1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Auto Tranny Fluid Confusion

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by bajaracer, Oct 10, 2008.

  1. Oct 10, 2008 at 6:28 PM
    #1
    bajaracer

    bajaracer [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Member:
    #7228
    Messages:
    384
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Charly
    Chandler
    Vehicle:
    06 PRERUNNER DBLCAB SPORT 4.0
    AEM DRY BRUTE FORCE, FLOWMASTER 50 SERIES,285/70/17 BFG'S AT KO'S MOTO METALS 17X8 3" REVTEK, SOUND SYSTEM
    Guys I need your help... I decided to change my auto tranny oil on my 01 3.4 Prerunner by just removing the oil pan bolt and was expecting about 4 to 5 liters to drain as told by some of you guys who had done this procedure BUT instead only about and liter and half (1.5) came out. What gives????Idont see any other bolt abound the oil pan???? Help.
     
  2. Oct 10, 2008 at 6:54 PM
    #2
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,132
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Pull the dip stick out a little bit to equalize the pressure in the tranny.
     
  3. Oct 10, 2008 at 7:02 PM
    #3
    bajaracer

    bajaracer [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Member:
    #7228
    Messages:
    384
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Charly
    Chandler
    Vehicle:
    06 PRERUNNER DBLCAB SPORT 4.0
    AEM DRY BRUTE FORCE, FLOWMASTER 50 SERIES,285/70/17 BFG'S AT KO'S MOTO METALS 17X8 3" REVTEK, SOUND SYSTEM
    it was partially removed,,,
     
  4. Oct 10, 2008 at 7:05 PM
    #4
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,132
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    To change it a better way is to pull the pan off, and change the filter as well. What part of Phoenix are you in? Maybe I can lend a hand.
     
  5. Oct 10, 2008 at 7:11 PM
    #5
    bajaracer

    bajaracer [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Member:
    #7228
    Messages:
    384
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Charly
    Chandler
    Vehicle:
    06 PRERUNNER DBLCAB SPORT 4.0
    AEM DRY BRUTE FORCE, FLOWMASTER 50 SERIES,285/70/17 BFG'S AT KO'S MOTO METALS 17X8 3" REVTEK, SOUND SYSTEM
    baseline and 51ave,,, only about 1.5 qts came out,, i am at a friends house in mesa and fear that i mite have messed things up. I poured in close to what came out.
     
  6. Oct 10, 2008 at 7:18 PM
    #6
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,132
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    I dont think you messed anything up. If you ever feel the need, let me know if I can be of help. :)
     
  7. Oct 10, 2008 at 7:21 PM
    #7
    bajaracer

    bajaracer [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Member:
    #7228
    Messages:
    384
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Charly
    Chandler
    Vehicle:
    06 PRERUNNER DBLCAB SPORT 4.0
    AEM DRY BRUTE FORCE, FLOWMASTER 50 SERIES,285/70/17 BFG'S AT KO'S MOTO METALS 17X8 3" REVTEK, SOUND SYSTEM
    thanx,, i appreciate your help.
     
  8. Oct 10, 2008 at 9:24 PM
    #8
    VeeRFour05

    VeeRFour05 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Member:
    #9412
    Messages:
    43
    When you just pull the drain that's all you'll get out. There is fluid in the TC, valve bodies, etc etc. You usually will only get about a quarter to half of the trans' total capacity. You didn't mess anything up. I wouldn't bother droping the filter and changing that unless the fluid hasn't been changed in a while and was pretty dirty.

    Service manual calls for 1.7qts to 2.5qts depending on the trans for a drain and refill.
     
  9. Oct 11, 2008 at 4:24 PM
    #9
    bucs1fan

    bucs1fan Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Member:
    #9776
    Messages:
    15
    Mount Dora, Fl
    Vehicle:
    PreRunner TRD SR5
    What is really the best way to change ATF. Drain and Fill, Remove pan and drain and fill, flush and fill. There are so many methods on how to change ATF. I don't get which one is the best.
     
  10. Oct 11, 2008 at 5:26 PM
    #10
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,132
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    I always remove the pan. Change the filter and fluid that is left. OR, you can have it flushed. Im not sure how I feel about the "Tranny Flush". It does replace 99% of the fluid, but it does so by "Back flushing" the fluid out of your tranny. This can bring the crap stuck in the filter back into the system. BUT, I have no proof of this.
     
  11. Oct 11, 2008 at 10:13 PM
    #11
    tacomaman06

    tacomaman06 Carolina Alliance: Enforcer

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Member:
    #1475
    Messages:
    26,258
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Will
    York,South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    '16 Tundra TRD Pro
    getting there....
    this is how i did mine on my 04.....drained the fluid then dropped the pan. wanted to get it all totally clean. even though i didnt get anything from the torque converter.....now, i'll get a full flush since i cleaned the filter really well.

    also, when i drained mine..........around 5 quarts came out.
     
  12. Oct 12, 2008 at 7:24 AM
    #12
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,132
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Now that is precisely what I think is the best. Drop the pan, clean/replace filter, THEN flush the whole thing. :thumbsup:
     
To Top