1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

C.A.D.D experts ?

Discussion in 'Jobs & Careers' started by mxracer16, Jul 14, 2009.

  1. Jul 14, 2009 at 8:10 AM
    #1
    mxracer16

    mxracer16 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Member:
    #9403
    Messages:
    75
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2006 trd
    stock stock stock
    Hello TW!!!!!

    I am looking into going back to school.
    I am wanting to get into CADD. I have messed around with it a few years ago and know just a little bit. I was told that Solid Works is what people are getting back into these days.
    I have a few questions about what might be the test usage of my time and money.
    Also what might be the best programs to study for todays markets in the cadd industry.
    And where might i look for good jobs when i get done ( construction , government , auto , motorcycles ect )

    Anyway Thanks for your time.
    Hope sombody out there might have a bit of direction for me.

    Thanks
     
  2. Jul 14, 2009 at 8:17 AM
    #2
    FlawedXJ

    FlawedXJ mall crawlin', web wheelin', concrete cowboy

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Member:
    #10334
    Messages:
    5,942
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Paul
    NorAla
    Vehicle:
    13 F150 FX4, 99 jeep xj.
    I actually have a jeep now. Imagine that.
    I use Solidworks and get angry when i use anything else. I don't know about student licenses for the program, but I know a regular license is wicked expensive. I can get solidedge free through my school. If you have any technical questions feel free to pm me.
     
  3. Jul 14, 2009 at 8:18 AM
    #3
    Deckplate

    Deckplate Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Member:
    #17520
    Messages:
    58
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jerry
    Chicagoland (stuck on the prairie)
    Vehicle:
    '09 TRD Sport
    Tailgate antitheft mod! Undercover tonneau, WeatherTech floorliners
    I use AutocadLT. I use it for electronic diagrams, no 3D. I work with a contractor who uses both Autocad and Solidworks. He has done some cool 3D stuff with Solidworks. I am learning on the fly and whish I had time to go to school for it. It is a good skill to have.
     
  4. Jul 14, 2009 at 8:27 AM
    #4
    mxracer16

    mxracer16 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Member:
    #9403
    Messages:
    75
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2006 trd
    stock stock stock
    sounds good guys.
    i have a meeting here in about an hour with a school in my area and its just to see whats offered for training and education ...ect.

    how would i get into the field?
    do you have any sugestions ?
     
  5. Jul 14, 2009 at 4:29 PM
    #5
    TroutBum

    TroutBum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Member:
    #8871
    Messages:
    217
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Michigan
    Vehicle:
    06 SR5 Access Cab 4x4
    Leer 100R
    mx,

    I think most of the architects in my area are still using AutoCad. Couldn't tell you what version, the last version I worked on was AutoCad 2002. I liked design work when we were busy, but when things slowed it sucked. I'm currently in the project management side of construction, gained a lot of experience working in the design department.

    Mike
     
  6. Jul 22, 2009 at 10:46 AM
    #6
    spaghettiedy

    spaghettiedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Member:
    #9470
    Messages:
    742
    Gender:
    Male
    Pittsburgh
    Vehicle:
    09 DC LB Sport in Black 4x4
    Gray Weathertechs, LG Wet Okoles, Tacome OEM Bedmat
    AutoCAD, IMO hands down. Now, this is completely coming from an "IT Guy" and not an end-user. I work in the construction industry, and that's what people use period. Some use Microstation, but the majority is an AutoCAD flavor. Or a application that relies on AutoCAD to run in the background. It's like the Windows vs Apple concept in a sense that it may this or that product may be better, but that's not what the majority are using.

    My Fiancee has her Associates in CAD, is now going for BS in Civil Eng, and she only uses AutoCAD LT.

    Other products may be "better", but AutoCAD is the standard.
     
