1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Bosch OBDII 1050

Discussion in 'Technical Chat' started by Looking2buy, Feb 20, 2018.

1. Feb 20, 2018 at 6:53 PM
    Looking2buy

Looking2buy [OP] New Member

Member:
    Hello guys and gals

First post here at Taco world so the obligatory: sorry if this is posted in the wrong place.

So I'm looking to buy a used Tacoma, I'm looking at a wide range of years probably from 2001 to 2010. I'm still trying to narrow it down and would love to hear suggestions on what the best yrs and packages are. I am no mechanic but 20 years in construction has taught me to be pretty resourceful.

On the recommendation of someone much smarter than I, I purchased a Bosch OBDII 1050 scanner tool. I plan to use the scanner as part of my inspection of a used truck and I am wondering what are the trouble codes that would put you seasoned folks off of a used vehicle?

I am also needing to know what I should be looking for in the live engine scan mode? Like which parameters I should be focused on (ie. tps, coolent temp, rpms, etc)? And what would an acceptable value for each parameter be?

Id be happy to hear any other tips, tricks, questions, or experiences for buying a used Tacoma.

Thanks in advance!

2. Feb 21, 2018 at 12:14 AM
    Wyoming09

Wyoming09 Well-Known Member

Member:
    New Tripoli Pa
    Vehicle:
    2000 Work truck 5 speed 4x4 3.4
    Super Springs
    Well depending in what state if you have Emission Inspections any problem causing the light to trip means your in for $$$ to pass emissions .

Then if the seller has cleared the codes or had the battery out doing the same thing.