1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Blu Logic Help/ Replacements

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas' started by loyalistdsw, Nov 7, 2010.

  1. loyalistdsw

    loyalistdsw [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Member:
    #27133
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Niagara Falls Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 DBL Cab TRD SPORT
    Had the Blu Logic System installed in my 2010 TRD D/C. After many months have come to the conclusion IT SUCKS!! The people I speak to only hear echoes of my voice and the voice recognition on my Iphone 4 can’t understand what I am saying unless I lean within 2 inches of the mic. Any one out there had this problem and how did you get it fixed. Also looking for recommendations on good Iphone 4 compatible Bluetooth systems that don't require an ear piece (Ear piece drives me nuts) Any help would be great.
     
  2. Black Sheep

    Black Sheep Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Member:
    #45032
    Messages:
    298
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Vehicle:
    2011 Black Dbl Cab TRD T/X Pro
    6" Pro Comp Suspension lift with Pro Comp leveling kit, Bilstein 5100's, Full leather interior with seat heaters, Go Rhino step bars, Sony XNV-770BT Head Unit with NAV, DVD, XM and Blutooth, Tonopro toneau cover, Tinted windows, Black mesh grille, Projector headlights with HID lows, HID fogs, Crystal Eyes rear LED taillights, Weathertech mats front and rear
    I passed on the blu logic system being installed and just went with a new head unti that has all the goodies (bluetooth, XM, dvd).
    The salesman, when I bought my truck, actually told me that the blu logic was no good.
     
  3. bendawg62

    bendawg62 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Member:
    #33215
    Messages:
    27
    Gender:
    Male
    Alberta
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tacoma TRD / 2013 Tacoma TRD
    I have the same truck and had the same problem. On the original installation the mic was mounted down by the ignition key. I relocated the mic to the upper console and have been told that it is 100% better for sound quality. With the original mic location (this is where Toyota recommends the placement to be) the blutooth was virtually unusable, now it works very well. Hopefully this helps.
    ps - the dealership offered to relocate it for no charge, but I decided to do it myself.
     
  4. esizzle777

    esizzle777 Son of Most High

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Member:
    #16416
    Messages:
    419
    Gender:
    Male
    Laredo, TX
    Vehicle:
    08 Nightmare
    Bull Bar, Tacoma Seat Covers, Chrome AC trim, Dallas Cowboys Hitch Cover, Grillcraft Mesh Grille, Devil Horns
    wanna sell me your blu logic if you don't like it?
     
  5. timsxr

    timsxr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Member:
    #46529
    Messages:
    1,150
    Gender:
    Male
    portland
    Vehicle:
    BLACK DIAMOND FAB
    elusive elements grille
  6. dziddy

    dziddy It's My Rap Name. We all Have One.

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Member:
    #47753
    Messages:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tom
    Northern VA
    Vehicle:
    2011 Base Tacoma 4X4
    You install any in 2011 Regular Cab's? Web site doesn't cross-reference the 2011 Tacoma. Hoping it's just not up to date.
     
  7. timsxr

    timsxr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Member:
    #46529
    Messages:
    1,150
    Gender:
    Male
    portland
    Vehicle:
    BLACK DIAMOND FAB
    elusive elements grille
    Yes tons Jbl or not?
     
  8. Sheppymach

    Sheppymach Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Member:
    #46617
    Messages:
    553
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sheppy
    Philadelphia, Pa
    Vehicle:
    2014 4Runner trail edition
    BLU LOGIC bt, avid, weather tech mats & rain guards, 285/70/17, BenWA's totally AWESOME power sliding window mod.
    I added the rostra Blu logic set up to my 2011 and it is awesome. i put the mic right on colum and no complaints from anyone.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  9. Raylo

    Raylo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Member:
    #10878
    Messages:
    428
    Gender:
    Male
    MD, USA
    Vehicle:
    2009 4x4 Access Cab, TRD Sport
  10. dziddy

    dziddy It's My Rap Name. We all Have One.

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Member:
    #47753
    Messages:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tom
    Northern VA
    Vehicle:
    2011 Base Tacoma 4X4
    Base sound system (non-JBL).
     
  11. Fennywald

    Fennywald Betty Blue

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Member:
    #46350
    Messages:
    573
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Vehicle:
    SR5 Tundra 4X4
    Hmmm.. that's weird.. chose mine as a option on my truck, been driving for about 2 months no probs with either end.

    my mike was run behind the the driverside column by the dealership, but you said the recommended area is by the ignition key?

    Now this is where i wish they had put my call button. Mine is on the bottom spare and it is hard to see behind the steering wheel, my only complaint. One of these days i'm gonna relocate it like yours :)
     
  12. bendawg62

    bendawg62 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Member:
    #33215
    Messages:
    27
    Gender:
    Male
    Alberta
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tacoma TRD / 2013 Tacoma TRD
    Several dealerships told me that Toyota called for the Blu Logic mic to be located by the ignition key, but it doesnt work well in that location . So as I said, I moved it to the upper console which solved my problem. I also did move the control switch from the lower bank of switches to the upper bank as it was hard to see when I was driving. Yours would work fine located on the A pillar, I'm sure.
     
  13. doubletaco

    doubletaco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Member:
    #16753
    Messages:
    526
    Gender:
    Male
    DFW
    Vehicle:
    13 Super White O/R 4x4
    TRD FJ Wheels, Fog light mod, Blacked out emblems. Bilstein 5100's OME 885's, Icon progressive leaf pack, TRD Exhaust, Bridgestone Revo's.
  14. Fennywald

    Fennywald Betty Blue

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Member:
    #46350
    Messages:
    573
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Vehicle:
    SR5 Tundra 4X4
    Yea i need to do that, mine is pissing me off
     
  15. Sheppymach

    Sheppymach Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Member:
    #46617
    Messages:
    553
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sheppy
    Philadelphia, Pa
    Vehicle:
    2014 4Runner trail edition
    BLU LOGIC bt, avid, weather tech mats & rain guards, 285/70/17, BenWA's totally AWESOME power sliding window mod.
    its easy to pop the blu logic out and move it. I just reached up from underneth. 2 minutes. oh yeah its works fine with my XM no problems. Plug & play the whole way. No problems. Now i got to get the blue lights switched out to orange.
     
  16. TRDKenE

    TRDKenE DAMN GOOD DEAL!!

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Member:
    #19348
    Messages:
    706
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kenny
    Richmond, Virginia
    Vehicle:
    '10 D-CAB OFF-ROAD 4X4
    TRD CAI, GrillCraft.
    does the blu-logic kit work with the factory i-pod adaptor
     
  17. Japes

    Japes Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Member:
    #49613
    Messages:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Calgary, Canada
    Vehicle:
    11 TRD Double Cab Short Box
    I got mine moved to just on the right side of my guages, people tell me it sounds like I'm talking on a normal handset. I might consider moving my buttons to the left side but it's not bad where it is now for me.
     
  18. chaotichoax

    chaotichoax Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Member:
    #47996
    Messages:
    190
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    Howell, NJ
    Vehicle:
    '11 MGM DC/SB TRD Sport
    is there a lot of slack on the factory installed blu logic mic?

    I definitely want to relocate mine...would prefer not to have to cut and extend
     
  19. 84Hilux

    84Hilux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Member:
    #39877
    Messages:
    544
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gary
    Vancouver, Canada
    Vehicle:
    09 SR5 Access Cab V6 4X4
    Stock Fog Lights, Camera Mirror, Arrow Canopy, Lighted 4x4switch, Weathertech Mats (Black), Wet Okoles- Black/Charcoal, Alpine CDA117 Headunit/ Alpine PDX4150 Amp/Alpine PDX M6 Amp/ Hybrid Legatia SE Components/ JL 10W6V2 Subwoofer/ Prototype MR Marv Sub Enclosure
    Comes with about 8' of cable for the mike. Toyota suggests mounting the unit in the passenger side kickpanel. You could run mike up to the mirror or over to the driver's area. I had mine installed for 3 months with the mike by the 4WD selector switch. Seemed to work fine. No complaints. I removed it to install a Parrot unit compatible with my Alpine head unit. The manual says it conflicts with factory XM satellite and Factory Nav. Unit. Possibly conflicts with Ipod adapter too. My Blu Logic is up for sale if anyone is interested $125.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  20. krudawg

    krudawg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Member:
    #47502
    Messages:
    84
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ted
    El Dorado Hills, Ca
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner V6 SR5
    My Taco has bluetooth via my Pioneer AVIC Z120bt. It works great. My wife wanted Bluetooth in her 05 Solara ragtop so I had a "Got2b wireless" system installed. The control panal snapped right into a where the flashing red LED for the alarm system. Most Toyota's have unused switch plates on the dash but the Solara with ragtop used them all up. Anyway, here is what it looks like:
    It ran about $400/installed
     
To Top