1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Boost gauge mounting possibilities? I only want a single gauge. Why only double mount

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by 05xr, Jun 28, 2010.

  1. Jun 28, 2010 at 10:03 PM
    #1
    05xr

    05xr [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Member:
    #23182
    Messages:
    116
    Gender:
    Male
    Im looking for a boost gauge to mount up with the Trd charger. I can only find the "hey look at me" double A-pillar pod. Is there a nice single mount available? Whether it be for the A-pillar, ac vent, or atop the steering column?
     
  2. Jun 28, 2010 at 10:37 PM
    #2
    CtTaco

    CtTaco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Member:
    #6392
    Messages:
    629
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Eric
    Connecticut
    Vehicle:
    2010 4x4 Doublecab Sport Longbed Supercharged
    3" lift, Tundra wheels with BFG ATKO's, Viper Remote starter TRD Supercharger
  3. Jun 28, 2010 at 10:43 PM
    #3
    05xr

    05xr [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Member:
    #23182
    Messages:
    116
    Gender:
    Male
    Yeah, Im curious to see your mounting location.

    Ive bought many products from Todd at AWE, as I used to own several turbo A4's. Not too crazy about their logo on the gauge, but the color is almost right.

    Thanks for the input!
     
  4. Jun 28, 2010 at 11:01 PM
    #4
    CtTaco

    CtTaco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Member:
    #6392
    Messages:
    629
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Eric
    Connecticut
    Vehicle:
    2010 4x4 Doublecab Sport Longbed Supercharged
    3" lift, Tundra wheels with BFG ATKO's, Viper Remote starter TRD Supercharger
    I'm gonna look tomorrow, I know I have some pics...It came out PERFECT! just the right size. Any bigger and it wouldnt have fit.You're right the color is almost right...the new gauge says boost, the one I have says turbo, its a different gauge face now... can anyone tell me how to put a pic in this thread? I dont have any hosting for pics...
     
  5. Jun 29, 2010 at 7:25 AM
    #5
    SpaceMonkey

    SpaceMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Member:
    #15886
    Messages:
    600
    Gender:
    Male
    Houston, Tx
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner
  6. Jun 29, 2010 at 7:49 AM
    #6
    Doc.SS

    Doc.SS ︻╦╤─

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Member:
    #23899
    Messages:
    4,055
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Frank
    O'side
    Vehicle:
    T|X Baja
    Supercharged
    what about using the location to the left of the radio where the 4x4 switch goes..??
     
  7. Jun 29, 2010 at 12:26 PM
    #7
    05xr

    05xr [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Member:
    #23182
    Messages:
    116
    Gender:
    Male
  8. Jun 29, 2010 at 1:01 PM
    #8
    SpaceMonkey

    SpaceMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Member:
    #15886
    Messages:
    600
    Gender:
    Male
    Houston, Tx
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner
    I would install an AFR gauge in the other pod. On mine, I am going to install a boost gauge. The pods are not removable.
     
  9. Jun 29, 2010 at 1:04 PM
    #9
    SManZ

    SManZ el tráfico más lento se queda derecha

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Member:
    #22817
    Messages:
    1,339
    Gender:
    Male
    Centreville, VA
    Vehicle:
    '10 Supercharged 4x4 Sport 6-spd
    TRD Supercharger, King 2.5" extended travel remote-resi coilovers, OME Dakar leaf packs, King 2.5" extended travel rear shocks, Total Chaos UCAs, MBRP turndown exhaust, TRD intake, TRD Quickshifter, Goodridge SS brake lines, EBC Sport Rotors, Hawk HPS pads, TRD FJ Cruiser Special Edition 16" Anthracite Rims, Spidertrax wheel spacers, 265/75R16 A/T, Autometer oil pressure, oil temp gauges, TRD boost gauge, PLX DM-100 OBD II scanner, flexpod mounts, A-pillar gauge pods
    Yes, I have the same one. It is a 3-piece mount. There is the bracket that bolts to the steering column (just 2 screws!) and then the two gauge cups. You can install the bracket on the steering column and just one gauge cup if you want.
     
  10. Jun 29, 2010 at 1:43 PM
    #10
    SpaceMonkey

    SpaceMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Member:
    #15886
    Messages:
    600
    Gender:
    Male
    Houston, Tx
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner
    Oh that's right! My bad. Yes u can just install one.
     
  11. Jun 29, 2010 at 2:14 PM
    #11
    Doc.SS

    Doc.SS ︻╦╤─

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Member:
    #23899
    Messages:
    4,055
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Frank
    O'side
    Vehicle:
    T|X Baja
    Supercharged
    get a aeroforce gauge to go on the other side....the one pictured is on the right
    here is my cobalt with a AFR gauge and an aeroforce gauge (at night)
    [​IMG]
    during the day
    [​IMG]
     
  12. Jun 29, 2010 at 2:16 PM
    #12
    Kyouto42

    Kyouto42 Iron Beard

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Member:
    #8614
    Messages:
    9,161
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jake
    Ahwatukee, AZ
    Vehicle:
    BSP '10 4x4 TRD Off-Road DC
    See build thread in signature
    Just the one would be good... but I would recommend an AFR gauge as well in boosted applications. It's more important than even the boost gauge itself. Running lean is bad....
     
