1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Changed plugs. . . now starting problems

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by TacomaRXP, Aug 13, 2010.

  1. Aug 13, 2010 at 6:49 PM
    #1
    TacomaRXP

    TacomaRXP [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Member:
    #30719
    Messages:
    29
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bryan
    NC
    Vehicle:
    05 TRD 4x4 SR5
    K&N CAI
    67k miles i just changed my plugs. i put denso plugs back in with anti seize. this is very odd, and it only happens around 3 times a week and besides that it runs great and starts normal. when i go to crank it it will turn over around ten seconds and ill let off and crank again and it will fire. just worrying cause i couldnt get it to fire in charlotte the other day. any ideas guys??
     
  2. Aug 13, 2010 at 6:55 PM
    #2
    SKINUM

    SKINUM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Member:
    #35943
    Messages:
    195
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Garry
    Va/Tn/KY border
    Vehicle:
    07 FJC
    a lot!
    Did u make sure they were gap'd properly?
     
  3. Aug 13, 2010 at 7:03 PM
    #3
    ToucanV13

    ToucanV13 You think I was rollin out here naked?

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Member:
    #4866
    Messages:
    2,339
    Gender:
    Male
    San Diego and Colorado
    Vehicle:
    Infideled out TRD Sport 4X4
    285/70 Hankook AT-M, Window vents, TRD CAI, TRD Cat-back exhaust with WickedFlow can, AFE Throttle Body Spacer, Billy 5100 @ 2.5 and 1" block rear, RBP nerf bars, Halo HIDs, 20% tint up front
    ^ This Should be between .40 and .44. If oyu bought and just threw em in, they were not gapped more than likely
     
  4. Aug 13, 2010 at 7:15 PM
    #4
    johnny12345

    johnny12345 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Member:
    #9369
    Messages:
    179
    vancouver island, canada
    Vehicle:
    09 tacoma SR5
    Don't plugs come pre gapped? Did you put the plug wires on the the right plugs? (firing order)
     
  5. Aug 13, 2010 at 7:16 PM
    #5
    moto932

    moto932 What's the matter, Colonel Sandurz? CHICKEN?

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Member:
    #15770
    Messages:
    3,236
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Eric
    Dayton, Ohio
    Vehicle:
    04 TRD Off Road SR5 Impulse Red
    5100's @ 1.25", Scangaugae II, deck plate mod w/AFE Pro Dry S filter, grey wire mod, alarm mod, defrost w/o compressor mod, de-badged, 17" sport wheels powder coated black, 1" B.O.R.A. wheel spacers, 265/70/17 Cooper Zeon LTZ's, sockmonkey beside decals.
    they say they are but most arent gapped right. i changed mine a few months back and 2 of the 6 were gapped correctly.
     
  6. Aug 13, 2010 at 7:20 PM
    #6
    TacomaRXP

    TacomaRXP [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Member:
    #30719
    Messages:
    29
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bryan
    NC
    Vehicle:
    05 TRD 4x4 SR5
    K&N CAI
    yes they were all gapped at .42 and plug wires hooked up correctly. im baffled and it only does it occasionally
     
  7. Aug 13, 2010 at 7:27 PM
    #7
    ToucanV13

    ToucanV13 You think I was rollin out here naked?

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Member:
    #4866
    Messages:
    2,339
    Gender:
    Male
    San Diego and Colorado
    Vehicle:
    Infideled out TRD Sport 4X4
    285/70 Hankook AT-M, Window vents, TRD CAI, TRD Cat-back exhaust with WickedFlow can, AFE Throttle Body Spacer, Billy 5100 @ 2.5 and 1" block rear, RBP nerf bars, Halo HIDs, 20% tint up front
    Distributor? Cap? Had a mazda and that shit got all wet. All I needed was a new cap and rotor but it wouldn't start and on the off cahnce it did, wouldn't go over 25mph
     
  8. Aug 13, 2010 at 7:29 PM
    #8
    SKINUM

    SKINUM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Member:
    #35943
    Messages:
    195
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Garry
    Va/Tn/KY border
    Vehicle:
    07 FJC
    a lot!
    Did u use a torque wrench, hand tighten?
     
  9. Aug 13, 2010 at 7:30 PM
    #9
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,153
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    If the OP had a distributer cap, I would DEFINATLY say it is the problem. Hopefully, his truck is stock, and has the OEM coil on plug ignition....
     
  10. Aug 13, 2010 at 7:31 PM
    #10
    moto932

    moto932 What's the matter, Colonel Sandurz? CHICKEN?

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Member:
    #15770
    Messages:
    3,236
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Eric
    Dayton, Ohio
    Vehicle:
    04 TRD Off Road SR5 Impulse Red
    5100's @ 1.25", Scangaugae II, deck plate mod w/AFE Pro Dry S filter, grey wire mod, alarm mod, defrost w/o compressor mod, de-badged, 17" sport wheels powder coated black, 1" B.O.R.A. wheel spacers, 265/70/17 Cooper Zeon LTZ's, sockmonkey beside decals.
    fuel pump? fuel filter?
     
