1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

cat5e

Discussion in 'Technology' started by 07trd4x4, Aug 21, 2009.

  1. Aug 21, 2009 at 7:43 AM
    #1
    07trd4x4

    07trd4x4 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Member:
    #18143
    Messages:
    13,573
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Greg
    Sacramento CA
    Vehicle:
    LX470
    how much cat5e can you run before you lose signal strength?
     
  2. Aug 21, 2009 at 7:50 AM
    #2
    Brunes

    Brunes abides.

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Member:
    #7011
    Messages:
    17,641
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rotorhead
    DC or New Jersey - Depends on the day....
    Vehicle:
    08 Red/Graphite and Satin Black
    Inside: Tint, Wet Okole 1/2 Piped Red/Black Covers, Black Weathertech Digital Fit Mats, URD Short Throw w/ TWM Weighted Knob, USA Spec iPod adapter. Outside: 4300K Retro w/ Angel Eyes and Red Shrouds, 5000K Blazer Fog Light Retrofit, Debadge, Bed Locking Handle, Satin Black Rims Performance: TRD/Steigmeier Blower w/ 2.7 Pulley. 668 Injectors and 320 LPH AEM Fuel pump. URD UCON and 7th Injector. DTLT Headers, URD Y-Pipe, Wicked Flow Muffler. Suspension: Both: OME Shocks Front: 886X's and TC UCAs Rear: Dakars Armor: Relentless Front Bumper Relentless High Clearance Rear w/ Tire/Rotopax Swing Out Relentless Front, Mid, and TCase skids BAMF Diff Skid Recovery and Spares: Fullsize Spare Tire 2x2 gal Rotopax 1x1 gal Rotopax 1x1 gal Water Rotopax Warn 9.5XP-S Winch Hi-Lift Extreme 60" Ironman Off-Road Recovery Kit
    I think the standards require CAT5e runs (including terminal patch cables) to be 100m or less. As far as losing signal stretngth before that...I don't think you will notice much...The standard is the standard for a reason.
     
  3. Aug 21, 2009 at 8:00 AM
    #3
    jiles111

    jiles111 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Member:
    #17718
    Messages:
    53
    Gender:
    Male
    Abilene, TX
    Vehicle:
    09 RegCab 4x4 Super White
    Yep 300 feet
    If you want to go further, you will have to place a switch at 300 and run the rest.
     
  4. Aug 21, 2009 at 8:13 AM
    #4
    07trd4x4

    07trd4x4 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Member:
    #18143
    Messages:
    13,573
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Greg
    Sacramento CA
    Vehicle:
    LX470
    cool... thanks guys!!!!!
     
  5. Aug 21, 2009 at 8:46 AM
    #5
    Chickenmunga

    Chickenmunga Nuggety

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Member:
    #5877
    Messages:
    6,949
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Hillsboro, Oregon
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Offroad DC 4x4 (read the build)
    People who are usually worried about things over 300ft will switch to fiber, which I believe is now cheaper to install in those situations.
     
  6. Aug 21, 2009 at 8:53 AM
    #6
    07trd4x4

    07trd4x4 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Member:
    #18143
    Messages:
    13,573
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Greg
    Sacramento CA
    Vehicle:
    LX470
    we have a fiber optic line.. but we use cat5e in netowrk... you can get fiberoptic... if soo where?

    BTW i am asking stupid questions... i dont know much about these thinks
     
  7. Aug 21, 2009 at 9:06 AM
    #7
    07trd4x4

    07trd4x4 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Member:
    #18143
    Messages:
    13,573
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Greg
    Sacramento CA
    Vehicle:
    LX470
    can you run fiber optic line straight to the switch/router? because i think the way the house i am working on has fiber optic line running into a junction box and out of the box it is cat5 to the router..
     
  8. Aug 21, 2009 at 9:13 AM
    #8
    07trd4x4

    07trd4x4 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Member:
    #18143
    Messages:
    13,573
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Greg
    Sacramento CA
    Vehicle:
    LX470
  9. Aug 21, 2009 at 9:15 AM
    #9
    TengoTaco

    TengoTaco Wish i was wheelin

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Member:
    #6892
    Messages:
    613
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tyler
    San Diego, CA
    Vehicle:
    2001 TRD stock
    None
     
  10. Aug 21, 2009 at 9:21 AM
    #10
    07trd4x4

    07trd4x4 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Member:
    #18143
    Messages:
    13,573
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Greg
    Sacramento CA
    Vehicle:
    LX470
     
  11. Aug 21, 2009 at 12:30 PM
    #11
    Chickenmunga

    Chickenmunga Nuggety

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Member:
    #5877
    Messages:
    6,949
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Hillsboro, Oregon
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Offroad DC 4x4 (read the build)
    There's no need to bump something that quick. Unless you are in the off-topic section, most posts don't feature sub-5 minute turnaround responses :p
     
  12. Aug 21, 2009 at 12:36 PM
    #12
    Rudbwoy7s

    Rudbwoy7s Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Member:
    #9114
    Messages:
    1,504
    Gender:
    Male
    TEXAS
    Vehicle:
    08 Double cab 4x4 sr5
    3" Revtek suspension lift, 17" Black and silver American Eagle Alloy wheels, 285/70 Nitto Terra Grapplers, Flowmaster 40 series muffler, sockmonkey brake light cover, Maglight mod, Viper alarm, Smith & Wesson hitch receiver cover
    Yes, if you have GBIC fiber interfaces on the router/switch.
     
  13. Aug 21, 2009 at 12:36 PM
    #13
    Rudbwoy7s

    Rudbwoy7s Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Member:
    #9114
    Messages:
    1,504
    Gender:
    Male
    TEXAS
    Vehicle:
    08 Double cab 4x4 sr5
    3" Revtek suspension lift, 17" Black and silver American Eagle Alloy wheels, 285/70 Nitto Terra Grapplers, Flowmaster 40 series muffler, sockmonkey brake light cover, Maglight mod, Viper alarm, Smith & Wesson hitch receiver cover
    or adapters liike the other dood said.
     
  14. Aug 21, 2009 at 12:53 PM
    #14
    Chickenmunga

    Chickenmunga Nuggety

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Member:
    #5877
    Messages:
    6,949
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Hillsboro, Oregon
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Offroad DC 4x4 (read the build)
    I've never seen these interfaces on anything less than a rack-mounted unit. I wouldn't assume most homeowners are going to have one, so count on having the adapters.
     
  15. Aug 21, 2009 at 12:56 PM
    #15
    Rudbwoy7s

    Rudbwoy7s Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Member:
    #9114
    Messages:
    1,504
    Gender:
    Male
    TEXAS
    Vehicle:
    08 Double cab 4x4 sr5
    3" Revtek suspension lift, 17" Black and silver American Eagle Alloy wheels, 285/70 Nitto Terra Grapplers, Flowmaster 40 series muffler, sockmonkey brake light cover, Maglight mod, Viper alarm, Smith & Wesson hitch receiver cover
    word, same here. I forgot he's working on a home network. I'm so used to working with Cisco devices @ work.
     
To Top