1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

CB radio power question on 3rd gen.

Discussion in '3rd Gen. Tacomas (2016+)' started by duvinclunk, Sep 25, 2020.

  1. Sep 25, 2020 at 1:16 PM
    #1
    duvinclunk

    duvinclunk [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2016
    Member:
    #189147
    Messages:
    1,305
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Davin
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Vehicle:
    2016 DCSB|OR|QS
    I'm new CB radios and really only doing one in the truck as others that I go on trail runs with have them in their vehicles and I'm never able to communicate like the rest. I will likely also do a GMRS radio in the truck as well but would like to get the CB set up first. I will be doing one of the Uniden CMX760 units and mounting the main box under the driver's seat. I'll then plug in the main remote when on the trail and unplug it and put in the glovebox when not trail running.

    My question would be regarding the power for the CB. I've seen switch panels and people wiring CB power into switches so they're able to turn the power on or off. I wasn't planning to have a dedicated switch for the CB and was going to wire directly to the battery likely. If I were to do so and the radio was either off or unplugged it wouldn't be drawing any battery power in that state would it? I suppose I get a little confused as to why someone would want an external switch to cut the power of the radio when you have a power button on the radio itself thus making two places it would need to be turned on/off.

    Let me know if you're in the know. Thanks!
     
  2. Sep 25, 2020 at 1:21 PM
    #2
    5nahalf

    5nahalf I build dumb things

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2018
    Member:
    #267058
    Messages:
    6,103
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Erik
    Minnesota
    Vehicle:
    2018 Inferno Longbed
    Mine is running off a switch, but that switch is keyed on/off anyways, so If I leave the switch on, the radio will shut off with the truck.

    I have the same radio btw.

    Before I had the switch, I just put in a add-a-fuse and ran that to the radio.
     
  3. Sep 25, 2020 at 1:28 PM
    #3
    duvinclunk

    duvinclunk [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2016
    Member:
    #189147
    Messages:
    1,305
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Davin
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Vehicle:
    2016 DCSB|OR|QS
    Why did you end up running it to a switch if it had been working before if you don't mind me asking?
     
  4. Sep 25, 2020 at 1:32 PM
    #4
    5nahalf

    5nahalf I build dumb things

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2018
    Member:
    #267058
    Messages:
    6,103
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Erik
    Minnesota
    Vehicle:
    2018 Inferno Longbed

    Turning the radio on and off via the button the handset required a press and hold along with reaching for the handset in the cup holder (I dont use a hanger for the handset). I had extra switch space in the dash and decided that using a switch in a central location that allows me to get my hands back on the wheel faster without having to look where I am reaching was a more safe way of turning it on and off.

    This was more for turning the radio off in case of a annoying trucker singing on the radio.
     
    Kheiron likes this.
  5. Sep 25, 2020 at 1:36 PM
    #5
    duvinclunk

    duvinclunk [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2016
    Member:
    #189147
    Messages:
    1,305
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Davin
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Vehicle:
    2016 DCSB|OR|QS
    Makes sense. So maybe I'll just wire it to something that goes off and on with the truck. Was thinking it would be wired directly to the battery. Doesn't the CMX760 comes with a fuse already?
     
  6. Sep 25, 2020 at 1:37 PM
    #6
    vicali

    vicali Chilling at YMH

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Member:
    #37503
    Messages:
    1,863
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    mike
    Kam,BC
    Vehicle:
    2017 TRD Sport 1D6
    I've had a few CBs, one was wired directly to the battery - had to remember to turn it off, and turn it on.. Next one was wired to ACC, had to keep resetting the channel to 19 because it would start on 9. Finally I got a Cobra that had a channel 19 toggle so I put it through ACC again.

    Now my VHF is direct wired, I have to turn it on but it has auto shutoff.
     
  7. Sep 25, 2020 at 1:42 PM
    #7
    jlemmond

    jlemmond Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2019
    Member:
    #310790
    Messages:
    1,204
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    josh
    Monroe, NC
    Vehicle:
    2016 DCLB TRD OR, 2019 T4r TRD OR
  8. Sep 25, 2020 at 1:43 PM
    #8
    5nahalf

    5nahalf I build dumb things

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2018
    Member:
    #267058
    Messages:
    6,103
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Erik
    Minnesota
    Vehicle:
    2018 Inferno Longbed

    What vicali said, if you wire it right to the battery, you will forget to turn it off one day, and your battery will be dead. Put it on a keyed on wire.

    I used the add a fuse because it just piggy backs off a fuse thats in the fuse box to add a power wire to use for anything you want. the radio you chose does have a fuse.

    Also as vicali said, his radio kept resetting channel, the 760 you are ordering will stay on what ever channel it turned off on.
     
  9. Sep 25, 2020 at 1:53 PM
    #9
    vicali

    vicali Chilling at YMH

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Member:
    #37503
    Messages:
    1,863
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    mike
    Kam,BC
    Vehicle:
    2017 TRD Sport 1D6
    Many radios, especially low level CB, can be effected weirdly by hopping onto existing circuits.
    Radio guys always say wire both + and - directly to battery. YMMV - I never had any problems with mine when I ad them.
     
  10. Sep 25, 2020 at 1:57 PM
    #10
    5nahalf

    5nahalf I build dumb things

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2018
    Member:
    #267058
    Messages:
    6,103
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Erik
    Minnesota
    Vehicle:
    2018 Inferno Longbed

    You know I should actually speak to this point with the 760. When I push the brakes, I get static and lots of it. Im 99% sure that would be solved with wiring it right to the battery. But since I use my radio for highway use and not for trails, I never have the brakes on anyways.

    Perhaps the best method is to get power right from the battery, then using the add a fuse to get keyed power to trigger the relay on to send that clean battery power to the radio.
     
    vicali likes this.
  11. Sep 25, 2020 at 2:00 PM
    #11
    duvinclunk

    duvinclunk [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2016
    Member:
    #189147
    Messages:
    1,305
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Davin
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Vehicle:
    2016 DCSB|OR|QS
    So the power from the CB will go to an add a fuse to keyed power and then from the add a fuse to the batter? would I actually need a relay?
     
  12. Sep 25, 2020 at 2:00 PM
    #12
    Go Fish

    Go Fish Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2016
    Member:
    #190700
    Messages:
    130
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 AC SR 4x4
    You'll have the cleanest power if you wire directly to the battery.
     
  13. Sep 25, 2020 at 2:06 PM
    #13
    5nahalf

    5nahalf I build dumb things

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2018
    Member:
    #267058
    Messages:
    6,103
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Erik
    Minnesota
    Vehicle:
    2018 Inferno Longbed

    So you would run a wire from the battery to a relay. then from the relay to the CB radio. Put in your ground for the relay. then you would use the add a fuse to get a keyed on trigger for the relay. This will make clean power run from the battery to the radio when you key on, but when you key off, the trigger wire would turn off the relay and cut power to the cb.
     
    HisDad likes this.
  14. Sep 25, 2020 at 2:08 PM
    #14
    5nahalf

    5nahalf I build dumb things

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2018
    Member:
    #267058
    Messages:
    6,103
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Erik
    Minnesota
    Vehicle:
    2018 Inferno Longbed
    Using this diagram I found on google. (ignore all talk of fuel pump)

    Purple would be a add a fuse, this is the trigger wire. I used the fuse for the 12v outlet in the dash.
    the "pump" would not be a pump, but rather your CB radio.

    [​IMG]
     
    HisDad likes this.
  15. Sep 25, 2020 at 2:26 PM
    #15
    ROAD DOG

    ROAD DOG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2019
    Member:
    #309830
    Messages:
    1,252
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2019 I4 WHITE SR PRERUNNER
    FEW


    i built my 1st CB from scratch...............have 4 sitting around now

    i would recommend using a satelite power supply wired directly to the battery ( CENTECH ! )

    hooking up fused various accessories if necessary disconnecting all when trouble shooting

    isolating from the original wiring harness ......Never cut/splice orig wiring harness !!!!

    out & about in the woods either radio system have a minimal draw on the battery

    helps when contacting anyone on any band as RF interference from alternator is eliminated

    its simply NOT required to idle the engine

    a distinct advantage in the event of emergency scenarios........loss o power result o storms / floods
     
  16. Sep 25, 2020 at 2:32 PM
    #16
    caribe makaira

    caribe makaira Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Member:
    #51121
    Messages:
    5,496
    Gender:
    Male
    Caribbean, Puerto Rico
    Vehicle:
    05 PreRunner TRD Offroad AutoTrans
    Hood Struts, My version Fogs always ON, Map & Overhead Light Mod,
    upload_2020-9-25_17-32-31.jpg
     
  17. Sep 25, 2020 at 3:25 PM
    #17
    SD Quicksand

    SD Quicksand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2017
    Member:
    #217498
    Messages:
    256
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Alex
    San Diego, CA.
    Vehicle:
    2017 Tacoma TRD Off Road 4x4 Access Cab Quicksand
  18. Sep 25, 2020 at 4:21 PM
    #18
    HisDad

    HisDad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    Member:
    #152127
    Messages:
    680
    Gender:
    Male
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    2019 Cement Tacoma SR5 Double Cab
    duvinclunk [OP] likes this.
  19. Sep 25, 2020 at 6:13 PM
    #19
    duvinclunk

    duvinclunk [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2016
    Member:
    #189147
    Messages:
    1,305
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Davin
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Vehicle:
    2016 DCSB|OR|QS
    ?
     
  20. Sep 25, 2020 at 6:14 PM
    #20
    5nahalf

    5nahalf I build dumb things

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2018
    Member:
    #267058
    Messages:
    6,103
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Erik
    Minnesota
    Vehicle:
    2018 Inferno Longbed

    He is saying this is a clean power location I think
     
To Top