1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

C-channel on cab side of bed?

Discussion in '3rd Gen. Tacomas (2016+)' started by azkick-n40, Nov 12, 2015.

  1. Nov 12, 2015 at 7:24 AM
    #1
    azkick-n40

    azkick-n40 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2015
    Member:
    #169248
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Just picked up my 2016 DCLB and there is no c-channel on the cab side of the bed. My 2009 DCSB had one. I use it for my mountain bike fork mount.

    Is this normal?

    Can I purchase?

    Thanks,
    Brian
     
    dreamlane likes this.
  2. Nov 12, 2015 at 7:37 AM
    #2
    forty2

    forty2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Member:
    #162379
    Messages:
    1,383
    Cascadia
    Vehicle:
    2016 DCSB OR 6MT
    Mike G likes this.
  3. Nov 12, 2015 at 7:53 AM
    #3
    azkick-n40

    azkick-n40 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2015
    Member:
    #169248
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Thanks Forty2.

    May just see if the header rail is drilled the same from my 2009 and transplant it to the 2016.
     
  4. Nov 12, 2015 at 8:30 AM
    #4
    forty2

    forty2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Member:
    #162379
    Messages:
    1,383
    Cascadia
    Vehicle:
    2016 DCSB OR 6MT
    I'm pretty sure it is drilled the same, a few people on here have swapped it over from 2gen to 3gen.
     
  5. Nov 12, 2015 at 8:51 AM
    #5
    azkick-n40

    azkick-n40 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2015
    Member:
    #169248
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Rock on - thx again Forty2
     
  6. Nov 12, 2015 at 9:11 AM
    #6
    atrouth

    atrouth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2015
    Member:
    #165422
    Messages:
    573
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Anthony
    Vehicle:
    2016 MGM Tacoma TRD Sport DCLB 4x4
    It is, I took mine off my 2nd gen before I traded it and its now mounted to my 3rd gen for the exact same purpose as you
     
  7. Nov 12, 2015 at 9:32 AM
    #7
    dreamlane

    dreamlane Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Member:
    #159748
    Messages:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    Thanks for this thread and the part number. I've been meaning to ask this but kept forgetting.
     
  8. Nov 12, 2015 at 9:33 AM
    #8
    nv529

    nv529 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Member:
    #129448
    Messages:
    849
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    Belleville, MI
    Vehicle:
    1998 RC 4x4 (sold), 2008 Scion TC, 2010 FJC, Pending 3rd Gen
  9. Nov 12, 2015 at 9:33 AM
    #9
    atrouth

    atrouth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2015
    Member:
    #165422
    Messages:
    573
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Anthony
    Vehicle:
    2016 MGM Tacoma TRD Sport DCLB 4x4
    Last I checked it could be bought on Amazon
     
  10. Nov 12, 2015 at 9:34 AM
    #10
    atrouth

    atrouth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2015
    Member:
    #165422
    Messages:
    573
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Anthony
    Vehicle:
    2016 MGM Tacoma TRD Sport DCLB 4x4
    The fasteners are already in your bed, there is a rail cap thingy that is fastened there. Just unscrew them, add the channel and screw them back in. I think they are T25 Torx or something like that. The channel fits if you want to leave that cap on there too
     
    nv529 likes this.
  11. Nov 12, 2015 at 10:47 AM
    #11
    forty2

    forty2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Member:
    #162379
    Messages:
    1,383
    Cascadia
    Vehicle:
    2016 DCSB OR 6MT
    I don't know, still waiting on mine to show up (and my truck for that matter), but as @atrouth points out you can just reuse the existing hardware.
     
  12. Dec 12, 2015 at 11:33 AM
    #12
    therealmrmike

    therealmrmike New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Member:
    #172054
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    I just picked mine up and noticed there isn't a channel on the front of the bed only the sides is this normal?
     

Products Discussed in

To Top