1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Changing spark plugs

Discussion in '4 Cylinder' started by jwa1028, Nov 29, 2009.

  1. Nov 29, 2009 at 8:00 AM
    #1
    jwa1028

    jwa1028 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Member:
    #26391
    Messages:
    31
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    '01 4 cyl Tacoma
    I have a '01 Tacoma 4X4, and I wanted to check the plugs. I removed the injector from the front plug and took off the bolt holding down what looks like a rail, but I couldn't get the rail lifted up enough to remove the spark plug (I also removed the electrode). Is there something I'm missing, I looked at the back of the rail but couldn't see any hold down bolts. I bought the vehicle used with 184k on it, so I figure it's probably overdue for a plug change. Any advice?
     
  2. Nov 29, 2009 at 8:24 AM
    #2
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,192
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Not really following what you did, as you shouldnt have to touch the fuel injectors....Did you take off your intake, and get it out of the way?
     
  3. Nov 29, 2009 at 8:35 AM
    #3
    jwa1028

    jwa1028 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Member:
    #26391
    Messages:
    31
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    '01 4 cyl Tacoma
    before I knew what I was doing. It probably wasn't the injector but rather the gas line/filter? I've never worked on a Toyota before. When I changed plugs in the past, it was just remove the boot, apply socket, and remove. Will taking off the intake help significantly? Thanks for your help.
     
  4. Nov 29, 2009 at 8:44 AM
    #4
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,192
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Yes. You need to clear up the top of the motor. If you are unsure, see if there is a member in your area, that may be able to lend a hand. :)
     
To Top