  7. Jul 22, 2009 at 10:49 AM
    #7
    spaghettiedy

    spaghettiedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Member:
    #9470
    Messages:
    742
    Gender:
    Male
    Pittsburgh
    Vehicle:
    09 DC LB Sport in Black 4x4
    Gray Weathertechs, LG Wet Okoles, Tacome OEM Bedmat
    ...ohh, and some architects that I deal w/ only use AutoCAD Architecture.

    AutoDesk, makers of AutoCAD, and complete software nazis. So beware of pirated copies
     
  8. Jul 22, 2009 at 11:05 AM
    #8
    Ticketdoctor

    Ticketdoctor Senior Lettuce Washer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Member:
    #11440
    Messages:
    223
    Gender:
    Male
    Ithaca, NY
    Vehicle:
    09 Tacoma Double TRD O.R. 4x4 Timberland Mica
    XM Radio Mod, TRD Skid Plate, Bed Mat, Weathertech, More to come.
    Most of my drafters use AutoCAD 3D, but when I was using CAD I learned on Microstation.

    For Architectural and Land Development most professionals use AutoCAD. You will find that some State and Federal Agencies require Microstation.

    Both of them are becoming more similar as time goes on.
     
  9. Jul 22, 2009 at 11:10 AM
    #9
    spaghettiedy

    spaghettiedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Member:
    #9470
    Messages:
    742
    Gender:
    Male
    Pittsburgh
    Vehicle:
    09 DC LB Sport in Black 4x4
    Gray Weathertechs, LG Wet Okoles, Tacome OEM Bedmat
    Now that you say that, I just remembered that Maryland DOT uses Microstation.
     
  10. Jul 22, 2009 at 11:12 AM
    #10
    sockmonkey

    sockmonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Member:
    #5245
    Messages:
    3,123
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Greg
    Benbrook, SW Fort Worth
    Vehicle:
    2007 White Dbl Cab Pre-Runner
    Retro stripes, , blacked out front bumper, Volant Ram Air intake,URD MAF calibrator, Mr Marv 10" sub box, Alpine HU, Alpine Amp, fog light mod, scan gauge II, RAAMmat front and rear doors, Wet Okole seat covers, blacked out dash. 265/70/16 NST Lite Pulleys
    if you want to work for the "big boys"

    Lockheed, Northrop Gruman, Boeing, Chrysler, most automotive and aircraft companies, get an engineering degree (design or manufacturing) and learn CATIA V5 or Pro-E.

    CATIA is a Dassault Sytemes product who bought Solid Works a while back and combined it with their existing products to create the CATIA V5 interface.

    I know Pro-E is a big player, just dont know who makes it.
     
  11. Jul 22, 2009 at 11:18 AM
    #11
    C_Teachout

    C_Teachout Active Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Member:
    #16660
    Messages:
    27
    Gender:
    Male
    Herkimer, NY
    Vehicle:
    09 Tacoma TRD Sport
    within the next few years regualr CAD is going to be phased out and the new program of choice is going to be REVIT by autodesk. It is a program to create building information models(BIM). Autodesk makes all of the autocad programs however revit will now allow you to build your project, view in 3D add exact finishes, perform walk throughs with very realistic componets and the best thing is clash detection. There are 3 versions of revit, Architectural, structural and MEP. this will allow you to put all of your ductwork and piping into a project and clash detection will pick up if certain ductwork wont fit above a ceiling or if it will impact air flow etc. Companies are switching gear towards revit and if you learn it you can be picked up quick and will be very valuable. I graduate with a BS in construction management in 2 weeks and people who know how to use it are picked up instantly. Valuable not only to architects but contractors who wish to tighten there numbers for a bid. PM if you have any other questions.
     
