1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Avoiding fuse tap / add a fuse / dash cam install

Discussion in '3rd Gen. Tacomas (2016+)' started by In2Ndo, Apr 19, 2021.

  1. Apr 19, 2021 at 9:54 AM
    #1
    In2Ndo

    In2Ndo [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Member:
    #37630
    Messages:
    285
    Gender:
    Male
    Simi Valley, CA
    Vehicle:
    MGM 2021 Tacoma TRD OR
    Hi All,

    Will be receiving a Thinkware U1000 2 channel and was wondering if there are empty fuse slots that can be used to avoid a fuse tap. The camera requires a constant and an ignition connection.
    Going to have it professionally installed but want to be somewhat informed about it. because they usually default to the camera's instructions and will just tap a fuse.
    I think if the camera can have it's own power supply. it would be a cleaner installation.
    This is going into a 2021 TRD OR DC.

    Thanks
     
  2. Apr 19, 2021 at 9:56 AM
    #2
    shakerhood

    shakerhood Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Member:
    #161370
    Messages:
    30,943
    Gender:
    Male
    Southern Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2017 MGM DCSB Off Road, 6 Speed MT, P&T
    If you won't ever be towing there is a harness tucked away on the drivers side kick panel and you may be able to find power in one of those wires.
     
  3. Apr 19, 2021 at 10:27 AM
    #3
    vicali

    vicali Chilling at YMH

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Member:
    #37503
    Messages:
    1,947
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    mike
    Kam,BC
    Vehicle:
    2017 TRD Sport 1D6
    There is a switched empty slot on the inside fuse panel, put the constant on an addafuse with the HAZ.
    That's the cleanest you're going to get.
     
  4. Apr 19, 2021 at 10:39 AM
    #4
    malatx

    malatx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2020
    Member:
    #336090
    Messages:
    283
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD Sport DCSB MT Cement (SOLD)
    I got the exact same camera in the mail today, and I'm planning on tapping into the dome light fuse with add-a-fuse and meso custom tall fuse cover to avoid having to cut the OEM fuse cover.

    Any particular reason to avoid add-a-fuse?
     
  5. Apr 19, 2021 at 10:50 AM
    #5
    Rock Lobster

    Rock Lobster knows nothing, yet an expert in everything.

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2018
    Member:
    #275833
    Messages:
    5,405
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Dee Eff Dub
    Vehicle:
    Sport Crew represent
    If it's getting professionally installed, I'd rather do the fuse tap than whatever they decide to splice into when you tell them to stay away from the fuse box.

    To an installer, speed is what pays the bills, not quality. And they try not to sacrifice speed when the customer starts making special requests.
     
    vicali likes this.
  6. Apr 19, 2021 at 10:51 AM
    #6
    BobcatSR

    BobcatSR Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2018
    Member:
    #270548
    Messages:
    169
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2021 Trail Edition AG
    2017 DCSB SR (sold)
    Doc62 and malatx like this.
  7. Apr 19, 2021 at 10:51 AM
    #7
    In2Ndo

    In2Ndo [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Member:
    #37630
    Messages:
    285
    Gender:
    Male
    Simi Valley, CA
    Vehicle:
    MGM 2021 Tacoma TRD OR
    I prefer not to mess around with the electrical in my cars/trucks. and just in case I don't want any issues with the warranty if anything comes up. the manual specifically states to not modify the fuses or fuse boxes. I know adding a fuse is still modifying but I think it would be a safer option to a tap.
    What I found so far in other posts. the bottom left corner is empty and is constant. and the 6th from the top on the right hand side is switched and empty. now I just need to find out if the current on those two will be enough.
    Also the truck has no heated seats or sunroof and I think those Fuses are in this box too. also from another post. I think the sunroof is constant and I would think the heated seats would be switched.
    and I don't think I'll ever tow anything. but would like to keep that option open. that's usually when I end up needing something. as soon as I get rid of it. .. LOL.
     
    malatx likes this.
  8. Apr 19, 2021 at 10:52 AM
    #8
    malatx

    malatx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2020
    Member:
    #336090
    Messages:
    283
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD Sport DCSB MT Cement (SOLD)
  9. Apr 19, 2021 at 11:00 AM
    #9
    In2Ndo

    In2Ndo [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Member:
    #37630
    Messages:
    285
    Gender:
    Male
    Simi Valley, CA
    Vehicle:
    MGM 2021 Tacoma TRD OR
    I’m not telling them to stay away from the fuse box. But if I can find the 2 empty spots in the fuse box that could work instead of taping an already used fuse. I would think that’s the better option.
     
