1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Back up camera issue

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by Coondog68, Sep 25, 2017.

  1. Sep 25, 2017 at 2:48 PM
    #1
    Coondog68

    Coondog68 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2017
    Member:
    #212520
    Messages:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Richfield, MN
    Vehicle:
    2012 Tacoma SR5 4x4 Access Cab
    I recently had a new head unit installed (Kenwood ddx374bt) and had my back up camera (which had been working fine in the rvm) switched over to it as it had an input for it. The camera will pop up on the head unit in reverse but is losing the signal at times. The screen goes blue and indicates no signal. If I put it back in park then reverse again still no signal. If I turn the ignition off and restart the truck then it will come back on once I go to reverse but will eventually lose signal again. Any ideas why this is happening?
     
  2. Sep 25, 2017 at 2:52 PM
    #2
    Unchained 5150

    Unchained 5150 " Sprinkles "

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Member:
    #139054
    Messages:
    45,183
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rick
    Auburn Ma
    Bad connection I think is all it could be
     
  3. Sep 25, 2017 at 2:55 PM
    #3
    Tcomaboy

    Tcomaboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Member:
    #43160
    Messages:
    3,231
    Gender:
    Male
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    2010 DCLB TRD Sport Prerunner
    Put the original head unit back in and see if it’s fine after a few days, if so, bad connection or, bad head unit
     
  4. Sep 25, 2017 at 2:57 PM
    #4
    tomwil

    tomwil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2014
    Member:
    #129887
    Messages:
    7,309
    Gender:
    Male
    East Coast USA
    Vehicle:
    2014 Reg Cab 4x4
    Any chance of a voltage mismatch, causing a protection circuit to kick in? 6V vs 12V?
     
  5. Sep 25, 2017 at 2:57 PM
    #5
    12TRDTacoma

    12TRDTacoma 1 Bar Club

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Member:
    #85133
    Messages:
    11,671
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Roberto
    Concord, CA
    Vehicle:
    12 TRD Sport DCLB 4x4 Tacoma
    Supercharged
    Probably shit connections within the camera itself.

    I am currently experiencing a connection issue myself with my camera's. I have high suspicion to believe that both of the camera's I have are intermittently defective as the connection is just pure blackout sometimes and nothing corrects it. It just sort of comes back to life on it's own. Unless the RCA I fabbed up to work with the headunit is internally defective within the wiring.
     
  6. Sep 26, 2017 at 6:37 AM
    #6
    crashnburn80

    crashnburn80 Vehicle Design Engineer

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2015
    Member:
    #156893
    Messages:
    9,195
    Gender:
    Male
    Kirkland, WA
    Vehicle:
    2015 DCSB TRD OR MGM
    Go Hawks!
    Also had a Kenwood headunit that would intermittently blue screen with the OEM camera. It would come back on its own but was really annoying. I kept the camera wired into an RCA connector and put an adapter on the OEM headunit and swapped back and it worked fine, so I don’t think it wasn’t the wiring in my case.

    I really didn’t care for the check your surroundings message that you had to clear to see the camera in reverse and loss of some other features so I’m building off the stock deck instead.
     
  7. Sep 26, 2017 at 1:29 PM
    #7
    Justinlhc

    Justinlhc Not looking for a relationship

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2015
    Member:
    #158945
    Messages:
    3,561

    This is my guess. Factory camera is 6v isn't it?
     
  8. Sep 28, 2017 at 12:48 PM
    #8
    Coondog68

    Coondog68 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2017
    Member:
    #212520
    Messages:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Richfield, MN
    Vehicle:
    2012 Tacoma SR5 4x4 Access Cab
    Bumped to try to get confirmation on this...

    If it is 6v what do I need to do to correct it?
     
  9. Sep 28, 2017 at 3:06 PM
    #9
    Coondog68

    Coondog68 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2017
    Member:
    #212520
    Messages:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Richfield, MN
    Vehicle:
    2012 Tacoma SR5 4x4 Access Cab
    Just wanted to update with the response I got from Kenwood technical support:

    "I understand you are inquiring about the DDX374BT. The message will appear if the camera is powered off and not providing a signal. I recommend that you inspect the power control wire for the back up camera and confirm it is not loose or exposed. You can test the wire with a volt meter as well to verify if it is losing power."

    It seems as if it may be a protection circuit kicking in shutting camera down. What's the remedy or if you can at least point me in the right direction it would be greatly appreciated! :)
     
  10. Sep 28, 2017 at 5:32 PM
    #10
    Coondog68

    Coondog68 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2017
    Member:
    #212520
    Messages:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Richfield, MN
    Vehicle:
    2012 Tacoma SR5 4x4 Access Cab
    After digging around in the forum I believe I've got it figured out. Looks like I need a 12v to 6v step down converter. Axxess part # ax-cam6v. $13.99 on Amazon!
    I'll report back once installed!
     
    reefnfeef likes this.
  11. Nov 3, 2017 at 2:11 PM
    #11
    tomwil

    tomwil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2014
    Member:
    #129887
    Messages:
    7,309
    Gender:
    Male
    East Coast USA
    Vehicle:
    2014 Reg Cab 4x4
    Did you forget to report back?
     
  12. Nov 4, 2017 at 12:53 PM
    #12
    Coondog68

    Coondog68 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2017
    Member:
    #212520
    Messages:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Richfield, MN
    Vehicle:
    2012 Tacoma SR5 4x4 Access Cab
    Sorry, I thought I had it figured out but apparently not. I went back to my installer with the newfound info and the step down converter but he didn't think that was the issue because he said he didn't do anything with the power connection, only routing the video wire to the head unit. Regardless, he got it working without using the step down converter and in my glee to finally have it working I forgot to ask him how he did it. I reached out to him but he's been so busy he can't remember!:) Can't blame him I guess. One thing I noticed however is now, when shifting to reverse the rearview mirror will show a blue screen for the image briefly (a couple seconds) then disappear where before it didn't pop up at all. I tried to disable the rearview mirror image through the mirror menu but that will keep it from displaying on the head unit.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top