1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

bed outlet

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by marathon, Jan 5, 2007.

  1. Jan 5, 2007 at 2:41 PM
    #1
    marathon

    marathon [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Member:
    #579
    Messages:
    6
    So i just drove my 07 tacoma trd sport access cab v6 prerunner home form the dealership. I have a question regarding the outlet found in the bed. I thought it was a really cool idea but after reading a bit you can only use 400 watt max (only 100 watt when driving). I think it's still a 120v but the low power really restricts what you can and can't use with it. Most power tools won't work, or will they? I'm a bit scared to just plug up a drill with the possibility to burn the motor out in it.

    Anyone have any experience with thiers?

    Bad stories good stories?

    What do you use most with it?

    Also any other restrictions I'm not mentioning like resistance?
     
  2. Jan 5, 2007 at 2:58 PM
    #2
    ForeRunner

    ForeRunner Scotch before noon. Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Member:
    #7
    Messages:
    12,092
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Drunken Sailor
    Somewhere between Maine and Florida
    Vehicle:
    2016 Subaru WRX STI Limited (no wing)
    Extra PSI
    Remember a little formula

    PIE. Power=Current(I) x Voltage(E) The outlet provides 120V at a max 400W so 120volts/400watts=3.3amps and 120volts/100watts=.83amps

    Example. Dewalt drill has a current draw of 5amps. 5amps x 120volts = 600watts. To much for the inverter/deck outlet

    So look at your tool's/equipment you want to run and see what the current draw is and if it exceeds the 3.3amps it won't work or if it does it won't work that well.

    Hope this helps
     
  3. Jan 5, 2007 at 3:49 PM
    #3
    natrlyst

    natrlyst Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Member:
    #399
    Messages:
    204
    Nice response, could not have answered it better myself, can't get anymore clear than that. If, marathon, you have any questions about the stuff you can power, send me a pm and I will figure it out for you. You will find that it isn't useless as most "plug-iners" will be fine as long as it isn't power tools lol
     
  4. Jan 5, 2007 at 3:55 PM
    #4
    ImInLoveWithMyTruck

    ImInLoveWithMyTruck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Member:
    #248
    Messages:
    302
    Great question and great answer!
     
  5. Jan 5, 2007 at 8:33 PM
    #5
    tcboss

    tcboss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Member:
    #527
    Messages:
    80
    Wilmington, NC
    Vehicle:
    Black Mamba
    3 in. Revtek Lift, 33 in. M/T Open Country's,
    where is the bed outlet exactly?
     
  6. Jan 5, 2007 at 8:49 PM
    #6
    ForeRunner

    ForeRunner Scotch before noon. Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Member:
    #7
    Messages:
    12,092
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Drunken Sailor
    Somewhere between Maine and Florida
    Vehicle:
    2016 Subaru WRX STI Limited (no wing)
    Extra PSI
    The outlet only comes on the 2005 and up TRD Offroad or TRD Sport packages option code's OC and PY (according to Toyota)


    If you wanted an inverter you could probably find one and install it fairly easily, might want to upgrade the alternator also.

    I found these
     
  7. Jan 5, 2007 at 8:52 PM
    #7
    kwe1560

    kwe1560 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Member:
    #517
    Messages:
    42
    Gender:
    Male
    Yes the power seems low, but I have used a weed-eater with a power cord and it worked fine. However, the leaf blower worked but did not run at normal speed, While camping I did use a coffee purculator(whats That), and it worked fine, I have charged a cell phone off of it, and was fine, also I had to use a small heater to keep warm, when the Colorado snow knocked out power and it did fine but wasn't much heat. I check the appliance label for the output rating . My only experience with improper voltage is the appliance will either not run correctly, or not at all. I was told that if the appliance wattage is incorrect. You might simply blow a fuse, However neither has happened yet.
     
  8. Jan 6, 2007 at 12:57 PM
    #8
    marathon

    marathon [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Member:
    #579
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks for everyone's input. I now kinda remembered using that formula from high school physics. I'll keep a close eye on the tools I use. Again thanks.
     
  9. Jul 6, 2012 at 9:56 AM
    #9
    ohmyitstrucktime

    ohmyitstrucktime Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Member:
    #70495
    Messages:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Calgary
    Vehicle:
    trd
    just to make sure you calculate properly its watts / voltage =amps not v/w=a
    (400watts/ 120v=3.33333)
     
  10. Jul 6, 2012 at 10:08 AM
    #10
    TacoDaTugBoat

    TacoDaTugBoat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Member:
    #15090
    Messages:
    1,113
    Gender:
    Male
    Goshen, Ct
    Vehicle:
    13 DCLB TRD Sport
    Holy thread revival ohmyitstrucktime

    Yeah V*A=Watts

    Divide the watts by either to get the other
     
  11. Jul 6, 2012 at 8:59 PM
    #11
    jprovence

    jprovence Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Member:
    #69099
    Messages:
    160
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joshua
    Albany
    Vehicle:
    11' Tacoma TRD
    Stock
    Cordless tools and let it charge batteries. Thats what I let it do when I'm driving somewhere. I charge camera batteries. Most chargers won't draw more then 3 amps or so. My brother has a small craftsman air compressor that will run on it. Nail gun size 3 gallon. Some shop lights will run on it. 250watts usually.
     
  12. Nov 30, 2015 at 5:27 PM
    #12
    sorgon82

    sorgon82 wanna go for a rip bud

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    Member:
    #165572
    Messages:
    559
    Gender:
    Male
    Ont. Canada
    Vehicle:
    2016 Grey Tacoma sport dc long bed
    Only works while truck is running correct? Or also during aux mode.
    The dealer told me both when i bought it, i thought ok great for drive inn movies, i can bring a radio instead trying to listen through the small rear window.
    He was wrong :(
     
  13. Nov 30, 2015 at 7:05 PM
    #13
    Justinlhc

    Justinlhc Not looking for a relationship

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2015
    Member:
    #158945
    Messages:
    1,320
    First Name:
    Optional
    Vehicle:
    Brabus
    I has truck it has things and stuff derrrrrr
    400w anytime mod works great.
     
To Top