  12. Jul 22, 2009 at 11:44 AM
    #12
    HBtacoma

    HBtacoma SoCal Tacomas

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Member:
    #2321
    Messages:
    870
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Oscar
    Huntington Beach
    || Deep Black Custom Paint By DUPONT FINISHES w/ Custom Airbrush Artwork || RCD 4.5 Inch Lift Kit || 20x10 Black XD Monster Wheels w/ Toyo MT 33x12.5x20 Tires || SATOSHI Grill || URD TCAI || Flowmaster 40 series dual exhaust || Pioneer AVIC-D3 w/ Bluetooth and Ipod || JL Audio 500/1 and 12" Kicker Sub || FJ 60 Toyota Emblem Painted Red || Black Custom Leather Interior w/graphite perforated body w/Red Double Stiching and TRD Logo || Leather Arm Rest Mod || T-REX Angry Eyelids || 20% Tinted Windows || Black Altezza Taillights || BHLM Headlights || LED Dome Light || LED Map Lights || HID 35w 6000k || Yellow Tinted Fogs || Nokya 2500k_55w Fog Lights || Painted Engine Cover || Bed Extender || Epic Indust. Bed Bar w/Fog Lamps Tinted Yellow ||
    yeah ive been hearing alot about revit, pretty much the same you just said. my uncle whos been using autocad for the past 10+ years is now taking revit classes and says its difficult. most students are people like him who have been using autocad for many years.

    im currently taking CAD classes, Do you recommend taking a revit class also or should i finish learning the basics of CAD then move onto revit?
     
  13. Jul 22, 2009 at 11:48 AM
    #13
    C_Teachout

    C_Teachout Active Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Member:
    #16660
    Messages:
    27
    Gender:
    Male
    Herkimer, NY
    Vehicle:
    09 Tacoma TRD Sport
    hard to say, I honestly think if you learn cad first it may be harder. I took autocad as a freshman and am damn good at it, but Revit is a whole new world and I am lost in it. Currently taking classes to learn a bit but the way u can use commands in cad, you cant do that in revit
     
  14. Jul 22, 2009 at 11:53 AM
    #14
    HBtacoma

    HBtacoma SoCal Tacomas

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Member:
    #2321
    Messages:
    870
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Oscar
    Huntington Beach
    || Deep Black Custom Paint By DUPONT FINISHES w/ Custom Airbrush Artwork || RCD 4.5 Inch Lift Kit || 20x10 Black XD Monster Wheels w/ Toyo MT 33x12.5x20 Tires || SATOSHI Grill || URD TCAI || Flowmaster 40 series dual exhaust || Pioneer AVIC-D3 w/ Bluetooth and Ipod || JL Audio 500/1 and 12" Kicker Sub || FJ 60 Toyota Emblem Painted Red || Black Custom Leather Interior w/graphite perforated body w/Red Double Stiching and TRD Logo || Leather Arm Rest Mod || T-REX Angry Eyelids || 20% Tinted Windows || Black Altezza Taillights || BHLM Headlights || LED Dome Light || LED Map Lights || HID 35w 6000k || Yellow Tinted Fogs || Nokya 2500k_55w Fog Lights || Painted Engine Cover || Bed Extender || Epic Indust. Bed Bar w/Fog Lamps Tinted Yellow ||
    true, i agree. well since i get fee waivers and financial aid im going to try and get into a revit class this semester, my uncle said for him to go thru a whole semester of revit it cost a crazy amount of $$$$ but luckily his job covered it.:)
     
  15. Jul 22, 2009 at 11:58 AM
    #15
    hillbillynwv

    hillbillynwv Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Member:
    #7555
    Messages:
    1,065
    Gender:
    Male
    Fairmont, WV
    Vehicle:
    08 Tacoma 4x4 TRD V6 SR5
    Rear Leaf Spring TSB, Front Bilstein 5100's set to 1.75, Goodyear Wrangler DuraTrac 265/75/R16 tires, Black WeatherTech Floor Liners, aFe Pro Dry S air filter, lighted 4x4 switch......
    I've been drafting using cadd for about 16 years now. I drew on the board for about 4 years then went to cadd. I think I started with Autocad R10. I currently work for a engineering firm doing all of their structural drawings. The cadd I'm using here is Autocad Architecture 2010. I don't no jack shit about 3D or Revit, I'll leave that for the people smarter than me. mxracer16....I used to draw for a structural engineering firm in Orlando. PM me and I will e-mail you their website if you are looking for a job.
     
