1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

CAI installed, now the truck won't run

Discussion in '4 Cylinder' started by Agovita, Oct 26, 2010.

  1. Oct 26, 2010 at 7:52 PM
    #1
    Agovita

    Agovita [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Member:
    #45277
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Russel
    Washington
    Vehicle:
    07 Prerunner
    Spark plugs, Cold air intake
    First of all, Hello!! I'm new to the world of Tacoma's and just bought mine about three months ago. :wave:

    Now, I started to mod my taco just a little while ago, and I decided to go with a DIY universal kit (possibly a bad idea?) it didn't come with nearly enough adapters and connectors, or a MAF sensor piece, but after getting it all together it looked good. Everything checked out. Plugged in the MAF, plugged in the battery. Started up the truck, and it started, and died immediately. Start again, rev it up a bit. It'll stay alive, sometimes, if I keep it around 4-5 K rpm. Anything lower, and it just dies. Interesting :(

    Upon someone's advice, I replaced the MAF sensor. Problem persists.

    Now, I don't know a lot about tacos, and I don't know a lot about automobile engines, I've always been a motorcycle guy, but it seems to me like there's 3 things that it could be; spark, gas, air. It's suckin TONS of air, and has new spark plugs.

    The truck runs without the MAF sensor plugged in. Enough so that I can drive up to about 30 mph/2k rpm, no/minimal throttle response. I feel like there's no gas pressure.

    Already cleaned and replaced the MAF. It runs no differently with the filter (unoiled) on or off. It runs no differently with either of the vacuum hoses connected.


    What could be going on here?
    :frusty:
    I was gonna wait until my truck wasn't a total bone stock boring truck before I got an account here, but fate rushes things I suppose.

    Thanks a ton!!!
     
  2. Oct 26, 2010 at 7:54 PM
    #2
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,192
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Put the stock stuff back on, and see if it still does it.
     
  3. Oct 26, 2010 at 7:54 PM
    #3
    The1youluv2hate

    The1youluv2hate Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Member:
    #43233
    Messages:
    2,715
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Peps
    SP... CaL
    Vehicle:
    11 TRD sPort
    5100's@1.75 Horns (Andres) Satoshi TRD cat back BHLM
    Welcome... Pics or it didn't happen
     
  4. Oct 26, 2010 at 7:57 PM
    #4
    Agovita

    Agovita [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Member:
    #45277
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Russel
    Washington
    Vehicle:
    07 Prerunner
    Spark plugs, Cold air intake
    Camera recently took a fairly nice fall. As far as I know it's not in working condition. The pipe diameter is 3 inches. I'm not sure if this is larger? The sensor isn't in exactly the stock location, but it's only about a foot away.
     
  5. Oct 26, 2010 at 8:16 PM
    #5
    2TRunner

    2TRunner Don't give up here just yet

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Member:
    #40980
    Messages:
    3,001
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Around To Many People
    Vehicle:
    1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Lugs
    Brute Force Bumpers: rear & custom front tube, Saw-A-Way Racerunner 2.5 Coilovers with Total Chaos UCAs. Icon AAL.
    Go with C4x4s advice first, put the OE stuff back on, will give you an immediate answer as to if the problem is in the CAI or not. Truck was running perfectly normal before the CAI I assume then?

    Could be something is clogged, restricting flow. That or a leak.

    Either way, it's not getting enough air at start-up to even idle. Is that air being restricted or is being lost somewhere? However when you rev the engine you may be sucking enough air into the engine to run a little but would run like crap.

    You say, "it's sucking tons of air". Please explain, are you hearing a different/louder noise with the CAI on?
     
  6. Oct 26, 2010 at 8:41 PM
    #6
    MowTaco

    MowTaco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Member:
    #22530
    Messages:
    3,820
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    South Dakota
    Vehicle:
    03 GMC Sierra
    There's some kind of line I remember going to the top of the air box on mine... I thought it could be a vac line?? Could this be it?
     
  7. Oct 26, 2010 at 8:43 PM
    #7
    MowTaco

    MowTaco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Member:
    #22530
    Messages:
    3,820
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    South Dakota
    Vehicle:
    03 GMC Sierra
    I had a pic!
    It's this 'un

    [​IMG]
     
  8. Oct 26, 2010 at 8:46 PM
    #8
    xroller

    xroller Blowin by em sideways

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Member:
    #36060
    Messages:
    2,356
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ramon
    Albuquerque New Mexico
    Vehicle:
    2006 Toyota Tacoma Xrunner Speedway Blue
    1 hp mod
    I would check your piping.... it seems like you have a massive leak somewhere..... whether the piping is to small or large it won't make it die... it will make it run lean or rich but it won't die unless the piping is massively different in size...
     
