1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Can you amp the stock head unit?

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by ChibbMD, Apr 23, 2008.

  1. Apr 23, 2008 at 9:01 PM
    #1
    ChibbMD

    ChibbMD [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Member:
    #5567
    Messages:
    107
    Gender:
    Male
    Dallas, TX
    Vehicle:
    08 PreRunner Double Cab
    I pulled the amp out of my last vehicle and was wondering if it would be possible to use it on the stock head unit. I've pulled it out once to install a iPod interface but I can't recall if it had the necessary outputs to take advantage of an amp.
     
  2. Apr 23, 2008 at 9:07 PM
    #2
    atsaubrey

    atsaubrey Dealer/Sales Rep for Sundown Audio.

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Member:
    #6087
    Messages:
    416
    california
    Vehicle:
    blue 2007 double cab
    Sundown Audio 100.4 and 1500D, Pioneer 880PRS, Zapco Refernece 6.5" comps, 2 10" Image Dynamics IDQ, 200ft of Second Skin deadener, Kicker wire
    If I am understanding you, you only want to add an amp to the factory head unit or are you saying an amp and Ipod? If it is only the amp, than a simple LOC is what you need although I would recommend a RF 360.1 or .2, an MTX ReQ, or JL Audio Clean Sweep. If you need help I will be more than willing to help you out.
     
  3. Apr 23, 2008 at 9:12 PM
    #3
    lsocoee

    lsocoee My hair is all natural Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Member:
    #872
    Messages:
    10,116
    First Name:
    Hotdog
    Vehicle:
    2007 PreRunner SR5 Double Cab
    Wet Okole Underwear
    Many amps accept speaker line inputs, that's what you would need to run an amp.
     
  4. Apr 23, 2008 at 9:16 PM
    #4
    ChibbMD

    ChibbMD [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Member:
    #5567
    Messages:
    107
    Gender:
    Male
    Dallas, TX
    Vehicle:
    08 PreRunner Double Cab
    Yeah, I already have the iPod hooked up using a PA12-Toy. I was hoping to use the amp from my old truck in my new Taco although I really don't feel like replacing the stock 6-disk changer. I had an aftermarket head unit in the last vehicle and have only used aftermarket head units when amping other systems. I did a little searching (which I should have done first) and found out about the need for a LOC or amp with high level inputs. You can score a cheap LOC for $20 but I will check out the ones you mentioned. Thanks.
     
  5. Apr 23, 2008 at 9:17 PM
    #5
    MotoXFreeStyle61

    MotoXFreeStyle61 Displaced Texan

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Member:
    #1616
    Messages:
    865
    Gender:
    Male
    San Antonio TX
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner SR5 4Cyl, Access Cab, 5
    Black Head Light Mod, Tacoma All Weather Mats, ScanGauge II, Tonnaeu Bed Cover, 40% Tint, Added Fog Lights, 600W x 1 Alpine MRP-M650 Amp, Alpine 10" Type-R SWR-1022D Sub, Secondary Air Filter Removed, Day Time Running Lights, K&N Drop In Air Filter (oiled), Westin Bullbar (Black Powder), Alpine IVA-W505 w/Nav, JL Audio 6.5" Front Speakers, Toyota SR5 Seat Covers, 2.5" Toytec Spacer
    If I am correct, (which is only half the time according to my finance), The stock head unit has no RCA outputs. The only way you can connect an external amp to the stock head unit is to to have speaker level inputs on the amp itself. You are pretty much tapping into the speaker wires and running that to the amp. I know that there are modules you can buy that supply RCA inputs for amps. Regardless on how you go about it, you will have to tap into the speaker wires going out. I currently have an Alpine amp connected to my stock head unit.
     
  6. Apr 23, 2008 at 10:22 PM
    #6
    atsaubrey

    atsaubrey Dealer/Sales Rep for Sundown Audio.

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Member:
    #6087
    Messages:
    416
    california
    Vehicle:
    blue 2007 double cab
    Sundown Audio 100.4 and 1500D, Pioneer 880PRS, Zapco Refernece 6.5" comps, 2 10" Image Dynamics IDQ, 200ft of Second Skin deadener, Kicker wire
    I know the LOC thing sounds so simple....it is actually untill you get into factory "bass limiting and factory eq'ing", that is why I recommended the higher priced units.
     
