1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

CB Radio?

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by kilo, Jun 25, 2007.

  1. Jun 25, 2007 at 7:21 PM
    #1
    kilo

    kilo [OP] Solo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Member:
    #1283
    Messages:
    643
    Gender:
    Male
    San Antonio, Texas
    Vehicle:
    2007 Dbl cab long bed TRD Sport
    custom sliders, 3" Old Man Emu lift, onboard air, custom surf-rod mount, custom bed rack, ARB bumper, Budbuilt fuel tank skid-plate
    Hey Guys and Gals!! Do any of you have a CB radio installed? If you do, how do you have the antenna mounted and where? I just purchased one and have made my own mount that sits behind the cab, right at the corner of the bed, that way I can use the tie down rails. I just don't know how to run the cable from radio to antenna? Any thoughts or pics? I was told that the back of the cab should have one or two holes, like the firewall has, to run cables and wire without drilling. I'm going to be drilling through the bed right below the mount, just can't figure the cab part. I tried to take out the plastic compartments behind the back seat and just got pissed, wouldn't come out, I was afraid I was going to break something. Here are some pics. Thanks for any help!
    Regards, Kilo.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Jun 26, 2007 at 4:44 AM
    #2
    TheMaster

    TheMaster Born to Ride

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Member:
    #112
    Messages:
    3,850
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Chicky Baby
    NY
    Vehicle:
    2007 DC TRD Sport
    Bug shield, window visors, skid plate, rust proofing, tonneau cover, paint & upholstery protection, side step bars, navigation system.
    PM "Banshee" and he'll be able to help.
     
  3. Jun 26, 2007 at 5:22 AM
    #3
    ForeRunner

    ForeRunner Hello, nice to meet you. Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Member:
    #7
    Messages:
    11,550
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Drunken Sailor
    Somewhere between Maine and Florida
    Vehicle:
    2016 Subaru WRX STI Limited (no wing)
    Extra PSI
    Who me, what???:pccoffee:


    Sure I can help but it won't be till later, got to get ready to goes to work!
     
  4. Jun 26, 2007 at 11:32 AM
    #4
    ForeRunner

    ForeRunner Hello, nice to meet you. Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Member:
    #7
    Messages:
    11,550
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Drunken Sailor
    Somewhere between Maine and Florida
    Vehicle:
    2016 Subaru WRX STI Limited (no wing)
    Extra PSI
    From what I see in the pictures. It looks like you've got a Firestik, good antenna. I'm running a Wilson magnetic mount on the roof and the cable running through the rear sliding window when in use. What else I see is a possible bad ground (don't know if that is a "No Ground Plane" antenna) With these composite beds there isn't any metal for the mount to ground to and CB's need a good ground plane to work effeciently. Ideally drilling through the roof and mounting the antenna there gives the best ground but who wants to drill through the roof of a new truck? The next best option is a bracket mounted to the top inside of the fender protruding out between the hood and fender. Running the cable through the firewall is farly simple provided you have an end that doesn't have a connector on it. I've found 2 firewall penetrations so far one on the drivers side by the brake booster and the second on the passenger side (easier to get to). Find yourself some grommets that will fit (sizes escape me right now) and run the cable through and RTV as needed. Power for the CB, I've got 2 options. I'm going to run the power directly to the battery and I've put a molex connector on it and I've put a molex on a cigarette lighter adapter so it's interchangable if someone needs to borrow it. After you get it in tune it with a SWR meter so you don't kill your CB.

    Let me know if you have any other questions.

    Jon
     
  5. Jan 17, 2008 at 5:44 AM
    #5
    07T@co

    07T@co New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Member:
    #4296
    Messages:
    1
    Vehicle:
    07 Tacoma 4x4, 4door
    3in lift, 33`s. sliders, flowmaster exhaust, KNN cold air intake.
    Kilo, or you can get about 18 foot of cable and go through the front fire wall and go under the truck with your other wires that go to the back of the truck, and then just come up between the bed and the truck. Hope that helps, I am doing mine almost the same. I will post pics soon, it`s kinda hard to explain how I did it. It involves cutting the bed liner...
     
  6. Jan 17, 2008 at 3:41 PM
    #6
    kilo

    kilo [OP] Solo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Member:
    #1283
    Messages:
    643
    Gender:
    Male
    San Antonio, Texas
    Vehicle:
    2007 Dbl cab long bed TRD Sport
    custom sliders, 3" Old Man Emu lift, onboard air, custom surf-rod mount, custom bed rack, ARB bumper, Budbuilt fuel tank skid-plate
    Thanks bud!! I ended up going under the cab and up right below the passenger seat.
     
  7. Feb 13, 2008 at 5:00 PM
    #7
    kidthatsirish

    kidthatsirish Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Member:
    #4485
    Messages:
    98
    Vehicle:
    06 Tacoma SR5 4x4 5speed

    Im intrested in the bed liner part if you are willing to explain.
     
  8. Feb 17, 2008 at 2:28 PM
    #8
    Jake

    Jake Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Member:
    #4410
    Messages:
    22
    Vehicle:
    2007 Access Cab - Silver
    Bed D-Rings, Speaker Upgrade using TacoTunes Kit, Hitch w/ wire kit, Suspension TRB, More mods in process...
    If anyone has pictures of where you mounted your CB I'd like to see them if you have a chance. I'd love to have a CB but am having a hard time finding a ggod location to mount one. Thanks!
     
To Top