1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

AVN6620 in a 2009 Installation tip

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by POSDCORB, Jul 16, 2008.

  1. Jul 16, 2008 at 4:01 PM
    #1
    POSDCORB

    POSDCORB [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Member:
    #6700
    Messages:
    41
    My truck is a 2009 double cab, non-jbl, SR5, TRD Sport. I installed an Eclipse AVN6620 last night. Everything worked, including the steering wheel controls...or so I thought. I left for work this morning and turned on the cruise control then tried to set it, it wouldn't set. A little while later the check engine light and traction control light came on.

    A call to Eclipse resulted in the answer "unplug the steering wheel controls." I did that and now the cruise works and the warning lights are gone. I've lost use of the steering wheel controls, and since I'm too lazy to get the wiring done that's the way it is going to stay.

    Thought I'd throw this out there in case someone else installs one. Other than that the installation was relatively easy. Except mounting the Sirius satellite radio components. Right now it's all in the glove box, but hopefully this weekend the parts will be mounted behind the glove box somewhere.
     
  2. Jul 16, 2008 at 5:46 PM
    #2
    Burns

    Burns Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Member:
    #1871
    Messages:
    3,665
    Gender:
    Male
    NJ
    Vehicle:
    Truck is Sold
    Thanks for the heads-up, does your stock radio play mp3's? If so you going to sell it?
     
  3. Jul 16, 2008 at 6:05 PM
    #3
    brkin_th_habt

    brkin_th_habt Gunny

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Member:
    #4905
    Messages:
    18
    Vehicle:
    '08 Tacoma PreRunner SR5
    Eclipse AVN-6620 w/iPod/HDRadio/Rear Camera
    I dont know if I was lucky with my '08 or you were unlucky with your '09 but my steering controls worked fine with the AVN6620 installed.

    I didnt go with the satellite components yet, but just as a heads up there wasnt a good spot for the iPod converter behind the glove box due to limited space. As I didnt feel like taking my dash completely apart to find a good mounting point I decided it was just easier to take out the center console and mount it under there. I have an auto so if you have a manual I cant say for sure; but you should be able to find all the space you need in this location without cramming pieces into the dash.

    Just out of curiosity, where did you end up mounting your navigation antenna, I ran mine to the right side on the dash (once again to lazy to take the dash apart right now).
     
  4. Jul 16, 2008 at 6:28 PM
    #4
    POSDCORB

    POSDCORB [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Member:
    #6700
    Messages:
    41
    I think part of the reason with the '09 is they must have changed the stereo somewhat to add the audio input. The Eclipse tech guys (I talked to two because my cell phone dropped the call) both said the same thing after about 5 seconds into my explanation.

    Sorry, I'm not selling the stock unit, going to keep it so I can return the truck to stock and keep the AVN when I sell it in a few years. Besides, you can probably get an aftermarket stereo that sounds better. The AVN6620 was a huge improvement over the stock.
     
  5. Jul 16, 2008 at 8:04 PM
    #5
    Anthony

    Anthony San Antonio Detailer :)

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Member:
    #6464
    Messages:
    860
    Gender:
    Male
    Houston - Spring/Tomball area
    Vehicle:
    06 prerunner access cab 2.7L M5
    Nfabs Afe Pro Dry UWS linex'd toolbox
    where did you get your avn6620... what kinda of deal did you get?

    im headunit shopping :D
     
  6. Jul 16, 2008 at 8:21 PM
    #6
    lsocoee

    lsocoee My hair is all natural Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Member:
    #872
    Messages:
    10,165
    First Name:
    Hotdog
    Vehicle:
    2007 PreRunner SR5 Double Cab
    Wet Okole Underwear
    were you able to re-route your aux input to the stock plug?
     
  7. Jul 17, 2008 at 8:56 AM
    #7
    Chickenmunga

    Chickenmunga Nuggety

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Member:
    #5877
    Messages:
    6,946
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Hillsboro, Oregon
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Offroad DC 4x4 (read the build)
    I think there might be a few tricks to getting the steering controls working just right - had it installed by a car audio shop and first time around, they wouldn't work when I turned my lights on. A trip back to the store and some shop time got it up and running. You might try the12volt.com for answers.
     
  8. Jul 17, 2008 at 2:55 PM
    #8
    POSDCORB

    POSDCORB [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Member:
    #6700
    Messages:
    41
    I don't think the aux input will work since there is no option for it on the 6620's source menu...unless I'm missing something. It's fine with me since I have the sirius hooked up, dvd, it reads MP3 discs, and I can always go back to low tech am/fm if needed :)
     
  9. Jul 17, 2008 at 2:56 PM
    #9
    POSDCORB

    POSDCORB [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Member:
    #6700
    Messages:
    41
    The head unit works great and sounds good, so I think I'll just get used to pushing buttons with my right index finger instead of my left thumb. Cheaper that way :). Eclipse said wiring it directly would work.