  9. Oct 27, 2010 at 12:16 PM
    #9
    Agovita

    Agovita [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Member:
    #45277
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Russel
    Washington
    Vehicle:
    07 Prerunner
    Spark plugs, Cold air intake
    Already checked for leaks. I sealed on all my vacuum hoses; no leak small or large.

    The 3 inch pipe can't be THAT much larger, if any. The MAF doesn't have a ton of room around it when I put it in.

    Mowtaco; thanks for the pic. There is that vacuum line, and it is connected and sealed.

    What I mean by it's sucking tons of air, is that if you start up the engine (remember, runs without the MAF plugged in) you can feel the suction against your hand pretty strongly. Its going SOMEWHERE and since there's no leaks, I'd assume it's going into the engine.

    I'm puttin the stock stuff back on later today, when I get off work at 4:30
     
  10. Oct 27, 2010 at 2:21 PM
    #10
    Kredence

    Kredence Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Member:
    #44607
    Messages:
    60
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justin
    Arizona
    Vehicle:
    '00 Runner
    Not to argue but how would a slightly larger pipe cause miss-readings? I've worked with a wide range of modified vehicles, including turbo and have never experience miss reading due to pipes. Out flowing from huge turbos, yes...but a pipe an unrestricted pipe shouldn't cause any air speed/density changes at the sensor....at least I can't think of any.
     
  11. Oct 27, 2010 at 2:24 PM
    #11
    65tacodude

    65tacodude Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Member:
    #18019
    Messages:
    692
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Wade
    Manteno, IL
    Vehicle:
    '16 4Runner Trail Barcelona Red
    OEM running boards and roof rack. Yellow fog bulbs and WeatherTech mats and window visors.
    Is the MAP sensor installed with the correct flow? Did that on a Tundra and it would start, but then just die out. Turned it around and ran great....
     
  12. Oct 27, 2010 at 2:38 PM
    #12
    rockgecko03

    rockgecko03 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Member:
    #32106
    Messages:
    1,838
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    Rockwall, TX
    Vehicle:
    2000 4runner
    These symptoms occured when I was wheeling my old ranger a few years ago. I restarted it several times and it would just die, and it would only run if I kept the rpms up. So, we set the e-brake and popped the hood. All that happened was the clamp came loose and the k&n fell off the end of the intake tube. We put it back on and all was good. Therefore, I can only guess that it is possible you're getting too much unrestricted air. What kind of filter did this kit come with btw?
     
  13. Oct 27, 2010 at 2:43 PM
    #13
    rbeezy

    rbeezy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Member:
    #43325
    Messages:
    3,328
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ron
    Bay Area
    Vehicle:
    2011 Tacoma SR5
    did you tighten the clamps at the MAF and at the throttle body?
     
  14. Oct 27, 2010 at 2:47 PM
    #14
    pojo82

    pojo82 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Member:
    #25105
    Messages:
    82
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    NE Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    06 TRD double cab
    flowmaster exhaust, URD cold air intake, URD MAF calibrator, Thorley Headers Billy 5100s set to 2.5 lift in front, Billy shocks with add a leaf in the rear Wet Okole seat covers
    had the same situation on a "universal" CAI on a Stratus R/T that i had. cant remeber the exact problem but it was related to the MAF sensor. got a differnt CAI and it ran great. i currently have a URD CAI on my tacoma
     
  15. Oct 27, 2010 at 5:09 PM
    #15
    Agovita

    Agovita [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Member:
    #45277
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Russel
    Washington
    Vehicle:
    07 Prerunner
    Spark plugs, Cold air intake
    Alright, here we go. Changed back to the stock system, and it runs, no engine codes, with my old MAF even (anyone need one for an 07?) I've gotten it down to the only changes AT all in position/intake/output/anything that would matter... the MAF was turned 90* to the side. I'll let ya'll know if I get it figured out with my CAI, and figure out a picture :)

    Thanks a TON for all the replies guys!
     
  16. Oct 27, 2010 at 5:12 PM
    #16
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,192
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    The MAF being turned was probably the issue...It needs to be in the air stream.
     
  17. Oct 27, 2010 at 5:26 PM
    #17
    Agovita

    Agovita [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Member:
    #45277
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Russel
    Washington
    Vehicle:
    07 Prerunner
    Spark plugs, Cold air intake
    That's what I was thinking. I'm modifying the piece I have to see if I can make it work.
     
To Top