  11. Aug 13, 2010 at 7:40 PM
    #11
    larryde09

    larryde09 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Member:
    #39759
    Messages:
    560
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Larry
    Rochester, NY
    Vehicle:
    (Traded-in) 06 2.7L 5-spd SR5 4x4
    K&N Intake, Magnaflow Cat-back Exhaust, Altezza Tail Lights, Pop&Lock Tailgate Lock, Extang Trifecta Tonneau Cover, PIAA foglights with stock switch, DrawTite Hitch, OBX Shift Knob, Hood Protector, Vent Visors, DIY step bars/sliders/running boards, DIY Bed Lights, DIY Running Board/Ground Lights, DIY Tailgate Electrical Box (12V socket, voltage and current gauges), DIY Internal Lighting (coming soon), Aftermarket switches in stock dash blanks, Sony Head Unit, Illuminated 4x4 switch mod
    plugs come "pre-gapped", but don't trust that, always check/adjust with a gauge. Be sure to use Dielectric grease to ensure a good connection w/ the cable/coil.
     
  12. Aug 13, 2010 at 10:03 PM
    #12
    tacobox

    tacobox Evasive Maneuvers PMKMS

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Member:
    #36834
    Messages:
    597
    Gender:
    Male
    yeah man we have COP. haha If the plugs are gapped correctly, that's more than likely not the problem and it's probably a coincidence that it happend after a plug replacement.
    To the OP
    This has actually happen to me two or three times since I've owned my truck. It's happend before and after I replaced my plugs with denso iridiums.
    If a cam sensor, crank sensor, MFI relay, ect.... doesn't send a signal to the ecu, and or the ecu doesn't give a signal, fuel or timing (whatever is malfunctioning) will be cut and the engine will just crank and crank. The ecu need to see all ha. Personally, it's not happening enough for me to look into a cause.
    How long has your truck doing it? 3 times a week for how long?
     
  13. Aug 13, 2010 at 10:06 PM
    #13
    SKINUM

    SKINUM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Member:
    #35943
    Messages:
    195
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Garry
    Va/Tn/KY border
    Vehicle:
    07 FJC
    a lot!
    Looks like about 3 times a week.
     
  14. Aug 13, 2010 at 10:13 PM
    #14
    tacobox

    tacobox Evasive Maneuvers PMKMS

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Member:
    #36834
    Messages:
    597
    Gender:
    Male
    I know;) it's late. I reworded it
     
  15. Aug 13, 2010 at 10:31 PM
    #15
    jdtemple

    jdtemple Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Member:
    #35623
    Messages:
    517
    Gender:
    Male
    Bay Area CA
    Vehicle:
    08 DBLCAB LB TRD Sport
    Lift & Tires, in cab power outlets, Locking Bed Boxes, K&N
    is it possible you bumped a sensor wire when working on the plugs. Go back and recheck all the stuff you touched.
     
  16. Aug 14, 2010 at 5:33 AM
    #16
    buddywh1

    buddywh1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Member:
    #35825
    Messages:
    1,452
    Gender:
    Male
    Philly PA
    Vehicle:
    07 DC SR5 4x4
    Is it possible you accidently got some of the anti-seize on any part of the ceramic insulators or coil towers? Many formulations of antiseize have powdered metal in it and can make a high-resistance short that bleeds off some of the energy, weakening the spark. Even if you thought you wiped it off some will remain in microscopic crevices and voids.

    The powdered metal will burn up in the high voltage or high temp of combustion and leave ever so tiny carbon tracks that do the same thing, forever. Only thing really is to put new plugs in.
     
  17. Aug 14, 2010 at 11:18 AM
    #17
    JKD

    JKD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Member:
    #18207
    Messages:
    2,016
    Gender:
    Male
    Using too much anti-sieze can also foul the plugs if it gets onto the tip during installation.
     
  18. Aug 14, 2010 at 6:15 PM
    #18
    tacobox

    tacobox Evasive Maneuvers PMKMS

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Member:
    #36834
    Messages:
    597
    Gender:
    Male
    It's not a fouled plug and more than likely, has nothing to do with the plug install. Mine has done it before and after my plug install.
    It seems to be a communication error between a sensor or relay and the ecu. Maybe a issue with the imobilizer. Problem is its hard to chase this problem cause it doesn't happen often and when it does, the problem doesn't repeat itself. For me, I'll have to wait till it does it more frequently to diagnose it.
     
  19. Nov 29, 2010 at 1:25 PM
    #19
    Desert Fox

    Desert Fox New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Member:
    #46629
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    mike
    Gilbert,AZ.
    Vehicle:
    10 Prerunner OffRoad
    This is the reason I joined TW. My 2010 v6 after changing plugs at 28500 miles,now at 31k it turns over after warm about 10-15 seconds before firing. Had it to the dealer twice and they have experienced the problem and say it is within toyota specs. Tried 91 octane gas, ran lucas injector cleaner all with no change. Anyone have any ideas. Thanks
     
  20. Nov 29, 2010 at 1:33 PM
    #20
    SantaCruz'n

    SantaCruz'n Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Member:
    #22743
    Messages:
    321
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Logan
    Temecula
    Vehicle:
    Saving for the 2013
    Sounds like a user error. I would put a new set of plugs in and triple check the gap. It may cost an extra 25 bucks and a half an hour of your time, but at least there is no question in the back of your mind you made a mistake.

    I wouldnt be able to sleep until I fixed it :/ I hate issues like this.

    Sorry to hear.
     
To Top