  13. Jun 29, 2010 at 2:20 PM
    #13
    Doc.SS

    Doc.SS ︻╦╤─

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Member:
    #23899
    Messages:
    4,055
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Frank
    O'side
    Vehicle:
    T|X Baja
    Supercharged
    honestly, you can't change anything on the fly and a afr gauge is 'for show'
     
  14. Jun 29, 2010 at 2:22 PM
    #14
    Doc.SS

    Doc.SS ︻╦╤─

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Member:
    #23899
    Messages:
    4,055
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Frank
    O'side
    Vehicle:
    T|X Baja
    Supercharged
    now that I think about it, I never cared how much I boosted
    it was a gauge I had but watched thinking it was cool...lol
     
  15. Jun 29, 2010 at 2:22 PM
    #15
    Kyouto42

    Kyouto42 Iron Beard

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Member:
    #8614
    Messages:
    9,161
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jake
    Ahwatukee, AZ
    Vehicle:
    BSP '10 4x4 TRD Off-Road DC
    See build thread in signature
    How is an AFR gauge for show when it can prevent serious damage by cutting your throttle back? I fail to see that logic one bit.

    Also from your other post... it seems rather evident you never cared about how well it was performing or seeing if it's running to what it should be.
     
  16. Jun 29, 2010 at 2:25 PM
    #16
    whippersnapper02

    whippersnapper02 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Member:
    #27905
    Messages:
    35,214
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Christian
    Yorba Linda, CA
    Vehicle:
    10 MGM TRD OR 4wd Auto DCSB
    Banks Monster Exhaust, Pop n Lock tailgate lock, Hook-Ups tie down brackets, USA Spec Ipod adaptor, WO seat covers, color matched grill with Grillcraft insert, Tuffy locking bed box
    X2. It lets you know what is going on. Is the tach just for show too?
     
  17. Jun 29, 2010 at 2:29 PM
    #17
    Doc.SS

    Doc.SS ︻╦╤─

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Member:
    #23899
    Messages:
    4,055
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Frank
    O'side
    Vehicle:
    T|X Baja
    Supercharged
    lol...once it was dialed it didn't matter
    tuning on the fly isn't an option and if your running ragged the motor will fail regardless how you operate the throttle, it'll be a matter of time.
    I ran the boost gauge, afr and the aeroforce gauge and after thinking about the whole situation, it was rather wasteful. That is the point I was making.
     
  18. Jun 29, 2010 at 2:30 PM
    #18
    Doc.SS

    Doc.SS ︻╦╤─

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Member:
    #23899
    Messages:
    4,055
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Frank
    O'side
    Vehicle:
    T|X Baja
    Supercharged
    actually, the speedo is...lol
    when your racing, you only care about the tach

    this is a truck though, not a racer. Get it dialed in and its all good.
     
  19. Jun 29, 2010 at 2:32 PM
    #19
    whippersnapper02

    whippersnapper02 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Member:
    #27905
    Messages:
    35,214
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Christian
    Yorba Linda, CA
    Vehicle:
    10 MGM TRD OR 4wd Auto DCSB
    Banks Monster Exhaust, Pop n Lock tailgate lock, Hook-Ups tie down brackets, USA Spec Ipod adaptor, WO seat covers, color matched grill with Grillcraft insert, Tuffy locking bed box
    Once it's all dialed in yeah it's dialed in but stuff happens and having info available can help you troubleshoot faster.
     
  20. Jun 29, 2010 at 2:36 PM
    #20
    Kyouto42

    Kyouto42 Iron Beard

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Member:
    #8614
    Messages:
    9,161
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jake
    Ahwatukee, AZ
    Vehicle:
    BSP '10 4x4 TRD Off-Road DC
    See build thread in signature
    So you're saying after the initial tune (btw how are you doing this, with a remote AFR gauge?) The setup will NEVER change through the life of the vehicle? You're never going to get intake leaks, never going to have a fuel delivery issue, never have the MAF screw up, never have the ECU start going wack, ect ect ect?

    The point of a gauge is to confirm with actual DATA that the vehicle is in fact running where it is supposed to be, and to warn you if it is not so you can hopefully correct the issue prior to making potentially thousands of dollars in damages.


    Yes, in the end you can *probably* get away with it... but if you're running a few gauges those are the two that matter in a boosted application. If you're going to the trouble of running one, I highly recommend running both. It's entirely at the owners discretion however. Running a TRD supercharger with stock components probably won't allow for to many dangerous situations... but it's an expensive gamble. Running a Mark III URD setup... there's no question you'd want it.
     
To Top