  7. Apr 25, 2008 at 10:03 AM
    #7
    jonny

    jonny Betty White Edition Heep ZJ

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Member:
    #1887
    Messages:
    8,393
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    high to low converter. like 8 bucks on ebay man :D
     
  8. Apr 25, 2008 at 2:44 PM
    #8
    ChibbMD

    ChibbMD [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Member:
    #5567
    Messages:
    107
    Gender:
    Male
    Dallas, TX
    Vehicle:
    08 PreRunner Double Cab
    My amp actually has the speaker level inputs so I can connect that way with no need for a LOC. Still might not be the best because of factory stereo EQ but I don't know.

    Here's what I'm thinking about: 6.5 component speakers with 1 inch domes in the front, 6.5 rears, all amped by a four channel amp using the speaker level inputs with the stock HU. Using a separate mono amp for the little enclosed 10" I just picked up from atsaubrey.

    I think I would be pretty happy with that. Certainly an improvement over stock, but I'd love any input you guys have.
     
  9. Apr 25, 2008 at 4:14 PM
    #9
    atsaubrey

    atsaubrey Dealer/Sales Rep for Sundown Audio.

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Member:
    #6087
    Messages:
    416
    california
    Vehicle:
    blue 2007 double cab
    Sundown Audio 100.4 and 1500D, Pioneer 880PRS, Zapco Refernece 6.5" comps, 2 10" Image Dynamics IDQ, 200ft of Second Skin deadener, Kicker wire
    I would highly recommend the higher end units. The MTX can be had for $100 right now. If you are looking for amps....I might know someone with some kickass ones ;)
     
  10. Apr 25, 2008 at 4:47 PM
    #10
    ChibbMD

    ChibbMD [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Member:
    #5567
    Messages:
    107
    Gender:
    Male
    Dallas, TX
    Vehicle:
    08 PreRunner Double Cab
    Higher end units? You mean head units, subs, speakers, or amps. I'm good to go on the amps. I have two hanging around from my last vehicle.
     
  11. Apr 25, 2008 at 5:26 PM
    #11
    atsaubrey

    atsaubrey Dealer/Sales Rep for Sundown Audio.

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Member:
    #6087
    Messages:
    416
    california
    Vehicle:
    blue 2007 double cab
    Sundown Audio 100.4 and 1500D, Pioneer 880PRS, Zapco Refernece 6.5" comps, 2 10" Image Dynamics IDQ, 200ft of Second Skin deadener, Kicker wire
    the higher end LOC's is what I meant. Factory EQ and Bass limiting on the factory decks can make the aftermorket stuff sound horrid. The higher end LOC's can eliminate the EQ and "restore" the bass limiting.
     
  12. Apr 27, 2008 at 1:07 PM
    #12
    Mr Marv

    Mr Marv Well-Known Member Vendor

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Member:
    #1009
    Messages:
    822
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Marv
    Monterey Bay California
  13. Apr 27, 2008 at 6:42 PM
    #13
    ChibbMD

    ChibbMD [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Member:
    #5567
    Messages:
    107
    Gender:
    Male
    Dallas, TX
    Vehicle:
    08 PreRunner Double Cab
    After some reading and help from atsaubrey I purchased the MTX ReQ. After reading Mr Marv's post it sounds like I won't be able to use the factory volume control without negating the effects of the MTX device. Is this correct? How would you hook up an external volume control? It's really going to suck if this is the case...
     
  14. Apr 27, 2008 at 9:30 PM
    #14
    Mr Marv

    Mr Marv Well-Known Member Vendor

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Member:
    #1009
    Messages:
    822
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Marv
    Monterey Bay California
    The MTX does not use software like the JL Cleansweep etc to "flatten" the factory response so you don't need an external volume control. :) Basically it is a reasonably priced (IMO of course :D) way to add amps to your factory headunit and allow the bass to come through at higher volumes (unlike the factory headunit which limits bass at higher volumes to keep from blowing the factory speakers).
     
  15. May 25, 2008 at 3:45 PM
    #15
    exlabrat

    exlabrat New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Member:
    #6839
    Messages:
    1
    SOCAL
    Vehicle:
    08 Access
    i notice that there is two req's available the ReQ and the ReQ5 which one is better??
     
  16. May 25, 2008 at 4:48 PM
    #16
    Mr Marv

    Mr Marv Well-Known Member Vendor

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Member:
    #1009
    Messages:
    822
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Marv
    Monterey Bay California
    The "5" is a 5 channel and the standard is a 3 channel so it depends on your application as to which is "better".
     
To Top