  10. Apr 19, 2021 at 11:01 AM
    #10
    In2Ndo

    In2Ndo [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Member:
    #37630
    Messages:
    285
    Gender:
    Male
    Simi Valley, CA
    Vehicle:
    MGM 2021 Tacoma TRD OR
  11. Apr 19, 2021 at 11:06 AM
    #11
    Rock Lobster

    Rock Lobster knows nothing, yet an expert in everything.

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2018
    Member:
    #275833
    Messages:
    5,405
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Dee Eff Dub
    Vehicle:
    Sport Crew represent
    Fair enough. If you have empties, definitely use those. Dashcams don't draw a lot of power to be a worry anyway. Just bear in mind that if you tap into a wire, chances are it's still going through the fuse box, it's just routed through a longer, thinner path.:D
     
    vicali likes this.
  12. Apr 19, 2021 at 11:07 AM
    #12
    I.eat.tacos

    I.eat.tacos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2018
    Member:
    #274513
    Messages:
    451
    First Name:
    Steve Rogers
    Vehicle:
    '18 TRD 4x4 Sport
    I have the "Simple 29$ USB Mirror Dashcam" and love it.

    Installation took two-minute. I can get a picture later on if requested.
     
  13. Apr 19, 2021 at 11:08 AM
    #13
    In2Ndo

    In2Ndo [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Member:
    #37630
    Messages:
    285
    Gender:
    Male
    Simi Valley, CA
    Vehicle:
    MGM 2021 Tacoma TRD OR
    I wouldn't want them to tap into a wire. If it ends up been the only option. it would be a fuse tap.
     
  14. Apr 19, 2021 at 11:11 AM
    #14
    Rock Lobster

    Rock Lobster knows nothing, yet an expert in everything.

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2018
    Member:
    #275833
    Messages:
    5,405
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Dee Eff Dub
    Vehicle:
    Sport Crew represent
    Your only other option would be to run a new wire through the firewall and directly to battery. That's a bit of overkill for something that pulls less than 0.5 amps at any given moment.
     
  15. Apr 19, 2021 at 11:26 AM
    #15
    In2Ndo

    In2Ndo [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Member:
    #37630
    Messages:
    285
    Gender:
    Male
    Simi Valley, CA
    Vehicle:
    MGM 2021 Tacoma TRD OR
    And excuse the ignorance but I have to ask. Am I understanding this correctly? all of the fuse box outputs have the same output power with the limiting factor been the fuse. so for example if there is an empty spot and I could use a 10, 20 or 30A fuse according to the limit the hardware requires and that should be fine? or does each fuse spot have a limit of what fuse can be used?
    Electrical and plumbing have never been my thing... LOL.
     
  16. Apr 19, 2021 at 11:36 AM
    #16
    Rock Lobster

    Rock Lobster knows nothing, yet an expert in everything.

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2018
    Member:
    #275833
    Messages:
    5,405
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Dee Eff Dub
    Vehicle:
    Sport Crew represent
    Sort of, yes. The upstream hardware has to be considered too (wire diameter and whatnot) but yes, it all has the same voltage and same potential from the battery. The fuse is the safety switch that breaks whenever the circuit draws more current than you want it to.
     
    In2Ndo [OP] likes this.
  17. Apr 19, 2021 at 11:42 AM
    #17
    vicali

    vicali Chilling at YMH

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Member:
    #37503
    Messages:
    1,947
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    mike
    Kam,BC
    Vehicle:
    2017 TRD Sport 1D6
    add-a-fuse is not the same as tapping.

    Tap;
    [​IMG]

    Add A Fuse;
    [​IMG]

    Add a fuse keeps original fuse circuit, and adds another fused power source.
    Tap is sourcing power through the same fuse. Not as good.

    Installers are probably going to use a vampire clamp on a wire anyways..
     
    Rock Lobster likes this.
  18. Apr 19, 2021 at 11:52 AM
    #18
    In2Ndo

    In2Ndo [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Member:
    #37630
    Messages:
    285
    Gender:
    Male
    Simi Valley, CA
    Vehicle:
    MGM 2021 Tacoma TRD OR
    Thanks for the clarification. I would go with the add a fuse option if I have to. and if the installer doesn't do what I ask without a good explanation. some body is not getting paid or redoing the job correctly... LOL. this is why I'm here trying to understand this a little.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top