1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

BRAKE BYPASS FOR AFTERMARKET HEADUNIT STEREO/DVD PIONEER INSTALL 2012

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by BOB Moore, Jul 7, 2012.

  1. Jul 7, 2012 at 10:03 PM
    #1
    BOB Moore

    BOB Moore [OP] Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Member:
    #79559
    Messages:
    20
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    BOB
    BRUNSWICK, OHIO
    Vehicle:
    PRERUNNER ACCESS CAB
    Hard to say whether this has been published in forums yet but hoped to save others some time. Although head unit bypasses vary, I finished a Pioneer AVH-P6300BT install on my 2012 access cab today and wanted to let you know re: brake bypass for DVD.

    I installed the following (Amazon link) which worked perfectly and did not involve fooling with the parking brake connections. No switches, soldering. ot fooling with the parking break connectiions.
    Only hope it continues to work.
    Install specs:
    2012 Taco Pre-runner 2wd access cab.
    Head unit: Pioneer AVH-P6300BT.
    Scosche black single din kit (OK but issues getting a flush fit).
    Pioneer XM DAT Tuner (GEX...).
    Scan gage OBD scanne (in pocket of Scosche unit)

    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000AAMY86/ref=wms_ohs_product

    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B005H49GTA/ref=oh_details_o02_s00_i00

    Pyle subwoofer between back seats (TBA w Velcro/2 sided industrial tape???). Not yet mounted fully.
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001RJMZRE/ref=oh_details_o00_s00_i00

    Sorry no picks............too bloody hot here to elaborate.
    Questions?......email me.
     
  2. Jul 7, 2012 at 10:12 PM
    #2
    BOB Moore

    BOB Moore [OP] Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Member:
    #79559
    Messages:
    20
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    BOB
    BRUNSWICK, OHIO
    Vehicle:
    PRERUNNER ACCESS CAB
  3. Jul 8, 2012 at 12:19 AM
    #3
    ShaneG

    ShaneG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Member:
    #58641
    Messages:
    154
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Shane
    Jacksonville, FL
    Vehicle:
    11 Prerunner SR5
    I had the easiest variation for my Kenwood. Simply grounded the wire. That was it. No switches, soldering, etc...
     
  4. Jul 8, 2012 at 1:17 AM
    #4
    t4daddy

    t4daddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Member:
    #39041
    Messages:
    7,393
    Gender:
    Male
    North Alabama
    Vehicle:
    2008 PreRunner Double Cab


    Yeah, but it's a tad more complex on the Pioneer line. That unit looks nice I just wired up a relay that I happen to have laying around works great.
     
  5. Jul 8, 2012 at 1:38 AM
    #5
    tuckdaddy

    tuckdaddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Member:
    #59211
    Messages:
    925
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tucker
    Lake McQueeney, Texas
    I just finished this up an hour ago on my kenwood dnx6140. Just ran the parking brake line through a switch and grounded it. But it's as simple as grounding the lime green wire.
     
  6. Jul 8, 2012 at 5:35 AM
    #6
    Maticuno

    Maticuno Resident Pine Swine

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Member:
    #57287
    Messages:
    3,684
    Gender:
    Male
    California High Deserts
    Vehicle:
    08 Silverado Duramax
    Leveling kit with Cognito UCAs, Banks Monster 4" DPF back exhaust
    The Pioneer units are a tad more difficult. I don't know if they've changed things further, but I had to remove the brake wire from the harness and insert it into a different pin in the harness to "ground" it properly. A good resource for anyone with Pioneer nav units:

    www.avic411.com
     

Products Discussed in

To Top