1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Bed Inverter Wiring for ARB Compressor (CKMA12)

Discussion in '3rd Gen. Tacomas (2016+)' started by BestWest, Nov 17, 2017.

  1. Nov 17, 2017 at 11:59 AM
    #1
    BestWest

    BestWest [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2016
    Member:
    #200636
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Hey all...I'm looking to use the space that the OEM bed inverter takes up for a ARB Compressor (the mid sized CKMA12). My question isn't around mounting in this area but more focused on the wiring used for the Inverter and if that would work for running the compressor.

    The idea here is to keep the existing cab switch and not to have to replace the wiring (or run new) to the bed. Is this something that is feasible? This starts to go over my head from a power requirements perspective and leveraging previous wiring configurations...

    Any advice--or should I just ditch this train of thought all together?
     
  2. Nov 17, 2017 at 12:01 PM
    #2
    ramonortiz55

    ramonortiz55 Not A Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Member:
    #92013
    Messages:
    34,119
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ramon
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    2015 DCSB Offroad 4x4
    stock
    The inverter wiring will NOT work for the compressor. Too much draw.

    If you pull out the plug you will see how flimsy/thin that wiring is VS the heavy 10 GA wiring on the ARB Compressor.
     
    BestWest [OP] and GPsevinSixx like this.
  3. Nov 17, 2017 at 3:46 PM
    #3
    Adventure Ready

    Adventure Ready Adventure Ready

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2017
    Member:
    #209227
    Messages:
    173
    Seattle, WA
    Ya, don't do. The dual compressor pulls up to around 75 amps. That inverter is only rated at 400W at idle (about half the amp draw as the compressor), and the wire is actually pretty undersized from the factory. put a 100-amp breaker in the front and run some 4g to the bed and terminate at a fuse block. Then connect whatever you want back there.
     
    BlueFox18 and BestWest [OP] like this.
  4. Nov 17, 2017 at 10:19 PM
    #4
    eldedo

    eldedo voted most likely eaten by a bear

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Member:
    #172201
    Messages:
    1,822
    Gender:
    Male
    Mojave Desert
    Vehicle:
    '16 DCSBOR 4X4
    2888/5100/Dakars 285's/Camburgs
    mount the compressor in the engine compartment on the passenger side and wire it correctly.
     
  5. Nov 21, 2017 at 8:18 AM
    #5
    BestWest

    BestWest [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2016
    Member:
    #200636
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    @Adventure Ready and @ramonortiz55 --thanks for the quick replies and useful advice. Yup--now that I looked closely at the wiring harness there is no way it will handle it. Easy enough to extend the ARB harness.

    @eldedo I don't want it in the engine compartment and i certainly don't plan on wiring it incorrectly--but thanks for the valuable feedback.
     
    Juforrest likes this.
  6. Nov 21, 2017 at 8:25 AM
    #6
    ajmogen

    ajmogen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2016
    Member:
    #184199
    Messages:
    1,489
    First Name:
    Aaron
    Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    OR MT TACO T4R YARIS
    You may be able to use the inverter switch to trigger a relay. You will have to pull some pretty hefty power cables to the relay and compressor. Remember to match the relay and conductor size to the current draw of the compressor and account for the length of cable. Also fuse protection close to the battery would be necessary.
     
  7. Nov 21, 2017 at 8:58 AM
    #7
    spicyelectricity

    spicyelectricity Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2017
    Member:
    #225520
    Messages:
    13
    Yeah this is for sure the way you will want to do it. This way you wont have to worry about taking large cable into the cab and can just do a straight run to the back of the truck. Basically you would have two wire runs. Wire run #1: Large cable: Battery->In line Fuse-> Normally open contact on a relay -> Air compressor. Wire Run #2 (Existing inverter wiring): Inverter wiring -> coil on relay.
     
    ajmogen likes this.

Products Discussed in

To Top