1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Audio install

Discussion in '3rd Gen. Tacomas (2016-2023)' started by Scarab, Nov 29, 2020.

1. Nov 29, 2020 at 9:43 PM
    Scarab

Scarab [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    Vehicle:
    2017 White Tacoma TRD Pro
    I finally had enough of the factory speakers, non JBL, in my Taco. The biggest issue was the lack of bass. I looked at various options including OEM Audio Plus. That looked like a great plug and play system with good reviews but the price was a little more than what I wanted to spend. I ended up building my own system, mind you I have no audio install experience. This forum was a great resource and I just wanted to share what i did.

General parts used:
    - Kicker subaru tweeters
    - Kicker CS speakers
    - Kicker Comp RT 12" sub
    - Kenwood Excelon 5 channel amp
    - Metra T harness made using this helpful guide, https://www.tacomaworld.com/threads/tpp4s-no-nonsense-guide-to-kicker-key-t-harness-16-19.642415/ (I had to modify mine slightly as I was not going to a Kicker Key amp). Also, I don't think this T harness works on the latest model of Tacos because I believe the pinouts are different. I have a 17 Taco as a reference.
    - Cables such as speedwire, AMP cable, etc.