1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Can I install a powered sub on my stock entune premium system?

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Iconnick, Jan 6, 2020.

  1. Jan 6, 2020 at 2:16 PM
    #1
    Iconnick

    Iconnick [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2020
    Member:
    #315309
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nicholas
    Vehicle:
    2016 White Tacoma TRD Sport (Access Cab)
    pinktaco808 likes this.
  2. Jan 6, 2020 at 2:24 PM
    #2
    destin_meeks

    destin_meeks I fix people's crappy stereos

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Member:
    #223997
    Messages:
    2,013
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Destin
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    Vehicle:
    2017 SSM DoubleCab TRD Off-Road 4x4
    If it’s non-JBL, it does not have a factory sub (well, it shouldn’t)
    You can absolutely hook up a powered sub to factory unit. You won’t need anything additional. You want to grab signal from the front speaker channels.
     
  3. Jan 6, 2020 at 2:34 PM
    #3
    Iconnick

    Iconnick [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2020
    Member:
    #315309
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nicholas
    Vehicle:
    2016 White Tacoma TRD Sport (Access Cab)
    It's the entune premium package so I believe it has something (possibly very small). When I turn volume up high the mirrors vibrate a little bit and the bass is alright. But thanks for the info. Just not familiar with amps and if I'd run into issues.
     
  4. Jan 6, 2020 at 2:37 PM
    #4
    FishnTx

    FishnTx Father of the one they call Asher

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Member:
    #214004
    Messages:
    3,997
    Gender:
    Male
    South East Texas
    Vehicle:
    ‘17 Trd 4x4 OR
    I have,Im running stock head unit with a rockford processor
     
  5. Jan 6, 2020 at 2:42 PM
    #5
    Iconnick

    Iconnick [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2020
    Member:
    #315309
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nicholas
    Vehicle:
    2016 White Tacoma TRD Sport (Access Cab)
    And you had no issues with anything?
     
    FishnTx likes this.
  6. Jan 6, 2020 at 2:47 PM
    #6
    FishnTx

    FishnTx Father of the one they call Asher

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Member:
    #214004
    Messages:
    3,997
    Gender:
    Male
    South East Texas
    Vehicle:
    ‘17 Trd 4x4 OR
    Nope have rf600x4 to my mids and highs and two rf500x1 to my subs , I have the software for it but I havnt messed with it. Me and the installer played around with it for a few eq i liked
     
    Iconnick [OP] likes this.
  7. Jan 6, 2020 at 2:48 PM
    #7
    destin_meeks

    destin_meeks I fix people's crappy stereos

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Member:
    #223997
    Messages:
    2,013
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Destin
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    Vehicle:
    2017 SSM DoubleCab TRD Off-Road 4x4
    the factory 6x9's put out more bass than you would expect.
     
  8. Jan 6, 2020 at 2:53 PM
    #8
    TeeYoda

    TeeYoda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Member:
    #226056
    Messages:
    160
    Gender:
    Male
    PNW
    Vehicle:
    2003 2.7L Tacoma sr5 4x4
    You do not have a factory sub. You're just hearing the stock 6 x 9 speakers in the doors. And, yes, you can add a powered sub.
     
  9. Jan 7, 2020 at 10:57 AM
    #9
    w8lifter21

    w8lifter21 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2020
    Member:
    #315403
    Messages:
    3

Products Discussed in

To Top