1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Changing Headers Out

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas' started by morse764, Dec 15, 2007.

  1. morse764

    morse764 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Member:
    #1794
    Messages:
    20
    Vehicle:
    03 Sr5 4x4 3.4L v6 tacoma
    sport TRD clutch, 77 series K&N intake, Trac-Rac, Borla exhaust, Air-Raid throttle body, T-ko BF goodrich tires, 7ft fischer plow
    Does anyone know whether or not you have to pull the engine on a v6 3.4L 2003 taco to put new headers on? It seems if you don't there is very little space.
     
  2. humanoid

    humanoid bite me

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1932
    Messages:
    2,747
    Gender:
    Male
    Sunny SoCal
    Vehicle:
    I had a '99 Xtra Cab PreRunner SR5 V6
    I don't think you have to pulll the engine out, but I hear the cross-over pipe is a bit tricky to get out.
     
  3. morse764

    morse764 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Member:
    #1794
    Messages:
    20
    Vehicle:
    03 Sr5 4x4 3.4L v6 tacoma
    sport TRD clutch, 77 series K&N intake, Trac-Rac, Borla exhaust, Air-Raid throttle body, T-ko BF goodrich tires, 7ft fischer plow
    I talked to toyota today and they say that "skilled" technicians even have to lift the engine up a little bit to get at the headers and they say its impossible to take them out with the engine mounted. Has anyone actually taken headers out themselves on there 1st generatons?
     
To Top