1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Auto vs. standard 6 speed trans????? what are your thoughts??

Discussion in 'Towing' started by 88 burban, Sep 25, 2012.

1. Sep 25, 2012 at 9:49 PM
    88 burban

88 burban [OP] Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Justin
    Santa Fe, NM
    Vehicle:
    Currently a 88 Burban w/ 8" lift,
    Hello everyone,
    I am new to this awesome website!!

So I am currently shopping around for a used Tacoma (2004 - 2008)... 4x4 with the TRD package and tow package....

here is my dilemma..... I do not know which transmission I should go with...???
    I am use to off-roading and pulling with a V8 suburban... now I know better than to try to pull what my suburban can!!!

For those of you out there that have the Auto trans (V6)... how does the tacoma handle? taking off, up hills, or when off-roading and your tires are simi-covered by sand or mud.... is there enough power to spin the tires and keep on trucking through those tough off-roading conditions?????

And those of you with the manual trans...... how does the clutch hold up while taking off at a light with a trailer behind you?? or even in rough off-road conditions??

My concern is that I dont want to be under powered with an Automatic trans but I also don't want to have clutch issues??

Any help at this point would be great...

2. Sep 26, 2012 at 8:07 AM
    shemp

shemp Well-Known Member

Member: