1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Can anyone identify this noise?

Discussion in 'Technical Chat' started by beckettisgod, Feb 22, 2012.

1. Feb 22, 2012 at 3:08 PM
    beckettisgod

beckettisgod [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Matt
    Vermont
    Vehicle:
    '09 TRD Sport Barcelona Red
    Fog light anytime mod, Black lower valence, In-channel AVS Ventvisors, drop-in K&N filter so far...
    I hate to start another "WTF is this noise????" thread, but I'm not really good with this kind of stuff and before I head to the stealership or local garage I'm wondering if anyone has any insight on this noise.

Truck is an '05 TRD sport 4.0L V6 with 93k on it, runs fine otherwise.

It only makes the rattleish noise in gear, R, D, 4, 3, 2, 1, and in H4 and L4. Heard outside the truck decently and somewhat inside the truck but seems to go away at higher speeds. No noise in neutral or park...other than the usual.

First vid is just of the truck in park idling, included for comparison (excuse the honda with a fartpipe towards the end of the vid lol)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ncSj2LTF8YA

The truck in gear (D), with the e-brake set...if you listen you can hear the rattle or w/e it is.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w_MHV_TUkxI

2. Feb 23, 2012 at 2:29 PM
    beckettisgod

Member:
    First Name:
    Matt
    Vermont
    Vehicle:
    Fog light anytime mod, Black lower valence, In-channel AVS Ventvisors, drop-in K&N filter so far...
    Nobody can relate to this sound while in gear?

3. Feb 23, 2012 at 2:34 PM
    gainman

gainman Semper Fi

Member:
    SW Florida
    Vehicle: