1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

CB problems.

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by wolfgang123, Jan 13, 2010.

  1. Jan 13, 2010 at 12:34 PM
    #1
    wolfgang123

    wolfgang123 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Member:
    #19369
    Messages:
    1,426
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Skyler
    Statesboro, GA
    Vehicle:
    1997 TACOMA - 4x4
    so my cb swr readings are off the charts. i was going through right channel radios guide (where i bought everything) and i am stuck at this point.

    http://www.rightchannelradios.com/pages/testing-for-a-ground-pv-c0-82.html

    i have no idea how to use my dads multometer he doesnt either.:rolleyes:. so i need to find a way to use it, i read all the guide on right channel and doesnt help as i have a digital meter.

    what setting should i have it turned too?
    on a side note my swr readings are so high the meter cant even read them it just maxes out everytime. and adjust the ant. height changes nothing.
     
  2. Jan 13, 2010 at 1:44 PM
    #2
    Taco Joe

    Taco Joe Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Member:
    #28876
    Messages:
    29
    Gender:
    Male
    Rancho Cucamonga
    Vehicle:
    01 PreRunner SR5 TRD Debadged
    Black wheels, exhaust, and BFG's

    You mean an SWR meter? If not, you need to get one and "match" the antenna...Not sure what antenna you're using, but try this.. http://www.firestik.com/Tech_Docs/Setting_SWR.htm

    Also, make sure your radio and antenna are properly grounded!
     
  3. Jan 13, 2010 at 2:19 PM
    #3
    snoope

    snoope Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Member:
    #18414
    Messages:
    2,835
    Gender:
    Male
    Ft.myers,FL
    Vehicle:
    2003 Lexus ES300/2004 Lexus 330 AWD
    GROUND GROUND GROUND,

    Now that is out of the way...multi-meter????? You need an SWR meter...then GROUND the antenna bracket.....
    If you are trying to "Find" ground with that "meter" thats great, BUT DO NOT mix up the two.....SWR is not Ground......


    S
     
  4. Jan 13, 2010 at 2:21 PM
    #4
    rab89

    rab89 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Member:
    #12578
    Messages:
    5,467
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ross
    Kelowna b.c canada
    Vehicle:
    2012 DCLB
    Grillcraft mx black upper and lower BHLM with Gloss black 265 70 17 bfg a/t center console light mini mag mounted in center console debadged bed lights 35W 5000k HID's
    yea use your multimeter and check that your ground is good. my meter started going off the charts too, i opened it up, and my meter was broken, i don;t know how, but it must have friend a few solders?
     
  5. Jan 13, 2010 at 2:23 PM
    #5
    wolfgang123

    wolfgang123 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Member:
    #19369
    Messages:
    1,426
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Skyler
    Statesboro, GA
    Vehicle:
    1997 TACOMA - 4x4

    yea swr thats what the post says. idk if every thing is grounded correctly (i think it is) thats why i need to learn how to use the multimeter to check to see if everything is right. i need to kow how to check for Continuity and i will be able to go from there.
     
  6. Jan 13, 2010 at 2:36 PM
    #6
    wolfgang123

    wolfgang123 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Member:
    #19369
    Messages:
    1,426
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Skyler
    Statesboro, GA
    Vehicle:
    1997 TACOMA - 4x4
    OK guys i dont think i am being clear. i have an swr meter hooked up as my original post states. i am USING THIS SWR METER with no "tunning" luck. when i key the mic. the reading go past a readable level. so i looked at right channel radios guide flow chart. and i have everything done right execpt the grounds. EVERYTHING IS GROUNDED I JUST DONT KNOW IF THEIR GOOD GROUNDS. hence the need to use a multimeter to test them for continuity. so with that out of the way how do i set up (as in what setting do i set the multimeter too) to check Continuity. thats all i need to know right now.
     
  7. Jan 13, 2010 at 2:39 PM
    #7
    Taco Joe

    Taco Joe Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Member:
    #28876
    Messages:
    29
    Gender:
    Male
    Rancho Cucamonga
    Vehicle:
    01 PreRunner SR5 TRD Debadged
    Black wheels, exhaust, and BFG's

    Just making sure you werent confusing the two...You said your swr reading were off the chart, thought maybe you were confused as to the name of the meter. Where are you grounding the cb\ antenna to? How much coax are you using? What type of antenna?
     
  8. Jan 13, 2010 at 2:47 PM
    #8
    wolfgang123

    wolfgang123 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Member:
    #19369
    Messages:
    1,426
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Skyler
    Statesboro, GA
    Vehicle:
    1997 TACOMA - 4x4
  9. Jan 13, 2010 at 2:52 PM
    #9
    snoope

    snoope Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Member:
    #18414
    Messages:
    2,835
    Gender:
    Male
    Ft.myers,FL
    Vehicle:
    2003 Lexus ES300/2004 Lexus 330 AWD
    Wolfgang,

    Did you click the "link" in the 1st paragraph from "rightchannel" ?..It "walks " you through how to use a "Multi-meter" and what to do for trouble-shooting "Grounds"....

    Taco Joe is "right on" with the next set of questions,Where and how is the antenna mounted??? Did you clean ALL surfaces of paint so you have bare metal ( or at least close:) ) Is the coax just the right length or is it wrapped....???? You say you are adjusting the antenna??? in small increments or 1/4" at a time???

    Good luck and "patience" just became your MIDDLE name;)...

    S
     
  10. Jan 13, 2010 at 2:56 PM
    #10
    Taco Joe

    Taco Joe Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Member:
    #28876
    Messages:
    29
    Gender:
    Male
    Rancho Cucamonga
    Vehicle:
    01 PreRunner SR5 TRD Debadged
    Black wheels, exhaust, and BFG's
     
  11. Jan 13, 2010 at 3:03 PM
    #11
    wolfgang123

    wolfgang123 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Member:
    #19369
    Messages:
    1,426
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Skyler
    Statesboro, GA
    Vehicle:
    1997 TACOMA - 4x4
    i am trying to trouble shoot my grounds. that why i need to learn what to set the multimeter too. are you talking about this link. http://www.8886.co.uk/ref/ohm_meter.htm

    because i did this: "
    Setting up the meter

    To use the multimeter as an ohmmeter turn the central selector dial to point to the ohms range. On some models (usually not on the cheaper ones) the meter will have a single ohms setting and will auto select the best range for you."

    the problem is i dont know about the ohms range is it just anything ( i tried all of them) it says when you touch the too leads together (coming off the meter) that you should get a reading of sorts. and no matter what setting i select i dont get any kind of reading.
     
  12. Jan 13, 2010 at 3:04 PM
    #12
    wolfgang123

    wolfgang123 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Member:
    #19369
    Messages:
    1,426
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Skyler
    Statesboro, GA
    Vehicle:
    1997 TACOMA - 4x4

    i did that
     
  13. Jan 13, 2010 at 3:08 PM
    #13
    rmb_crew

    rmb_crew My other ride has 18,400HP!!!!!!

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Member:
    #12837
    Messages:
    6,076
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Jacksonville, FL 30.243103, -81.591007‎
    Vehicle:
    2010 F150 XLT SuperCrew 4X4
    Access larado tonneau, magnaflow exhaust
    if you take the meter leads and connect them together. you should read 0.1 ohms. or something close. It wont be any more than 0.8 or so. if it doesnt read that than check your wires and make sure they are conncected all the way. more than likely your meter is dead.
     
  14. Jan 13, 2010 at 3:09 PM
    #14
    rmb_crew

    rmb_crew My other ride has 18,400HP!!!!!!

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Member:
    #12837
    Messages:
    6,076
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Jacksonville, FL 30.243103, -81.591007‎
    Vehicle:
    2010 F150 XLT SuperCrew 4X4
    Access larado tonneau, magnaflow exhaust
    and that is your multimeter not the SWR meter.... :)
     
  15. Jan 13, 2010 at 3:11 PM
    #15
    snoope

    snoope Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Member:
    #18414
    Messages:
    2,835
    Gender:
    Male
    Ft.myers,FL
    Vehicle:
    2003 Lexus ES300/2004 Lexus 330 AWD
    1) If you are going to keep the CB wiring inside the cab...save some time and just buy a plug that goes into the lighter....perfect source everytime...If not, go through the trouble to run "Dedicated wires" out to the battery BOTH,red and black .....
    2) Antenna is grounded off the Bumper,do you mean the Mount or the antenna....???? not sure of your Mount still, is it like the one in the "radiochannel" pix or something different???
    If it is .then you need to "Ground it",use one of those 4 bolts and run ground wire from THAT to your bumper /frame ground BUT still check it with your meter...
    3) hopefully you are not picking up "Reflection" from your bed at that location.....I have always mounted my antennas at the "high point" to try and avoid this BUT that is not always an option....
    4) did the mount come pre-assembled or did you put the pieces together??? reason I ask,that plastic washer needs to be in the right spot ( been there and always correcting the ones on our fleet;))

    Sorry this has become a "process" BUT when finished yoy will like your results;):).

    S
     
  16. Jan 13, 2010 at 3:15 PM
    #16
    rmb_crew

    rmb_crew My other ride has 18,400HP!!!!!!

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Member:
    #12837
    Messages:
    6,076
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Jacksonville, FL 30.243103, -81.591007‎
    Vehicle:
    2010 F150 XLT SuperCrew 4X4
    Access larado tonneau, magnaflow exhaust

    That little plastic washer is huge! if that gets messed up and your mount touches your bracket than it will ground out your whole antenna and mess everything up. You just want the bracket grounded. not the whole antenna and mount.
     
  17. Jan 13, 2010 at 3:27 PM
    #17
    m771401

    m771401 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Member:
    #23476
    Messages:
    164
    Gender:
    Male
    Generally you want to run your leads (power) directly to the battery. You want to ground your radio as close to the battery as possible. Mine is grounded to the fender on the same ground lead that comes from the battery.

    If your antenna mount is metal and is attached to a metal portion of the chassis then your antenna is grounded. You can improve this ground by sanding off any chrome/paint on both the mount and chassis...or use those locking/spider washers. They'll dig into the metal and make a better ground. You also got to watch your ground straps/wires... Some times they make great antennas ;)
     
  18. Jan 13, 2010 at 3:53 PM
    #18
    wolfgang123

    wolfgang123 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Member:
    #19369
    Messages:
    1,426
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Skyler
    Statesboro, GA
    Vehicle:
    1997 TACOMA - 4x4
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    thats my mount. i added the piece of steel because the mount from rightchannel was weak.

    you can see the ground coming off the bolt and it does RIGHT TO the frame.
     
  19. Jan 13, 2010 at 4:46 PM
    #19
    rmb_crew

    rmb_crew My other ride has 18,400HP!!!!!!

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Member:
    #12837
    Messages:
    6,076
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Jacksonville, FL 30.243103, -81.591007‎
    Vehicle:
    2010 F150 XLT SuperCrew 4X4
    Access larado tonneau, magnaflow exhaust
    what gauge wire is that? looks like a 22 or something. you might need to get a bigger grounding wire. for mine i used 16 gauge.
     
  20. Jan 13, 2010 at 4:55 PM
    #20
    m771401

    m771401 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Member:
    #23476
    Messages:
    164
    Gender:
    Male
    That's not the best location for an antenna. I wouldn't be surprised if you're getting some "reflection" from the tailgate and the side of the truck. Not only that but that location doesn't provide much in the way of a good ground plane.

    This site is geared mostly towards HAMs but all the same principals still apply.

    http://www.k0bg.com/

    Read up on the Antenna sections, grounds, ground planes, RF&DC.
     
To Top