  16. Jul 23, 2009 at 12:03 PM
    #16
    eordonez

    eordonez Living vicariously through mjp2

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Member:
    #5340
    Messages:
    8,363
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ed
    Chihuahua, Mexico
    Vehicle:
    TRD Sport Dcab 4x2 Black Sand Pearl
    OEM All Weather Mats, wheel locks, Toyota Silver Tube steps.....
    I use Archicad, autocad, 3ds max with vray as renderer, usually the process is design at archicad, then export to max and render and then PS for post processing the images, autocad i use it as a secondary or aux program, dont really like it that much, i used to use it all the time for drawing my plans and then 3d modeling, but i skip a lot of steps using archicad.... for my final construction drawings i do them on archicad also...
     
  17. Sep 9, 2009 at 10:00 PM
    #17
    totmacher

    totmacher Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Member:
    #22430
    Messages:
    733
    Gender:
    Male
    TN (memphis mostly)
    Vehicle:
    05 PreRunner Access Cab TRD Sport
    BHLM, Flowmaster 50 series, TRD CAI, Hoen all weather fog bulbs, window tint, LED interior lights (cupholder & floor), exterior LED courtesy lights. OME/Dakar lift. 50W reverse lights. Painted wheels.
    I've used AutoCad, Pro-E, Solid Edge, and Solid Works. I've worked with construction equipment design and medical instrument design.

    Anyone other than architecture, landscaping, or construction that is still using 2D is way behind the times and likely hurting themselves through costs of non-recurrent engineering (stuff like detailing drawings).

    I'd recommend learning Solid Works or Pro-E. They are the most commonly used 3D design packages I've seen for consumer products, medical devices, construction equipment, and utility designers.

    Pro-E is a little tougher to learn in my opinion but once you know it, the others seem really easy to pick up on.

    I'm currently looking for a job (engineer) and what I've heard from multiple companies is that the main thing is for someone be able to visualize concepts and work in the 3D model environment. Knowing the specific software they use is just icing on the cake a lot of times.
     
  18. Sep 25, 2009 at 1:37 PM
    #18
    EmoSlayer

    EmoSlayer METAL!

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Member:
    #21271
    Messages:
    166
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Scott
    PA
    Vehicle:
    TRD Off-Road
    Bilstein 5100s all 4 corners, front set at 0.85 w/ eibach coils metalcast red, driver's side lean spacer, rear tsb leaf pack with tsb aal from toytec, 265/75/16 goodyear wrangler authority, MT Classic III 16x8 4.5bs, LR UCAs
    I'm a civil engineer and surveyor for a large firm in PA, PennDOT is still Microstation based, however most DOT's have or are in the process of switching to AutoCAD, yes even PA is in the works of switching to AutoCAD. The best software out there for civil/survey work hands down is Civil3D 2010, it runs over top of AutoCAD much like Eagle Point runs over AutoCAD. If you are going back to school I would recommend doing at least a 2 year civil program, because most employers don't just hire drafters anymore, they are looking for people they can start out as drafters but over time move them up the ladder. Just a thought, good luck.
     
  19. Sep 25, 2009 at 1:45 PM
    #19
    thestrangebrew

    thestrangebrew AlphaPlanner

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Member:
    #21878
    Messages:
    567
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Dos Palos CA
    Vehicle:
    TRD 4x4 Rugged Trail Edition
    Black Badges, Black Center Console
    My office uses autocad right now. Not sure which version. But our applications are pretty limited. I'm a landuse planner so I have our guys do stuff in cad like drawing parcel maps etc. But we use a ton of GIS too so I'm not sure how much cad we're actually using nowadays.
     
To Top