knight_, Mar 6, 2019.

  1. Mar 6, 2019 at 6:30 PM
    #1
    _gray_knight_

    _gray_knight_ [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Member:
    #41508
    Messages:
    1,434
    Gender:
    Male
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    '18 Cement TRD OR
    Nothing crazy!
    Hey TW, seeking and hoping I be able get input on my project. I'm not new to the audio stuff or modding in general but haven't be able to find a solid answer on this. I've reached out to AudioControl as well and awaiting their response.

    Back ground, '18 OR non JBL system. Keeping the Entune HU. I've already swapped out all the speakers to kickers. Wire harness acquired from ********* for speaker level out to the component and back into to factory speaker wiring to cut out the need to run new wiring, will be running my speakers below 75w RMS. Putting in my stealthbox I had from my 2gen along with a Alpine PDR-V75.

    The LC7i requires a max 2 amp power feed. Question about how that can be achieved. Is it ok to get the constant +12v from behind the headunit wire? Or do "add a fuse" at the radio fuse? I know I can run an inline fuse directly from the battery but since the amp draw is so small, why not get it from another location I believe is OK to work with. Are either locations sufficient enough for the LC7i to operate with no ill effect else where all the while reduce and have one less thing connected at the battery terminal under the hood.





     
  2. Mar 6, 2019 at 6:42 PM
    #2
    destin_meeks

    destin_meeks I fix people's crappy stereos

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Member:
    #223997
    Messages:
    2,013
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Destin
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    Vehicle:
    2017 SSM DoubleCab TRD Off-Road 4x4
    Perfectly fine to get power wherever you want. In most cases, the LC7i will be located near the amp due to its size. It’s not a small device for sure. If it’s located next to the amp, grab power and ground from the amp.
    If it’s located behind the radio somehow, you can grab power and ground there.
     
    xxTacocaTxx likes this.
  3. Mar 6, 2019 at 6:56 PM
    #3
    _gray_knight_

    _gray_knight_ [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Member:
    #41508
    Messages:
    1,434
    Gender:
    Male
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    '18 Cement TRD OR
    Nothing crazy!
    Thanks for the input. I read that some people were getting a popping noise when they initially power up their system. Is that due to the power source and or ground source they could be using?
     
  4. Mar 6, 2019 at 7:01 PM
    #4
    destin_meeks

    destin_meeks I fix people's crappy stereos

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Member:
    #223997
    Messages:
    2,013
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Destin
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    Vehicle:
    2017 SSM DoubleCab TRD Off-Road 4x4
    There are lots of things that can cause that. I’ve learned to never worry about turn-on pop until you actually have it. You’ll drive yourself crazy trying to avoid every single problem that can happen.
     
    _gray_knight_ [OP] likes this.
  5. Mar 6, 2019 at 7:38 PM
    #5
    _gray_knight_

    _gray_knight_ [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Member:
    #41508
    Messages:
    1,434
    Gender:
    Male
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    '18 Cement TRD OR
    Nothing crazy!
    @destin_meeks appreciate the input. Gonna do add a fuse at the fuse block using the radio fuse location. :)
     
  6. Mar 7, 2019 at 6:44 AM
    #6
    flattie

    flattie Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Member:
    #257986
    Messages:
    44
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2018 Silver Tacoma TRD OR DCLB
    xxTacocaTxx likes this.
  7. Mar 7, 2019 at 7:25 AM
    #7
    destin_meeks

    destin_meeks I fix people's crappy stereos

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Member:
    #223997
    Messages:
    2,013
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Destin
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    Vehicle:
    2017 SSM DoubleCab TRD Off-Road 4x4
    Not a stupid question. You can absolutely do that. Although one of those is overkill. You can run the lc7i’s power, ground, and remote straight to the amp. No need for a distribution block really. If your power wire to the LC7i is only a few inches, it’s all good. If it’s a few feet or longner, that’s when fuses get introduced.
     
    xxTacocaTxx likes this.
  8. Mar 7, 2019 at 7:32 AM
    #8
    _gray_knight_

    _gray_knight_ [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Member:
    #41508
    Messages:
    1,434
    Gender:
    Male
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    '18 Cement TRD OR
    Nothing crazy!
    So power line (80amp inline fuse) straight to the main amp (2/4/5 channel amp) and to give power to the LC7i (2 amp fuse needed) it's ok to just wire the LC7i straight up if the units are next to each out with no inline fuse for the LC7i or inline fuse is still warranted due to 2 amp rating of the LC7i?
     
  9. Mar 7, 2019 at 10:08 AM
    #9
    destin_meeks

    destin_meeks I fix people's crappy stereos

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Member:
    #223997
    Messages:
    2,013
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Destin
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    Vehicle:
    2017 SSM DoubleCab TRD Off-Road 4x4
    straight up is fine. the fuse is there to protect the wire, not the device. so when dealing with such a short wire run, there isn't enough wire to be worried about.
    If you are concerned about it though, grab one of these and it will make you sleep better at night

    https://www.amazon.com/10-Pack-EPAu...e&qid=1551982043&s=gateway&sr=8-2-spons&psc=1
     

Products Discussed in

To Top