1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

battery draining

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by kielio, Nov 9, 2014.

  1. Nov 9, 2014 at 5:13 PM
    #1
    kielio

    kielio [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Member:
    #141999
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kyle
    Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
    Vehicle:
    07 dc 4x4 trd off road
    Hello everyone this is my first post. i have a 2007 tacoma double cab 4x4 having some issues with battery draining in two weeks of not driving it.I took the neg side off the battery and was getting about 80ma with the key off which i guess is a little high when I unplug the fuse for the radio it drops to 40ma.I have an aftermarket alarm/starter and aftermarket alpine double din screen, what should i start looking for ?
     
  2. Nov 9, 2014 at 5:48 PM
    #2
    savedone

    savedone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2013
    Member:
    #104359
    Messages:
    1,064
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gerald
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    TRD off-road 6speed manual
    3 inch lift by dealer at purchase
    A new battery.
     
  3. Nov 9, 2014 at 6:00 PM
    #3
    03f5sp

    03f5sp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2012
    Member:
    #78254
    Messages:
    992
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bill
    Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    2011 TRD Off Road dcsb
    Front 5100s @ 2.5, 1.5 AAL, 265/75-16 all terrains
    How old is the battery?
     
  4. Nov 9, 2014 at 7:40 PM
    #4
    jessandjamie

    jessandjamie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2013
    Member:
    #119190
    Messages:
    327
    Gender:
    Male
    Arizona
    I experienced a similar issue on a Tundra and mine was the remote start. I ended up installing a switch on the remote starts constant 12v in the cab. That way when it would sit for more than a few days I could just kill the power to the remote start. Mine was over 80ma though...by the way your meter said .080 and .040 right? Just making sure of the amp draw because a normal draw is usually less than .050. Also you might find that if you meter the radio for a long enough duration, the draw might drop once it goes to sleep.
     
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2014
  5. Nov 9, 2014 at 9:55 PM
    #5
    Jimmyh

    Jimmyh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Member:
    #78991
    Messages:
    11,829
    Gender:
    Male
    SC
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prerunner SR5
    Original battery? If so get a new one.
     
  6. Nov 10, 2014 at 6:24 AM
    #6
    Lester Lugnut

    Lester Lugnut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Member:
    #32477
    Messages:
    2,827
    Gender:
    Male
    N of Mex-S of Canada-E of LA-W of NC
    Vehicle:
    '15 Tacoma PreRunner V6 SR5 Auto
    Check milliamp draw across all fuses. That way you will isolate the circuit.
     
  7. Nov 12, 2014 at 5:14 AM
    #7
    kielio

    kielio [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Member:
    #141999
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kyle
    Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
    Vehicle:
    07 dc 4x4 trd off road
    the battery is only a year old so i can't see it being the battery,either the alarm/starter or the the alpine double din I'm thinking but the question is what to look for when checking these devices, shorted wires , stuff like that ?
     
  8. Nov 12, 2014 at 5:16 AM
    #8
    kielio

    kielio [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Member:
    #141999
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kyle
    Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
    Vehicle:
    07 dc 4x4 trd off road
    yes its .080ma then i pull the fuse for the radio and drops to .040ma, which fuse would the alarm circuit be on ?
     
  9. Nov 12, 2014 at 5:50 AM
    #9
    jessandjamie

    jessandjamie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2013
    Member:
    #119190
    Messages:
    327
    Gender:
    Male
    Arizona
    Since the alarm is aftermarket I couldn't tell you what fuse it would be. You would have to either find the alarm module and start tracing wires to find it or start pulling fuses. On mine nothing was shorted you could see. I soldered all the connections myself and after about three years the module started having this issue. I've read elsewhere that my issue is more common than it should be, and short of replacing the module, not much you can do.

    Are you repacing the fuses with the amp probes and reading the draw that way? I would bet that if you tried the radio one again, and walked away for 15 min, it would drop less than the 40ma your seeing (unless the alarm is tied to the radio circuit). If it doesn't, I feel thats way to much by itself. You should be able to find the amp draw for your radio on the web somewhere or a manual maybe.
     
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2014

Products Discussed in

To Top