1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

CB install trouble

Discussion in 'Technical Chat' started by Rd62, Jun 18, 2019.

  1. Jun 18, 2019 at 4:16 PM
    #1
    Rd62

    Rd62 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2018
    Member:
    #253683
    Messages:
    366
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2014 DCLB TRD Sport
    Just putting the finishing touches on my first CB install but am having an issue blowing fuses.

    I have a Midland 1001lwx installed on the side of the console. Its connected to a 4' Firestick. Its wired positive to the battery and the negative to the ground for the inverter I side the console. I used an inline fuse holder near the battery and waited to add a fuse until everything was wired up. Inline fuse holder is 12ga wired via ring terminal to the positive battery terminal then spliced to a 16ga wire running i to the cab through the boot in the firewall and then to the radio.

    Finished up install this evening and went to pop in a 3 amp fuse and as soon as I touched the contacts in the holder it popped. Repeated the process with a 5 amp just to see if it would blow too and again as soon as I touched the contacts in the fuse holder it smoked the 5 amp too.

    I've double checked the connections and everything seems good. I cant figure out what the issue may be. This isn't my first automotive wiring project and have not had an issue before. Am I overlooking something basic? Suggestions on what to check? This is pretty dang basic but I am obviously missing something.

    Thanks!
     
  2. Jun 18, 2019 at 4:20 PM
    #2
    rnish

    rnish Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Member:
    #129450
    Messages:
    2,176
    Gender:
    Male
    Maryland USA
    Vehicle:
    Tacoma 2nd gen
    Pro Suspension (Bilstein), OME Dakar (med), armor
    Can you just jump power to the CB. Avoiding all of your new wiring. Trying to determine if the CB is the issue or the installation.
     
  3. Jun 18, 2019 at 4:30 PM
    #3
    sparkystaco

    sparkystaco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Member:
    #30122
    Messages:
    1,051
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sparky
    SE Wi
    Vehicle:
    06 4x4 dc trd ofrd
    3" lift? A.R.E cap 285/70/17 moto metal 955 17x9
    CB's don't use fuses, wire straight to batt.
     
  4. Jun 18, 2019 at 5:02 PM
    #4
    Rd62

    Rd62 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2018
    Member:
    #253683
    Messages:
    366
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2014 DCLB TRD Sport
    The factory wiring included a 2.5amp glass fuse and holder inline. I simply removed that one was it conflicted with my intended mounting and replaced it with a mini fuse holder closer to the battery.
     
  5. Jun 18, 2019 at 7:52 PM
    #5
    Go Fish

    Go Fish Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2016
    Member:
    #190700
    Messages:
    107
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 AC SR 4x4
    This is terrible advice! Do this and your 16ga (or whatever size) wire becomes the fuse and in the event of a short (which you seem to have), can start a fire.

    If you have a multimeter, with the fuse removed, check the resistance between the positive wire and ground. It should be infinite. That wire is probably shorted somewhere. Maybe it got pinched for cut on something sharp. Also make sure you don't have the polarity reversed.
     
    HAVOC likes this.
  6. Jun 18, 2019 at 7:55 PM
    #6
    snowgod06

    snowgod06 UG legend wannabe

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Member:
    #16454
    Messages:
    5,555
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rob
    A farm field, OREGON
    Vehicle:
    06 Access Cab
    crap bolted and welded together....
    Short in your power wire, cb, or your ground you're using isn't actually a ground.
     
  7. Jun 18, 2019 at 7:58 PM
    #7
    Cudgel

    Cudgel “Tonka”

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2017
    Member:
    #214640
    Messages:
    1,714
    Gender:
    Male
    Lost in The plastic sea-slime continent.
    Vehicle:
    2017 OR DCLB
    ICON8 Lift -285s on FUEL Recoils -KCs on bars (+).
    Do you have a multimeter? You have a short in your hot lead. Run a new one.
     
  8. Jun 18, 2019 at 11:57 PM
    #8
    sparkystaco

    sparkystaco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Member:
    #30122
    Messages:
    1,051
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sparky
    SE Wi
    Vehicle:
    06 4x4 dc trd ofrd
    3" lift? A.R.E cap 285/70/17 moto metal 955 17x9

    I was wrong, my bad, wasn't thinking clearly, it's millers fault.
     
  9. Jun 19, 2019 at 12:33 AM
    #9
    Wyoming09

    Wyoming09 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Member:
    #153833
    Messages:
    6,205
    Gender:
    Male
    New Tripoli Pa
    Vehicle:
    2000 Work truck
    Super Springs
    If your sure your wiring is good simple to check .

    I would guess the radio has a internal short.


    The idea that a add on electrical device would not have circuit protection was interesting !!
     
  10. Jun 19, 2019 at 1:34 AM
    #10
    Rd62

    Rd62 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2018
    Member:
    #253683
    Messages:
    366
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2014 DCLB TRD Sport
    Thanks all. Going to run a new hot.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top