1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

CD Player not playing CDs

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by TacoNH, Apr 5, 2010.

  1. Apr 5, 2010 at 8:26 AM
    #1
    TacoNH

    TacoNH [OP] tat daddy

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Member:
    #11620
    Messages:
    257
    Gender:
    Male
    Conway, NH
    Vehicle:
    07 Blue Tacoma 4.0/6speed
    B&M T-handle shifter, LEER cap.
    So as of last week, my cd player will not play any disk with scratches whatsoever. The disks that it actually reads will play for about 3 songs then begin to skip consistantly to the point where I must just listen to the radio. WTF? Has anyone experienced this? It was pretty miserable riding to Richmond, VA from Unity, ME and back with nothing but the radio. :confused:
     
  2. Apr 5, 2010 at 8:28 AM
    #2
    Blackshirts

    Blackshirts Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Member:
    #32057
    Messages:
    4,096
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    TX
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner
    Stuff
    Is it a factory unit. If so I have read lots of threads with the Factory units going bad and haveing to get them replaced.
     
  3. Apr 5, 2010 at 11:40 AM
    #3
    TacoNH

    TacoNH [OP] tat daddy

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Member:
    #11620
    Messages:
    257
    Gender:
    Male
    Conway, NH
    Vehicle:
    07 Blue Tacoma 4.0/6speed
    B&M T-handle shifter, LEER cap.
    Is this covered under the warranty?
     
  4. Apr 5, 2010 at 12:00 PM
    #4
    StandingCow

    StandingCow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Member:
    #16373
    Messages:
    1,798
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    NJ
    Vehicle:
    09 SR5 4x4 V6 access cab
    Yea, they are well aware of the issue with them.

    I recommend getting an aftermarket unit... even if they replace your factory one it will probably also crap out before too long.
     
  5. Apr 5, 2010 at 12:09 PM
    #5
    Blackshirts

    Blackshirts Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Member:
    #32057
    Messages:
    4,096
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    TX
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner
    Stuff
    X2

    just get u an aftermarket unit. Be way better. Not hard to do either
     
To Top