    On a side note, anyone know a good place to hook into constant power, not switched? I hooked the sirius receiver box up to the fuse panel and I didn't realize that the saved channels are in the sirius unit, not the AVN6620. Now I need to find a place to hook into constant power to keep the saved chanels. Is the entire fuse panel under the dash switched power? Is there someplace behind the glove box to hook into constant power?
     
  10. Jul 17, 2008 at 3:01 PM
    #10
    POSDCORB

    POSDCORB [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Member:
    #6700
    Messages:
    41
    I went with cartronixplus.com. Took about a week to get here and it cost around $869 if I remember right. I was going to order it from sonicelectronix.com but their web site said it was not in stock. I think they price match.
     
  11. Jul 18, 2008 at 7:50 AM
    #11
    Burns

    Burns Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Member:
    #1871
    Messages:
    3,665
    Gender:
    Male
    NJ
    Vehicle:
    Truck is Sold

    Ok thanks man. :thumbsup:
     
  12. Jul 18, 2008 at 8:11 AM
    #12
    007Tacoma

    007Tacoma I dub thee malicious!

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Member:
    #643
    Messages:
    6,664
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    2015 4Runner Trail Edition Premium
    Cloaking Device
    Why not just get the constant power off the vehicle harness for the radio (should be a red wire). That is what I did on my old XM setup + Pioneer deck. It worked just fine.

    Question: does the Eclipse deck come with a coaxial hookup for wired remote, or is it pronged like the OEM plug is/was?
     
  13. Jul 18, 2008 at 6:57 PM
    #13
    POSDCORB

    POSDCORB [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Member:
    #6700
    Messages:
    41
    I used all the original connectors since the stock radio is also made by Fujitsu.
     
  14. Jul 18, 2008 at 11:03 PM
    #14
    Chickenmunga

    Chickenmunga Nuggety

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Member:
    #5877
    Messages:
    6,946
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Hillsboro, Oregon
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Offroad DC 4x4 (read the build)
    huh, that's interesting - my stock deck was a Panasonic.
     
  15. Jul 19, 2008 at 10:41 PM
    #15
    POSDCORB

    POSDCORB [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Member:
    #6700
    Messages:
    41
    I could be wrong, but from the other posts on this forum, I decided on the Eclipse and the stock harness did plug right in.
     
  16. Jul 20, 2008 at 10:50 PM
    #16
    Chickenmunga

    Chickenmunga Nuggety

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Member:
    #5877
    Messages:
    6,946
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Hillsboro, Oregon
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Offroad DC 4x4 (read the build)
    It's entirely possible that Toyota gets each different deck (standard, 6 disc, so on) made by a different vendor, or that there isnt' a specific vendor they use; or that they switched companies for '09. I just assumed that they had a deal with one company.
     
  17. Jul 22, 2008 at 6:14 AM
    #17
    007Tacoma

    007Tacoma I dub thee malicious!

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Member:
    #643
    Messages:
    6,664
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    2015 4Runner Trail Edition Premium
    Cloaking Device
    That's a logical assumption. Unfortunately corporations tend to make what seems like illogical decisions. :(
     
  18. Nov 6, 2008 at 7:56 PM
    #18
    Altec914

    Altec914 ALTEC 914

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Member:
    #9265
    Messages:
    33
    Gender:
    Male
    florida
    Vehicle:
    prerunner
    I just bought a AVN 5510 Eclipse for my 08 dc. Would you have the wiring diagram for the non JBL system?

    Thanks
     
  19. Nov 6, 2008 at 8:43 PM
    #19
    wcm608

    wcm608 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Member:
    #6348
    Messages:
    102
    Gender:
    Male
    Pittsburgh, Pa
    Vehicle:
    08 DC LB 4x4 SR5 Impulse Red
    Found this posted by someone else.




    VSS:found at the ECM behind the glove box, second plug from the bottom, pin 8 or a VIOLET/WHITE wire at the fuse box in a 13 pin plug in pin 5 OR purple/white left of the fuse box in a black connector

    Reverse wire: under the door sill molding on driver's side...red with a white stripe.

    Miscellaneous:
    Radio 12v blue/yellow + radio harness
    Radio Ground brown - radio harness
    Radio Ignition gray + radio harness
    Radio Illumination green + radio harness
    Factory Amp Turn-on N/A
    Power Antenna N/A
    LF Speaker +/- pink - purple +,- radio harness or amplifier
    Notes: If equipped, the amplifier is on the passenger side rear cabin wall.
    RF Speaker +/- lt. green - blue +,- radio harness or amplifier
    LR Speaker +/- black - yellow +,- radio harness or amplifier
    RR Speaker +/- red - white +,- radio harness or amplifier
     
To Top